Horror logo

See for Me - A Movie Review

'See for Me' is a creatively dark film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Have you downloaded the See-for-Me app? I’ve heard great results.

After a quick download, See for Me was released in 2021. Sophie is asked to cat-sit in a secluded mansion. Legally blind, her night is not what she had in mind. Trespassed by three thieves who want the owners safe, Sophie’s only defense is the See For Me app.

Just when you think that Hollywood is running out of ideas by copying iconic films, they actually do something different. See for Me is a creatively dark film. Once I read the synopses, I put this film on my radar. While it is an unnerving story, it has flaws in its storytelling.

Legally blind in real life, Skyler Davenport was fantastic in her film debut. Her overall character has transpired mixed reactions. Sophie is snippy, refuses help, and even bargains a deal with the villains. Arguably, that makes her character more interesting. It’s time to change the personality and instincts of the blind character in distress.

The only aspect of Sophie that I was annoyed by was her personality. Clearly, she does need help but refuses it. Her stubborn attitude causes her to make mistakes, increasing the worry or trust of other characters. If the film was trying to make me care about Sophie, it didn’t work. I was rolling my eyes at the dumb situations she got herself into.

Kelly (Jessica Parker Kennedy) was my favorite character, The concept of the See For Me app was an innovative touch. You never know what you have an app for. Kelly was honest and I admired her fighting spirit to do everything she could to help Sophie. She gives 9-1-1 operators a positive representation.

The bad guys are here to be the bad guys and do what the villain handbook asks of them. They were one-dimensional, sans for one. I did like how one of them is unsure about the situation until he shows his true colors, taking advantage of Sophie’s disability. Writers should have built up the villains more so they would have been characters.

I was worried that See for Me was going to be an exact copy of Wait Until Dark (1967). That’s one of my favorite films. Thankfully, no - until the very end. Randall Okita did a great job with updating the concept into a more modern tone, editing, and camera tracking shots.

Since we are able to see what’s happening, even you feel your throat close up so as not to signal the bag guys. The build-up of the film was very well done. I like the perspective that the film chose. The camera tracked movements closely. We’re watching the action.

The house that the filmmakers shot in was incredibly gorgeous. The cinematography was amazing. Effective and scary lighting choices were interlaced in scenes.

It’s a house I’d stay in, especially with the view of the mountains. It’s easy to lose track of how many rooms there are. There are so many corners and hallways in the house that you never know what’s lurking in them.

See for Me is suspenseful. It is predictable in the sense that it takes the same route as Wait Until Dark. The ending is intense, set entirely in darkness as Sophie lurks in each corner of the house. I did have some issues with certain plot points, like the house owner's knowledge of Sophie’s disability.

See for Me is an engaging thriller. I highly recommend you give it a chance. The ending will give you jitters if you don’t know the original film.

movie reviewpop cultureslashercelebrities
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hassan2 years ago

    I have not seen Wait Until Dark so I will definitely be adding See for Me to my list. Great review!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.