Horror logo

The Haunted Mirror

When Reality Bleeds Into Nightmare

By R.FreyaPublished about a year ago 6 min read
2
The Haunted Mirror
Photo by Nong V on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at it in disbelief, watching as the figure in the mirror moved independently of me. I reached out to touch the glass, but my hand went straight through it, as if it was nothing more than a phantom image.

I stumbled back, my heart racing as I tried to process what was happening. I looked around the room, trying to find some explanation for what I was seeing. But everything seemed normal. The furniture was in its usual place, the curtains billowed gently in the breeze, and the room was bathed in warm, golden light.

I shook my head, convinced that I must be imagining things. But when I looked back at the mirror, the reflection was still there, staring back at me with cold, unblinking eyes.

I turned away, trying to put the strange image out of my mind. But over the next few days, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off. It was like a nagging sense of unease that followed me wherever I went, always just out of reach.

One evening, as I was preparing to go to bed, I caught a glimpse of the mirror out of the corner of my eye. I froze, my heart pounding in my chest as I watched the figure in the mirror move again, its lips parting in a silent scream.

I stumbled back, nearly tripping over the edge of the bed. I couldn't take it anymore. I had to find out what was going on.

The next day, I called a friend who was into the supernatural. She suggested that I try communicating with the entity in the mirror, using a technique called automatic writing. I was skeptical, but desperate for answers.

That night, I sat down in front of the mirror, pen and paper in hand. I took a deep breath and focused my attention on the reflection, watching as the figure in the mirror began to move again.

I closed my eyes and let the pen move across the paper, feeling as if someone else was guiding my hand. The words that appeared on the page were chilling.

"Help me."

I opened my eyes, my heart racing as I looked back at the mirror. The figure was still there, but now I could see more details. It was a woman, dressed in a nurse's uniform, her face twisted in agony.

I knew what I had to do. The next day, I went to the address listed on the nurse's uniform, determined to find out what had happened to her.

The house was old and rundown, with peeling paint and broken windows. I hesitated for a moment, wondering if I was making a mistake. But then I heard a faint cry for help, and my resolve hardened.

I pushed open the front door and stepped inside. The house was silent, but I could sense a presence lurking in the shadows.

"Hello?" I called out, my voice shaking.

There was no answer.

I started to walk down the hallway, my footsteps echoing in the empty house. I could feel my heart pounding in my chest as I approached the first door on the right.

I pushed it open slowly, my eyes adjusting to the darkness. And then I saw her. The nurse, lying on the bed, her face contorted in pain.

I rushed to her side, but it was too late. She was already dead.

I stumbled back, my mind reeling. I knew then that the figure in the mirror had been trying to tell me something. But what did it mean?

As I stood there, staring down at the nurse's lifeless body, I heard a faint whisper in my ear.

"You can't leave. You're a part of this now."

I turned around, but there was no one there. The house was silent once more, but I could feel the weight of something unseen pressing down on me, suffocating me.

I ran out of the house, my heart pounding in my chest. I knew then that I had made a terrible mistake by coming here. I had unknowingly opened a door to a world that I could not comprehend, and now I was trapped.

Over the next few days, strange things began to happen. Objects would move on their own, the temperature in the room would drop suddenly, and I could hear whispers in the dark. I knew that the nurse's spirit was still here, and that she was angry.

I tried to leave the house, but every time I tried to step outside, I would find myself back in the same room. It was like the house was alive, keeping me trapped inside.

One day, as I was sitting in the living room, I heard a faint sound coming from the other side of the room. It was the sound of a woman sobbing.

I looked around, trying to find the source of the sound. And then I saw it. The mirror, reflecting an image of the nurse, crying tears of blood.

I tried to look away, but I couldn't. The image was burned into my mind, and I knew then that I was running out of time.

I had to find a way to break the curse, or I would be trapped in this nightmare forever.

I reached out to the mirror, my hand passing through the glass once more. And then I heard a voice, soft and cold, whispering in my ear.

"You can end this. All you have to do is take my place."

I hesitated for a moment, my mind racing. And then I made my decision. I would do whatever it took to break the curse, even if it meant sacrificing myself.

I stepped through the mirror, feeling the cold embrace of the other world as it welcomed me in. And then everything went dark.

When I woke up, I was lying in a hospital bed. The nurse who had been taking care of me was standing by the bedside, her face etched with concern.

"You're lucky to be alive," she said softly. "You've been in a coma for weeks."

I tried to speak, but my throat was dry and scratchy. And then I saw it. The mirror, standing in the corner of the room, reflecting an image of the other world.

I knew then that I had made the right choice. I had saved myself, but at what cost?

The nurse looked at me, her eyes filled with compassion. And then she said something that made my blood run cold.

"I can see her too."

~~~*********~~~

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this story, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more stories, articles, and poems by R.Freya on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

fiction
2

About the Creator

R.Freya

Poetry is my soul's language, and I wield words like a paintbrush. From heartbreak to hope, I capture emotions and spin them into verse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.