Horror logo

Deals

To sail another day

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
16
Deals
Photo by Simon Hurry on Unsplash

Three hours ago the sky was clear, the wind at our backs, and the sea was wonderfully calm. Me and my men were singing and drinking after a successful raid on a small port village. Now we were in the middle of a raging storm and a maelstrom that had opened in the middle of it all. On top of that cannonballs were flying past and occasionally hitting the ship. The cannonballs were from an English Navy ship that had been dispatched just for us. I'll admit I did feel special at this moment.

Round and round we spun in the maelstrom firing cannonballs at each other as much as we could. We had already abandoned the idea of saving our ships. Now whoever sunk first was the loser. But no matter what we were both going to lose. Mother nature finally sided with me, casting down a lightning bolt on the English ship's mast. Fire erupted from it as I watched the mast tip and then get ripped off by the wind throwing it in the ocean. I howled with laughter into the wind. My men joined me till we were even louder than the storm raging overhead.

Now with the English ship dealt with I turned my attention to maybe trying to pull us out of this. I pulled the wheel of the ship hard to the outside and started rocking us back and forth. Trying to build momentum to push us up towards the outside of the swirling. But every time we almost escape it pulls us back. I can see the looks of resignation that started to come over my men. I let go of the wheel and cried out to them, "My hearties listen close! Today the sea will claim us but we all knew it would come one day. So give your hearts to the ocean and let us go down singing and drinking!"

My men cheered and began to sing a shanty as they grabbed all the booze they could find. We drank and we sang as we drifted further and further to the middle of the maelstrom. The world around us became darker by the moment. As everything came to a pitch black the world around us stopped. After a moment I realized it was everyone but me who was stopped. From the darkness around me a man stepped out and placed his hand on my shoulder. I turned to him and was taken aback for his face was partially decomposed. I looked down at his shirt to realize he is bearing the insignia of Davy Jones. A skull and crossbones but emblazoned in gold. A mark that no other pirate is allowed to take. I look back up, "Are you Davey Jones?"

The man nodded while walking to be in front of me, "Aye that I am. A good pirate you have been. Followed the codes I laid out good and proper so I have come to offer you a deal lad. Here at the moment of you and your ship's demise. My price is the same that it has always been. All of your souls to feed my own. And what will be your price?"

I looked around and thought about my crew and what they would want. I had asked them before that if Davy Jones came for their souls what should he say. They had simply raised a mug at me and said they would follow their captain to anywhere even being undead. I focused back on Davy Jones, "Give me and my crew the opportunity to sail the seas again under your flag. That's my price."

Davy Jones took a moment as if to ponder my price before he nodded, "A good price indeed. One worthy for any good pirate. When you've got a good haul call my name and I'll be there. But, know now if you try to skimp on me I'll know. And the price for such things is a fate far worse than death lad. It is done then." He spit in his hand and offered it to me. I spit in my hand and take his.

Suddenly everything begins to swirl around me so fast that it was all a blur. When we stop spinning my ship is sitting in a harbor I don't recognize. I look out onto my deck to see all of my men passed out and a group of decomposing men grabbing them and tossing them overboard while singing, "What do you do with a drunken sailor? *splash* What do you do with a drunken sailor? *splash* What do you do with a drunken sailor? *splash* Early in the morning! Toss 'em over and make 'em sober! *splash* Toss 'em over and make 'em sober! *splash* Toss 'em over and make 'em sober! Early in the morning!"

As more men are being tossed overboard the first ones are starting to climb back onto the ship from the other side. As they come out of the water all of them show some signs of decomposition. But they also wear on their right sleeve the mark of Davy Jones. Once all the men have been thrown overboard everyone on the ship looks to me. One of the men who was throwing my men overboard called out, "Captain goes last! Time to take your swim."

I walk down from the wheel and offer myself to him. He grabs me without ceremony and throws me overboard. As I hit the water I feel my body grow cold. I begin swimming towards the other side of the ship. Once I reach it I climb up back onto the ship. I look down at my chest as I feel a searing pain course through me. My chest has been emblazoned with the crest of Davy Jones. I look around now only seeing my men on the ship. I shrug and go to the wheel, "Raise the sails! We go on the wind!" With that we sailed off in search of more treasure.

I hope you all enjoyed this story. If you did then please like, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

supernatural
16

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.