Horror logo

π‘†π‘Žπ‘šβ„Žπ‘Žπ‘–π‘›

A short story by George X

By π†πžπ¨π«π πž 𝐗Published 3 years ago β€’ 6 min read
π΄π‘Ÿπ‘‘ 𝑏𝑦 : π‘Œπ‘£π‘œπ‘›π‘›π‘’ π‘ƒπ‘’π‘π‘œπ‘Ÿ 𝑀𝑒𝑐𝑐𝑖

The end of summer, let us begin so when I finish this story hopefully you would all take my advice and not live for this world, rather live in the path of righteousness. It was Saturday, Halloween night I woke out of what seemed like a nightmare, I crawled out of my bed to head downstairs for a glass of water. Before I go any further, I was a farm boy growing up in Derry, New Hampshire the town often had eerie occurrences consisting of kidnapping of children, to young woman being sex trafficked over into the next cities strip club. I was told in class during the third period that it was the 666th year of Halloween, it did not mean much to me because I would normally be the butt of jokes at my high school. From getting stuffed in lockers, to getting my head dunked in toilet water filled with feces, you named it I would be the one to receive it. Though those would not be my worries any longer, as I made my way to pour myself a glass of water, I heard tapping along the floorboards, I followed the taps along the floor making my way outside in my backyard. I looked upon the open space to see only broken glass, I know it was from my father drinking all that moonshine my uncle made for him, though it was a bottle of glass that shattered into pieces, I would be fully aware. No, the tapping kept on going and it was not coming from the floorboards, it was coming straight out of the old barn. The barn has been handed down to us from many generations of the Holmes family, more in particular it belonged to my ancestor Arthur Holmes who was the older brother of β€œHenry Howard.” It is odd to talk about really, who would want to conversate with me about my family lineage going back to a serial killer. I could not recommend that, the old barn was just run-down rough building, the paint was faded out, holes in the ceiling, cobwebs filled with spider nests, and livestock. Except I did not see any cattle of horses. Only the pigs that were in a circle squealing, it is bizarre that the pigs would be in here, except I am remembering putting them in here, except I just got of bed everything from there was like a blur. Yet the only thing I could hear that got my attention from the swine making noises was the tapping, I made my way toward the beddings & stalls of usually where the cattle and horses were. I heard the tapping growing louder, and louder as I walked slowly down the path as I was getting cold, and anxious not knowing what the tapping was, my heart was racing feeling like it could jump out of my chest any second given.

I made my way toward the last bedding to find nothing, I turned around I could see a figure standing where the pigs are wailing at. I was too stuck to even move my body, this thing was about six foot two inches tall wearing a dark cloak, a part of me wanted to run out of the barn, yet it would not make a difference because I was already too late, even the figure knew I was too late I just wish I could have left the barn while I still could. The cloaked figure turned toward me only to speak, his voice was sinister from there I knew who he was once he spoke to me.

β€œDo you know who I am boy?” questioned death.

β€œYes, I do”

β€œYour time is up, now is the time of payment” demanded death.

β€œHow am I here still standing?”

β€œYou passed in your sleep, now you must go” death said.

β€œGo? Go where?”

β€œThe only place you’ll spend for eternity” death said.

Soon as he spoke those words the pigs started to chant vigorously, the room started to spin slowly, faster, and faster as I could see a flashes of blur lights hitting my face from each corner. Blinding me, I stopped hearing the chants and a roar of thunder could be heard, I was on the ground about to vomit from the twirling space it had me in. I see a blaze of torches in the distant in celebration, I did not want to be here, nobody should not be here, all I tried to do was remember all the honorable deeds I did while living, except it is a curse all I could do was recollect everything sinful I did while living. I wanted to be saved, I wanted to, yet it was too late, I could hear screams of those being tormented, I was blocking them out by trying my best to talk to myself aloud, yet those screams of souls grew only the louder the more I got closer to the torches. Crackling of thunder, and forces of darkness laughing upon those that are here with them, I wanted to go back home, I wanted to live again, I did not want to be here, I miss my mother. As I got closer to the torches, they started to slowly die out as I was standing by myself inside the empty pitch-black room. It got hotter as soon as heard footsteps coming towards me, yet those footsteps sounded like hooves coming towards me, it felt so hot I wanted to peel off my own skin from the hot temperature in that room, I felt like a human boiler. I could hear the breathing of someone within the room with me, yet my heart dropped into my stomach for I knew who I was standing to.

β€œWelcome to my domain boy!” spoke Satan.

β€œPlease, please, please”

β€œStop all your stuttering, for you are chosen to be here” roared Satan.

β€œI just want to go home”

β€œThis is your home Sam, you are the lord of the dead now,” laughed Satan.

β€œNo please, please just let me go”

β€œYou shall be the one who will suffer the same fate as the others in here” Satan shouted.

He grabbed me by the neck and all I could do was see into his eyes raging fire, his horns were thick & sharp, his tongue was a serpent, and skin represented scales of a dragon. I shut my eyes; all I could hear was his alarming voice echoing the empty room we were in. He threw me across the room, all I felt was my hands burning, my hands & feet were singe to the wall, I was stuck, the excruciating surge in my body I wanted to live again, I get bullied in school than spend all eternity here. I am forced to watch & hear all the distress of all facing the same fate I endured, except I had to decided what punishment those would receive once they were destined to be here by choice, or by fact they were needed to be here. All I can feel is my flesh growing, burning, peeling off just a continuous, never-ending cycle of terror, for those who are living the path of sin, I say please do not live for this world, please do not live for the materialistic things, do not live for fame & fortune, do not live by what the evil in this world is tempting you to do. For it will be endless cloud of evil swallowing whole, until there is nothing left, I be a pig than be in this torment of evil forever, though this is my new eternal home of which I must live as the lord of the dead, for I died on October 31st, and that day will forever be celebrated as the day of the dead. I miss my old life, allow me to reintroduce myself I am Holmes, Sam H. Holmes.

slasher

About the Creator

π†πžπ¨π«π πž 𝐗

George X is a young African-American writer, following his bachelor's degree in creative writing at New England College. Growing, developing his craft within the writing world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    π†πžπ¨π«π πž 𝐗Written by π†πžπ¨π«π πž 𝐗

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.