Horror logo

Mirror's Edge

A Haunted Reflection Leads to Horror and Despair

By R.FreyaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Mirror's Edge
Photo by NIKITA SHIROKOV on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light, a distortion caused by the old, cracked glass. But as I stepped closer, I saw that the figure staring back at me was unmistakably different from myself.

It was a woman, older and more withered than I could ever imagine. Her face was etched with wrinkles and deep lines, her eyes sunken and haunted. I felt a chill run down my spine as I realized that this was not a mere reflection, but something far more sinister.

I tried to look away, but the woman in the mirror seemed to be beckoning me closer. Her lips moved, forming words that I could not hear. I felt a strange compulsion to obey her, to step through the glass and into whatever world lay beyond.

It was only when I heard the sound of footsteps behind me that I snapped out of my trance. I turned to see my friend Emma standing in the doorway, her expression one of concern.

"Are you okay?" she asked, stepping into the room. "I heard a noise and thought I should check on you."

I tried to compose myself, to act as though nothing strange had happened. But when I looked back at the mirror, the woman was still there, staring at me with an intensity that made my skin crawl.

"It's nothing," I said, forcing a smile. "Just a bit jumpy, I guess."

But Emma was not fooled. She knew me too well, knew that something was bothering me. She stepped closer to the mirror, studying the woman's reflection with a mixture of curiosity and fear.

"Who do you think she is?" she asked, her voice barely above a whisper.

"I don't know," I said. "But I have a feeling we're going to find out."

For the next few days, I tried to ignore the strange incident with the mirror. I went about my daily routine, pretending that everything was normal. But the woman in the glass haunted me, her image burned into my mind.

Then, one evening, I received a call from Emma. She was hysterical, her words jumbled and incoherent. I could barely make out what she was saying, but I knew that something was terribly wrong.

I rushed over to her house, my heart pounding with fear. When I arrived, I found Emma huddled in a corner, her eyes wide and unseeing.

"It's the mirror," she muttered, over and over. "The mirror showed me things. Terrible things."

I tried to calm her down, to make sense of what she was saying. But then I looked up and saw the reflection in the mirror.

It was not the woman I had seen before, but a little girl. She looked to be no more than six years old, with curly blonde hair and a sweet, innocent face.

But something about her was off, something that made my skin crawl. Her eyes were too bright, too knowing. Her smile was too wide, too hungry.

And then I realized that she was not alone. Standing behind her was an old woman, the same one I had seen in the mirror before. She was smiling, too, her eyes glittering with malevolent glee.

I felt a sudden surge of terror, as though I had stumbled upon a dark and terrible secret. I knew that I had to get Emma out of the house, to get her away from the mirror before it was too late.

But as I reached for her, the little girl in the mirror reached back. Her hand emerged from the glass, cold and clammy. And then she spoke, her voice like ice.

"Come with me," she whispered. "I'll show you things you've never seen. I recoiled in horror, my heart pounding in my chest. I tried to grab Emma and pull her away from the mirror, but she was unresponsive, her eyes locked on the little girl in the reflection.

I knew then that we were in grave danger, that something sinister was at play. I reached for my phone, intending to call for help, but as I did, the lights flickered and went out.

In the darkness, the only thing I could see was the glow of the mirror, casting an eerie light across the room. And then I heard a sound, a faint rustling that grew louder and more urgent by the second.

I turned to face the mirror once more, and what I saw made me scream.

The little girl had stepped out of the glass, her body twisted and contorted in ways that should have been impossible. She was no longer sweet and innocent, but a monster, with eyes that burned with a fierce and unnatural light.

And behind her stood the old woman, cackling with glee as she watched us from the safety of the other side.

I knew then that we were trapped, that we had been drawn into some kind of alternate reality from which there was no escape. I felt a wave of despair wash over me, as I realized that we were doomed to remain in this twisted and terrifying world forever.

And then I woke up, drenched in sweat, my heart racing.

It had all been a dream, I realized with relief. A terrible nightmare that had felt all too real.

But as I sat up in bed, I saw the mirror across the room, its surface dark and foreboding. And I knew that the nightmare was not over, that it was only just beginning.

I got out of bed and approached the mirror, steeling myself for whatever horrors lay on the other side.

As I reached out to touch the glass, I heard a faint whisper in my ear.

"Welcome to the other side," it said.

And then I was gone, lost forever in the haunted world of the mirror.

~~~*********~~~

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this story, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more stories, articles, and poems by R.Freya on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

fiction
1

About the Creator

R.Freya

Poetry is my soul's language, and I wield words like a paintbrush. From heartbreak to hope, I capture emotions and spin them into verse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.