Horror logo

Reunion

Sad eyes

By John EvaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Reunion
Photo by Roksolana Zasiadko on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

"So, how have you been?" I asked.

Jimmy looked at me, all sorts of confused, I guess it had been years. I'll admit I didn't look eighteen anymore, but that's no reason to look at someone like that.

"Sara, you..." his voice trailed off, much like our romance at the end of senior year. It took all sorts of convincing for him to come out here. The wedding ring on his finger glinted in the light of the candle.

"I'm fine Jimmy. Come, sit." I patted the cushion next to me on the couch, some dust flying out. I couldn't find anyplace more remote than this. My family's old cabin, but still a popular camping site for young couples.

He sat down carefully, hands white knuckled on his knees, stiff as a board.

"Sara, what's going on?" He asked. He was like that sometimes. I placed a hand on his. He flinched, but didn't take his hand away. I offered him a smile.

"You know exactly what's going on Jimmy." I leaned in close so that the crook of my neck nestled his shoulder as a mother holding a small child.

"Listen, about that night..." I put my fingers on his lips. I didn't care anymore. That night was awful for a lot of reasons.

***

"JIMMY?!" the scene hit me all at once, and I couldn't believe what I was seeing. Some strange girl I had seen somewhere else at the party, Tina I think? It didn't matter. She was straddling Jimmy like some type of animal, and they were doing things, well, like animals.

He pushed her off with a good amount of force, and the look on his face is something I don't know that I'll ever forget. Shock, horror, and guilt. Cheap red lipstick was smeared all around his mouth in a sort of macabre clown look, but his eyes were what killed me.

They looked so sad, and forlorn, like I had just murdered his pet goldfish when he was a child.

Like it was my fault that it happened.

I wanted to scream in that moment, but everything went red. The girl was saying something incoherent, but I didn't care. My world was his, and it was just torn into shreds.

I barely remember leaving that party.

***

Years had passed since then. I had grown up, and Jimmy had certainly done likewise. It was mere coincidence that led us to meeting up in the first place.

It was actually in these woods that I found him, on a camping trip with his wife, and their daughter. He, the picturesque father and I the lonely sojourner.

For a moment I thought about leaving them be, but something about the way that he looked at his wife, something about his smile, made me approach. It was as if he was looking at her the same way that he used to look at me, and I couldn't. I couldn't stand it.

He was getting some water from the river when I tapped him on the shoulder. You should've seen his face, it was white as sheets, he almost fell in the stream. I told him how I spotted him, (omitting the stalker part of course). I told him how I missed him, and everything that we could do together if he were to come up to my family's old cabin.

At first he seemed reluctant, but once a cheat always a cheat, and this time I would be on the fun side of it.

***

I took his chin, and made him look at me. Our eyes met in the dim candlelight and in that moment, I knew he was mine. I brought my lips to his. His hands were warm and rough sliding quickly onto my bare shoulders and arms. Friction erupted in our bodies as we continued closer and closer. His shirt came off, then my sundress. His arm slid up the length of my stomach, and as he reached in between my breasts I held his hand there.

It took a few moments for him to realize it.

What was happening.

First his finger touched it, then his hand.

A look of abject horror spread across his face.

The blood was dripping onto his neck and chin. His fingers plunged into the deep laceration on my torso. His hand plunged deeper and deeper into that fatal wound.

He screamed then.

A good hearty scream. The one I wanted to make back then, but couldn't.

But it didn't matter anymore. He was mine.

"I didn't know! Sara please!"

His pleas were music to my ears. He couldn't have known that I would drive into oncoming traffic. He couldn't have known what he meant to me. No, he couldn't have known any of that.

"I'm sorry."

The last words he said, and he looked at me with those sad, sad eyes.

Oh, how they killed me.

psychological
1

About the Creator

John Eva

I just like writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jyme Pride2 years ago

    Soooooo fun! Wow! I loved this! You MUST write more! Best of luck with this challenge. You're going to give everyone else a hard way to go.....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.