Horror logo

Screams'

"Beyond the Threshold of Fear"

By Isra SaleemPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
Like
Screams'
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

As I walked through the abandoned asylum, I couldn't help but feel a chill run down my spine. The air was thick with the scent of decay, and the flickering flashlights cast eerie shadows on the walls. I had always been drawn to the supernatural and the unknown, and this place was rumored to be one of the most haunted in the country.

I had arrived at the asylum in the dead of night, my car crunching on the gravel driveway as I pulled up. The building loomed before me, its towering spires and turrets reaching towards the sky like skeletal fingers. I shivered as I stepped out of the car, the wind whipping through my hair as I approached the entrance.

The front door creaked as I pushed it open, and I stepped inside, my eyes adjusting to the dim light. The interior was musty and decaying, cobwebs hanging from the chandeliers like macabre tapestries. I wandered through the rooms, my footsteps echoing off the walls as I searched for some sign of life.

But there was nothing. No sign of anyone, no indication that anyone had ever lived here. And yet, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched. I kept catching glimpses of movement out of the corner of my eye, but whenever I turned to look, there was no one there.

As I explored deeper into the asylum, I began to hear strange noises. At first, they were just faint whispers, but soon they grew louder and more urgent. I could feel a presence closing in around me, and I knew I had to get out of there.

But it was too late. The screams started suddenly, piercing the air like a knife. They were loud and raw, full of pain and terror. I tried to run, but my feet felt heavy, as if they were rooted to the spot.

The screams grew louder, more intense, and I could feel the presence closing in around me. I was trapped, unable to move or escape. And then, the lights went out.

I was plunged into darkness, the only sound the screams that echoed through the halls. I was completely at the mercy of the darkness, and I knew I was not alone. The presence was closing in, and I could feel its icy breath on my skin.

Suddenly, a faint light flickered to life in front of me. It was a flashlight, and it cast eerie shadows on the walls as it moved closer. But it was not the flashlight that caught my attention - it was the figure holding it.

Tall and imposing, its face was twisted into a grotesque grin. Its eyes glowed with an otherworldly light, and I could feel its malevolent presence washing over me. I tried to scream, but my voice was frozen in my throat.

The figure began to move towards me, its slow, deliberate steps echoing through the darkness. I was paralyzed with fear, unable to move or escape. And then, everything went black.

When I came to, I was lying on the floor, my head throbbing with pain. The screams were gone, and the presence was gone. But I knew I had to get out of there, to escape the darkness and the malevolent presence that lurked within.

I stumbled to my feet, my heart still racing with fear. I knew I had to get out of there, to escape the screams in the dark. And I didn't stop running until I was back in my car, speeding away from the asylum and the horrors that lurked within.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.