Horror logo

Reflections of Horror

When a Haunted Mirror Reveals an Alternate Reality

By R.FreyaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Reflections of Horror
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own, and it sent shivers down my spine. I reached out to touch it, but my hand met cold glass. I stepped back, heart racing, and took a closer look at the mirror. It was an antique piece with intricate carvings and a gold-plated frame. It had been in my family for generations, and it had always given me an uneasy feeling.

I turned away from the mirror and went back to my room, trying to shake off the feeling of unease. My husband, Tom, was sitting on the bed, scrolling through his phone.

"What's wrong?" he asked, noticing my pale face.

"The mirror," I said, unable to keep the fear out of my voice. "It showed a reflection that wasn't mine."

Tom looked up from his phone, concern etched on his face. "What do you mean?"

"I mean, it was like I was looking at someone else in the mirror," I said, still trying to calm myself down.

Tom got up from the bed and went to the mirror, examining it closely. "I don't see anything strange," he said.

"It's not there now," I said, feeling foolish. "Maybe it was just my imagination."

Tom put his arms around me and held me close. "It's okay," he said. "Maybe we should get rid of the mirror if it's making you uncomfortable."

But I couldn't shake off the feeling that something was wrong. The next day, I found myself drawn to the mirror again. I couldn't resist looking into it, and this time, the reflection was even more disturbing. It was a pregnant woman with dark hair and dark eyes, and she was looking right at me. I tried to look away, but I couldn't. It was like the mirror had a hold on me.

"Tom, come quick," I called out, my voice trembling.

Tom rushed into the room, and I pointed to the mirror. "Look, it's not me," I said.

Tom looked at the mirror and saw the reflection of the pregnant woman. "What the hell?" he said, taking a step back.

"We have to get rid of it," I said, my voice urgent. "It's not safe."

Tom agreed, and we decided to take the mirror down and get rid of it. But as soon as we touched the mirror, everything changed. The room around us started to blur and distort, and we found ourselves in a different reality.

We were in a dark and twisted version of our own world, where everything was the same, but different. The pregnant woman from the mirror was there, and she was staring at us with cold, dead eyes.

"What is this place?" Tom asked, his voice trembling.

"I don't know," I said, feeling a wave of fear wash over me. "But we have to find a way out."

We started to run, but the pregnant woman followed us, her eyes fixed on us. We found ourselves in a deserted alleyway, with no way out. The pregnant woman was getting closer, and we could hear her footsteps echoing in the darkness.

"Tom, we have to do something," I said, my heart pounding.

But before we could do anything, the pregnant woman reached out and grabbed Tom's arm. He screamed, and I tried to pull him away, but it was too late. The pregnant woman had taken him, and he was gone.

I was alone, trapped in this twisted reality with no way out. I knew that the pregnant woman was still out there, waiting for me. And I knew that I had to find a way to escape before it was too late.

The mirror had revealed an alternate reality that had slowly bled into my world, and now, I was paying the price for my curiosity. I wandered the dark and twisted streets, searching for a way out. But everywhere I turned, I was met with dead ends and closed doors.

And then, I saw her again. The pregnant woman was standing at the end of the street, her dark eyes fixed on me. I tried to run, but my feet felt like they were rooted to the ground.

"Please, let me go," I begged, tears streaming down my face.

But the pregnant woman didn't answer. She just kept coming closer, until I could feel her cold breath on my face. And then, everything went black.

When I woke up, I was back in my own world, lying in my bed. Tom was sleeping beside me, and everything seemed normal. But I knew that something had changed. The mirror was gone, but the memory of what I had seen lingered on.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. But I never forgot what had happened. I could still see the pregnant woman's face in my dreams, and I knew that she was out there, waiting for me.

And then, one day, I saw her again. She was standing on the street corner, watching me with those cold, dead eyes. I tried to run, but my feet wouldn't move. And then, she spoke.

"Come back to me," she whispered, her voice like a cold breeze.

I woke up screaming, drenched in sweat. Tom was beside me, trying to calm me down.

"It's okay," he said. "It was just a nightmare."

But I knew that it wasn't just a nightmare. The pregnant woman was still out there, waiting for me. And I knew that I would never be truly safe until I found a way to escape from her grasp.

The mirror had shown me an alternate reality, but it had also revealed a dark and twisted version of myself. And now, I was trapped in a world where the lines between reality and nightmare were blurred. I knew that I had to find a way to break free, or risk losing myself forever.

The end.

~~~*********~~~

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this story, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more stories, articles, and poems by R.Freya on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

R.Freya

Poetry is my soul's language, and I wield words like a paintbrush. From heartbreak to hope, I capture emotions and spin them into verse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.