Horror logo

REFLECTIONS

Story of a cursed mirror

By Taimoor AfzalPublished about a year ago 3 min read
shhhh...someone there

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light. But as I looked closer, I saw that the figure in the mirror was wearing different clothes than I was, and their hair was a different color. It was almost as if they were someone else entirely.

I tried to shake off the feeling of unease that crept over me, but I couldn't help but feel like I was being watched. It was then that I noticed something odd about the mirror itself. The edges of the glass seemed to be shimmering, almost as if there was a heat haze around it.

Curiosity getting the better of me, I reached out to touch the glass. But as soon as my fingers made contact with the cool surface, I felt a sudden jolt, like an electric shock. And then, everything went black.

When I came to, I was no longer in my bedroom. Instead, I was standing in the middle of a dark, twisted forest. The trees loomed over me like giant sentinels, and the only sound I could hear was the rustling of leaves in the wind.

I tried to call out for help, but my voice was caught in my throat. It was like the air around me was thick and heavy, as if it was trying to suffocate me. I stumbled through the undergrowth, my heart pounding in my chest.

And then, I saw it. A clearing up ahead, with a single, gnarled tree standing in the center. And hanging from one of its twisted branches was a mirror. It was the same mirror from my bedroom, but it looked different now. The edges of the glass were no longer shimmering; they were pulsing with an otherworldly energy.

I approached the mirror cautiously, my hand outstretched. As soon as my fingers touched the glass, I felt that same jolt of electricity, and everything went black again.

When I came to, I was back in my bedroom. At first, I thought it had all been a dream, but then I noticed something strange. The room around me seemed different, almost like it had been rearranged while I was gone.

And then I saw the figure in the mirror again. It wasn't me, but it wasn't anyone else I recognized either. The person in the mirror looked scared, almost as if they were trapped.

That's when I realized what was happening. The mirror was showing me an alternate reality, one that was bleeding into my own. And with each trip through the mirror, that other world was getting closer and closer to mine.

Days turned into weeks, and still, I found myself drawn back to the mirror. It was like a siren song, calling out to me, tempting me with the promise of adventure and escape.

But with each trip through the mirror, the other world grew more twisted and dangerous. I saw things that no one should ever see - creatures that defied description, and landscapes that seemed to twist and writhe beneath my feet.

And then, one day, I came back to my bedroom to find that the mirror was gone. At first, I was relieved. I thought that maybe I was finally free from its influence.

But then I saw it. A single shard of glass, lying on my bedroom floor. And as I looked at it, I realized that the world around me was slowly starting to warp and twist. The other reality was bleeding into my own, and there was nothing I could do to stop it.

In the end, I was consumed by the alternate reality that the mirror had shown me. It was like a disease, infecting every corner of my world. And as I looked around me, I saw that I wasn't alone. There

vintagesupernaturalpsychologicalmonsterbook reviews

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TAWritten by Taimoor Afzal

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.