Horror logo

Prison dare

A dare gone wrong

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
8
Prison dare
Photo by Emiliano Bar on Unsplash

Walking through an abandoned prison was not my idea of fun. But a dare is a dare and I'm not going to be the guy who said no to a date. If I did, my time in highschool would be officially over. I was carrying a video camera with me to record the experience because everyone was too chicken to come with me. I had just moved to this town so I had to cement myself amongst my classmates immediately or I would be doomed to obscurity. According to one of the kids who gave me the dare this prison was left abandoned about ten years ago. Reports of abuse and the like had been coming out of the prison for years as well as a number of "missing" inmates.

I kept my eyes on the camera just in case it caught something my eyes wouldn't normally. Yes I'm talking about ghosts. I'm not a huge believer but this place was creepy and the hair on my arms had been sticking up since I walked in. So of course I was going to be keeping an eye out on the camera.

As part of the dare I had three places to go while I'm in the prison. First the cell of the biggest, meanest, and most insane prisoner in all of the prison's history. His name was Shy Boy Tommy. He was called that because he was socially anxious and always had his head down despite being six foot ten. He had been in jail for fifteen murders and there were at least fifteen more suspected though never found. He had been sentenced to ten life sentences that were to be served one after the other with no chance at parole. I then was supposed to go to one of the solitary confinement cells and stand inside for five minutes. Finally the morgue and try to find a dead body.

I figured I would check out the cell first. I was standing on the bottom floor of the prison in the center area where a guard could stand and be seen by all the inmates. Shy Boy Tommy's cell was up on the second floor. I would know it by the fact that it was the only cell that still had a number next to it. My camera has a light on it which was also my only light. That was a mistake I hadn't thought about till I got here. I swung around looking for the stairs. After finally finding them I started heading over to them and almost jumped out of my skin when I saw something skittering on the camera. I try to track it with the camera and it finally stops to reveal it was only a rat. I take a deep breath and head up the stairs.

Of course I had to pick the opposite side of the stairs from where the cell was. I walk all the way around swinging the camera around looking in the other cells. They were all in various states of disarray. Many looked like they had been ripped apart instead of simply deteriorating. I finally found the cell with a number which was sixty-nine. I muttered to myself, "Nice." I walked inside, swinging the camera with me as I looked at it all. It was the only cell that actually still seemed to be in okay condition. The bed still looked like it could be used. Just for extra points I went and laid down in it for all of about ten seconds before I saw something flit past my camera screen. I jumped up looking around, "Who's there?" Of course I'm met with silence. I sighed to myself and headed out of the cell making my way to solitary confinement.

According to what I'd been told, the solitary confinement area was towards the back of the prison. I would have to pass the cafeteria and the doctor's office. As I walked past the cafeteria I heard some clattering like someone was messing around in the kitchen. I walked faster deciding that it wasn't worth my time to go off and get murdered in the kitchen. As I walked past the doctor's office I swung the camera to just take a quick peek in the door. I jumped back when I saw a doctor in full coat and mask through the camera. Looking up there was nothing I could see with my eyes. I looked back at the camera to see that the doctor was walking towards me with a syringe in hand. I took off running towards the solitary confinement area only taking a moment to look back once I reached it and now I saw nothing on the camera.

I looked around the solitary confinement cells trying to decide which one I felt like spending five minutes in. I finally picked one, taking note of the time on the camera. I was standing in the middle of the cell watching the door through the camera. I kept an eye on the time watching each moment pass by agonizingly slow. Every moment felt like ten and I just couldn't get it to go any faster. After four minutes had passed I relaxed a little, breathing slower now trying to get my heart to stop hammering. As it hit the five minute mark I laughed a little at myself for being so freaked out. At that moment someone appeared on the camera standing in front of me. I kept looking between the camera and in front of me in disbelief at how there was no one in front of me. Whoever it was they just stood there for about two minutes saying nothing and then walked off.

I stood there shaking for a little while arguing with myself about whether it was time to leave or not. I took a couple of deep breaths as I figured I had to be stupid to do this but I was off to the morgue. Now it was back to the main cells and then down two flights of stairs to the morgue. Find a dead body and then I could leave. As I walked past the doctor's office I peeked in again and the doctor was back in the position I had first seen him in. I didn't stay this time to watch him. I reached the stairs bounding down them wanting to get this done. I reached the morgue and threw open the door storming inside like I owned the place.

It was freezing in the morgue enough so that I almost left just because I didn't want to deal with the cold. I pulled my arms in close and made my way to the storage slabs. Throwing open the doors one by one but no bodies to be found. My teeth were starting to chatter from the cold but I pressed on. I hadn't been looking through the camera this whole time, honestly terrified of what I would see. I finally bit the bullet and looked through the screen. The room was filled with people. Doctors, nurses, prison guards, and prisoners. When I looked at them, they all stopped what they were doing and looked back at me. All I said was, "I hope this counts for your dead people cause I'm done." I tore off back to the entrance and bounded up the stairs two at a time. My heart is hammering out of my chest.

As I got back up to the cell area I made a hard left heading back towards the entrance when I ran into an absolute wall of a man. I fell flat on my backside with a loud grunt, "Oh what the hell? Now the ghosts are gaining physical form. Absolutely fantastic!"

I looked up at the man. He was a security guard. Oh man I'm in trouble now but hopefully the ghosts aren't after me anymore. The man extends his hand down to me, "Hello."

I take his hand pulling myself up and check my camera to make sure it isn't broken. I then look up at the guard, "Hello. Can you please let me go? I was leaving anyways so please can I go? I don't want to get in trouble. I just did this for a stupid dare so that the other kids would accept me."

The man nodded his head once gesturing to me to go past him. I started walking past him and he said, "Thank you for saying hello. Not everyone does."

I looked back, "Um no problem man. It's just common courtesy. Thank you for letting me walk." As I walked away I remembered one more thing the kids had told me about Shy Boy Tommy. That he would say hello to people and if they didn't respond or were rude about it that's why he would kill them. It was to do with his social anxiety. It took a lot of courage for him to say hello and he took it personally if you didn't say it back. They had said at his trial he was fully mentally competent and that the social anxiety was just his excuse for killing. I looked back to maybe say something to the man but he was gone and so I kept going too.

Later on when I was showing the footage to all the guys they told me one more legend about the prison. That supposedly Shy Boy Tommy still walked the premises and that he wore a uniform still looking for people to say hello to.

As a person who suffers from mild social anxiety I would like to say I fully know that it would never drive otherwise sane people to murder. With that I hope you all enjoyed this story. If you did please leave a like, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

supernatural
8

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.