Horror logo

Reflections of Terror

When Love Becomes a Portal to Horror

By R.FreyaPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
Reflections of Terror
Photo by Azrul Aziz on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was a face I had never seen before, and yet it seemed so familiar. The reflection was of a girl, a few years younger than me, with long black hair and piercing green eyes. Her face was contorted in a strange expression, one that I couldn't quite place. It was a mix of anger, fear, and despair.

I blinked a few times, thinking that it was just my imagination. But the reflection remained the same. I tried to move away from the mirror, but I found myself unable to. It was like something was holding me in place. And then, the reflection changed again. This time, it was of a dark, desolate place, with a twisted sky and a crimson moon.

I felt a shiver run down my spine as I realized that I was looking at an alternate reality. And then, something strange happened. The reflection started to bleed into my world. The edges of the mirror started to flicker, and I could see the twisted sky and the crimson moon reflected in the room around me.

I tried to look away, but I found that I couldn't. It was like the mirror had taken control of me. I heard a faint whisper, almost like a voice in my head. It said, "Look closer. See the truth."

And then, I saw her. The girl from the reflection. She was standing in the room with me, looking straight at me with her piercing green eyes. I tried to speak, but no words came out.

"Who are you?" I managed to whisper.

The girl didn't answer. Instead, she pointed at the mirror. "Look closer," she said.

I hesitated for a moment, but then I walked towards the mirror. I saw something that I couldn't believe. It was a boy, a few years younger than me, with sandy brown hair and bright blue eyes. He was smiling at me, and my heart skipped a beat. I knew that face. It was him.

"What's going on?" I asked the girl.

"He's from the other side," she said. "He's the key."

"The key to what?"

"To freedom," she said. "The mirror is a gateway. A portal to another world. And he's the only one who can open it."

I looked at the boy again. He seemed so familiar, and yet I couldn't place him. And then, I realized who he was. He was the boy I had a crush on since forever. The one who never noticed me. The one who I never had the courage to talk to.

"He's the one," the girl said. "You have to help him."

"How?" I asked.

"You have to make him fall in love with you," she said. "It's the only way to open the portal."

I looked at her, not quite understanding what she was saying. "What do you mean?"

"The portal can only be opened by true love," she said. "And you're the only one who can make him fall in love."

I felt a surge of excitement and fear. Could it be true? Could I really make him fall in love with me? And then, I heard a faint whisper again. "Do it. Open the portal. Free us."

I looked at the boy in the mirror again. He was still smiling at me, and I felt my heart race. Could it be possible? Could I really I knew I had to try?. I had to make him fall in love with me. I turned to the girl. "What do I do?"

"Start with a smile," she said. "And then, talk to him. Get to know him. Make him see you."

I nodded, determined to do whatever it takes to open the portal. I walked towards the mirror and smiled at the boy. He smiled back, and I felt a rush of excitement. I could do this.

Over the next few days, I spent every spare moment talking to the boy in the mirror. His name was Alex, and he was sweet and funny and everything I ever wanted in a guy. And, as we talked, I could feel myself falling for him. Hard.

But something was off. The mirror was becoming more and more unstable, and the alternate reality was bleeding into my world in a more intense way. Strange things were happening around me, things that I couldn't explain.

One day, I was sitting in my room, staring at the mirror, lost in thought, when I heard a voice behind me. "Who are you talking to?"

I turned around, startled. It was my little sister, Lily.

"No one," I said quickly, trying to hide my embarrassment.

But Lily had already seen the mirror. She walked towards it, and I felt a surge of panic. What if she saw Alex? What if she ruined everything?

But Lily only looked at her own reflection, giggling at her silly expression.

"Can you see anything else?" I asked, trying to keep my voice steady.

Lily shook her head. "Just me. Why?"

I breathed a sigh of relief. "Just curious," I said, hoping she wouldn't ask any more questions.

But Lily was persistent. "Why are you always in here, anyway? What's so special about this mirror?"

I hesitated for a moment, but then I decided to tell her the truth. "It's a magic mirror," I said. "It shows me things."

Lily's eyes widened in excitement. "Can I see?"

I hesitated again. But then, I remembered the girl in the alternate reality, and how she was trapped. Maybe Lily could help.

"Sure," I said. "Just be careful."

Lily walked towards the mirror, and I watched nervously as she looked into it. And then, something strange happened. The mirror started to flicker, and Lily's reflection changed. It wasn't her anymore. It was the girl from the alternate reality.

I felt a surge of fear and excitement. Was this it? Was the portal opening?

And then, I heard a voice. "You did well. You opened the door."

It was the girl from the alternate reality. She was standing in the room with us, looking straight at me with her piercing green eyes.

"What do you mean?" I asked.

"The portal is open," she said. "But it's not enough. You have to make him love you."

"I am trying," I said, feeling frustrated. "But it's not that simple."

"It has to be," she said. "You have to try harder. You have to make him see you."

I looked at her, not quite sure what to say. And then, something strange happened. The mirror started to crack, and the girl disappeared.

I felt a surge of panic as I realized that something was wrong. The portal wasn't opening. It was closing.

I turned to Lily. "We have to go. Now."

I grabbed her hand and pulled her towards the door. But as we reached the threshold, something strange happened. The room started to spin, and I felt myself being pulled back towards the mirror.

And then, I was back in the alternate reality, but it was different this time. It was darker, more sinister. And as I looked into the mirror, I saw something that made my blood run cold. The reflection was no longer of me or the girl, but of something much more sinister and evil.

fiction
1

About the Creator

R.Freya

Poetry is my soul's language, and I wield words like a paintbrush. From heartbreak to hope, I capture emotions and spin them into verse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.