Horror logo

Reflection in the Mirror

Confronting Demons of the Past

By Content CreatorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
Like
Generated with Imagine

Shadows of The Mind

Chapter 1: The Morning Turns Dark

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. The first time it happened, I was brushing my teeth before bed. I glanced up into the bathroom mirror and saw a figure behind me. I turned around, but no one was there. When I looked back into the mirror, the reflection showed someone else entirely. It was me, but not quite. The face was distorted, the eyes were black, and the smile was twisted.

I shook my head, thinking I must be seeing things. But the image lingered in my mind long after I went to bed. It wasn't until the next day that I started to question my sanity.

Chapter 2: The Past Comes Back to Haunt

Growing up, my childhood was far from perfect. I was raised in an abusive home by parents who constantly fought and drank. My mother often took her anger out on me, and my father turned a blind eye to it all. I learned to hide away, both physically and mentally. I escaped into a closet and sat in the corner writing bad things on the wall about my parents and how I hated life, always imagining a better life for myself.

But now, as an adult, those memories started to surface. The image in the mirror was just the beginning. I started to have nightmares about my past, reliving the moments of abuse and neglect. I could feel my mind slipping away from me as if I was losing control.

Chapter 3: A Helping Hand

Desperate for help, I confided in my friend, Jenna. She listened with a sympathetic ear and recommended I see a therapist. Dr. Reynolds was kind and understanding, and I began to open up to her about my childhood trauma.

She suggested that I try to face my fears head-on to confront the memories and come to terms with them. It was difficult at first, but I slowly started to make progress. The nightmares stopped, and the image in the mirror no longer appeared.

Chapter 4: The Return of the Mirror

Just as I thought I was getting better, the mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own again. This time, it was worse. The distorted face was accompanied by a voice that whispered in my ear, taunting me with memories of my past.

I tried to ignore it, to push it away, but it only grew stronger. The voice began to follow me throughout my day, a constant reminder of my trauma.

Chapter 5: A Chance Encounter

One day, while out running errands, I met a man named Jack. He was charming and charismatic, and I found myself drawn to him. We exchanged numbers and started dating.

For a while, things seemed good. Jack was attentive and supportive, helping me to face my fears and confront my past. But as time went on, I began to see a different side of him. He was possessive and controlling, making me feel trapped.

Chapter 6: The Unraveling

The image in the mirror grew stronger, the voice more insistent. I started to question whether Jack was real or just a figment of my imagination. The line between reality and fantasy began to blur, and I was no longer sure what was real.

Dr. Reynolds tried to help, but even she was starting to doubt my sanity. It wasn't until I discovered a dark secret about Jack that everything started to make sense.

Chapter 7: The Truth Revealed

Jack was the son of my mother's abusive boyfriend. He had been a witness to my childhood trauma and had been using my past to manipulate me all along. The image in the mirror, the voice in my ear, it was all part of his plan.

Chapter 8: The Final Confrontation

With the truth revealed, I confronted Jack in a final showdown. It was a terrifying and violent encounter, but I emerged victorious.

Chapter 9: The Aftermath

After the confrontation with Jack, I was left reeling. I had no idea how to move forward from everything that had happened. The image in the mirror and the voice in my ear had disappeared, but the trauma of my past was still very much present.

Dr. Reynolds helped me work through my emotions and develop coping strategies to deal with my anxiety and PTSD. It was a slow and difficult process, but I was making progress. I started smoking marijuana to help cope with my anxiety and PTSD, and help me to stay focused throughout the day.

Chapter 10: A New Beginning

As I started to heal, I also started to rebuild my life. I moved into a new apartment, far away from the memories of my childhood. I started a new job and made new friends.

One day, while browsing a thrift store, I came across an old mirror. It was beautiful, with an ornate frame and beveled edges. But as I looked into it, I saw something I hadn't seen in a long time: my own reflection. The image was clear and unblemished, a symbol of my newfound strength.

Chapter 11: The Haunting Returns

Just as I thought I had finally put the past behind me, the haunting returned. The image in the mirror was distorted once again, and the voice in my ear returned with a vengeance.

I tried to fight it, to use the coping strategies Dr. Reynolds had taught me, but nothing seemed to work. The voice was louder and more persistent than ever before.

Chapter 12: A Shocking Revelation

Desperate for answers, I reached out to Jack's mother, the woman who had been with my father all those years ago. She revealed a shocking truth: I had a twin sister who had died in infancy. She had been hidden away, a secret from everyone, even me.

The revelation hit me like a ton of bricks. It explained the distorted image in the mirror, the voice in my ear. It was my sister, reaching out to me from beyond the grave.

Chapter 13: A Journey to the Past

Armed with this new knowledge, I set out to find out more about my sister. I discovered old photos and documents that shed light on her short life. I learned about the circumstances of her death and the pain my mother had felt.

It was a journey that took me deep into my past, but it also gave me a new perspective on my own life. I realized that I was stronger than I ever thought possible and that I had overcome so much.

Chapter 14: The Final Confrontation (Again)

Armed with this newfound strength, I confronted the image in the mirror once again. But this time, it was different. The voice in my ear was softer, almost comforting. I could feel my sister's presence, guiding me toward a resolution.

It was a peaceful and cathartic encounter, a symbol of my own growth and healing.

Chapter 15: The True Horror

As I emerged from the encounter, I thought it was all over. I thought I had finally conquered the supernatural forces that had haunted me for so long. But I was wrong.

The true horror wasn't the image in the mirror or the voice in my ear. The true horror was the realization that my own mind was capable of creating such terror. It was a realization that left me wondering what other horrors my own mind was capable of.

Chapter 16: Reflection in the Mirror

Years have passed since I have seen any reflections in the mirror and that final confrontation with the demons of the past, and I'm happy to say that I'm doing much better. I still have moments of fear and anxiety, but they're no longer all-consuming, smoking Mary Jane helps me to stay sane.

I've learned that the past will always be a part of me, but it doesn't have to define me. I've learned to face my fears and confront my demons, to find strength in the darkest of places.

And as for the mirror...

Chapter 17: The Mirror's Revenge

Just as I thought I had conquered my demons, the mirror struck back with a vengeance. One day, as I was getting ready for work, I turned around and looked into the mirror and saw something that made my blood run cold.

Instead of my own reflection, I saw the face of Jack. He grinned at me wickedly, his eyes glowing with malice. I tried to look away, but I couldn't. His face seemed to be etched into the glass, mocking me.

Chapter 18: The Investigation Begins

I knew I couldn't ignore the mirror any longer. I reached out to paranormal investigators, hoping they could help me understand what was happening. They were intrigued by my story, and they agreed to come to investigate.

As they set up their equipment and began their investigation, I felt a sense of dread wash over me. I knew that something terrible was about to happen.

Chapter 19: The Horror Unleashed

As the investigators probed the mirror with their tools and cameras, I heard a scream that shook me to my core. One of the investigators had been attacked by the mirror, his body thrown across the room with great force.

The other investigators scrambled to his aid, but it was too late. He was dead, his body contorted and twisted in unnatural ways.

Chapter 20: The Mirror's Demands

The mirror was no longer content with just haunting me. It wanted something more. It wanted me to pay for the sins of my past.

The voice in my ear returned, louder and more insistent than ever before. It demanded that I make a sacrifice, that I offer up someone else's life in exchange for my own.

Chapter 21: The Final Showdown

I knew I couldn't let the mirror win. I had to face it one last time, to put an end to its reign of terror.

With a heavy heart and a deep sense of dread, I stood before the mirror once again. But this time, I was not alone. I had brought with me all of the strength and courage that I had gained through my journey.

I looked into the mirror and saw not the face of Jack, but the face of my sister. She smiled at me, a gentle and loving smile, and I knew that I was not alone.

Together, we faced the mirror and shattered it into a million pieces. The voice in my ear was silenced forever, and the haunting was finally over.

Epilogue

As I walked away from the shattered remains of the mirror, I felt a sense of peace that I had not felt in a long time. The horrors of my past had finally been put to rest.

But as I turned to leave, I caught a glimpse of something in the corner of my eye. It was a small fragment of the mirror, still intact. And in that fragment, I saw the reflection of someone else.

I knew then that the true horror was not the mirror itself, but the darkness that lurked within each of us. And I wondered, with a sense of unease, what other horrors lay hidden in the shadows of my own mind.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Content Creator

I believe that every reader should enjoy a good read. It is my passion to create valued content to fulfill and enlighten the appetites of the mind. I enjoy writing fiction, business, relationships, life hacks, and more. Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.