Horror logo

Resurrection - A Movie Review

Resurrection was so bizarre that I’m not sure if what I watched was real.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
3

That man is watching everything I do.

Resurrection is a 2022 film. Margaret has her life in order when a familiar face returns. Anxiety pursing through her mental state, Margaret feverishly keeps her daughter safe as she begs David to leave her alone.

I’m not sure how to describe Resurrection. I’ll admit that I was intrigued by this film based solely on its premise and Rebecca Hall’s involvement. Resurrection is a detached story with no clear resolution. This movie was so bizarre that I’m not sure if what I watched was real.

If there’s anything that saves this movie from its unfathomable storyline, it’s Rebecca Hall’s outstanding performance. Hall had a better idea of the film’s premise than the movie did. In one scene, she perfectly dictated a five-minute monologue about her character’s past. It’s the signature scene of the movie that I believe deserves an award for Hall’s remarkable dictation.

Having to remain in a panicked state for most of the film's entirety, the question is if Margaret is undergoing a psychotic episode, experiencing PTSD, or both. Margaret is paranoid before the situation starts. Barely able to comprehend daily life, Margaret is in a frenzy running around, becoming a helicopter parent to her daughter, and accepting unhealthy norms she believes she must abide by. I feel so bad that she avoids help from others.

Tim Roth’s smile made me want to curl up in a fetal position it was so menacing. Roth's portrayal in Resurrection takes a different direction, embracing a mysterious side to his acting abilities. David is a creepy man from Margaret’s past who has orchestrated some awful abuse towards her. The things he said were so vile. Roth evoked a startling evil demeanor.

Here’s where the writer should have kept his character more ambiguous. Up until a certain point, Margaret was the only person who interacted with him. David’s presence should have been more mysterious like he was a figment of her imagination.

As for the rest of the characters in the film, Abbie (Grace Kaufman) has to deal with her mother’s weird episodes. Kaufman did a great job in the film, but I feel bad for her character the more Abbie feels distraught and useless in her mother’s situation. Other characters help Margaret as best they can but are turned off by her strange behavior.

Resurrection started fine like a regular thriller until diving down the plot hole. Nothing made sense in the end! Andrew Semons did a great job in his direction to the cast, but the story was scattered. Resurrection deserved a different premise instead of making viewers’ head spin.

Additionally, the film's bleak tone makes for an unpleasant viewing experience. The storyline for Resurrection is so convoluted that it fails to establish a clear direction. Lacking a cohesive vision, it leaves audiences perplexed as to its underlying themes and purpose. I am still unsure as to what I watched and if I can ever erase it from my mind.

This movie is unsettling. The soundtrack is startling, matching the film’s theme. Topics like abuse and rape are implied. Viewers who have undergone abusive relationships or stalking should avoid this movie. Eventually, my ceiling became the TV. You don’t want to watch this movie if you have a weak stomach. It gives me goosebumps still thinking about this movie.

The ending is up to interpretation but it still made no sense. I don’t recommend Ressurection. The only part of this film that you should watch is Hall’s magnificent monologue and you get the idea of the film.

psychologicalpop culturemovie reviewmonstercelebrities
3

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Great review, Marielle! Reading it reminded me of The Bad Bunch, which I watched the other day. It made zero sense, despite having a stellar cast. I wonder why directors choose to go the nonsensical way these days. This is especially common in the indie movie field. Maybe they want to be seen as avantgardists? On another note, I noticed that Rebecca Hall tends to pick roles that force her to get out of her comfort zone. She is an excellent actress.

  • Great Review as always but I guess I'll wait for another movie 🎬 ❤️

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Terrific review!!! Resurrction won't be in my to watch list!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.