Horror logo

Pine Tree Camp Part Two: Dying for Revenge

Death just doesn't stick.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
 Pine Tree Camp Part Two: Dying for Revenge
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Soft violin music floated into the office of Dryer’s and Family’s Funeral Home. The bell clanged loudly downstairs breaking me out of my exhausted trance. Sleep decided to evade my mind, punishing me living with my dead room mate for two freaking months. Weirdly enough, the apartment burned down the night after she was found, forcing Todd, and I to live at my parent’s funeral home. It was the only one in town, so business was great. Nervously, my slender fingers tugged at the bottom of my black sweater dress. A gray blazer was the only thing keeping me warm. My hair was twisted into a side bun. The bell rang again, nearly making me jump out of my skin. My boots clicked against the black and white diamond floors to the back door where the bodies entered their final day at the spa.

“Oy, I have a new one for you.” A raspy voice called from the other side of the white metal doors. Sighing, the door squeaked open as I pulled on the ancient door. A stumpy short dark haired man in a blue mechanics suit stood waiting with a black bag. His gray eyes glittered excitedly, the wheels squealing away to the nearest fridge.

“Did my mother approve of this one?” I questioned, crossing my arms. “She didn’t tell me a body was coming in today.” Shrugging, he pushed the bag into the fridge. Steel stared back at me from his worn brown steel toed boots. A clipboard sat in his hand, the pen bouncing against the back impatiently.

“The police and the family already made an agreement with your mother.” He explained bluntly. “The cops seemed uncomfortable around her.” My eyebrows raised in suspicion, wondering what he meant by her. The room started to weigh down around us, blanketing us in negative energy. I turned to talk to him again, but he was already out of the driveway. That was odd, it was almost as if something had happened on the way over. A rush of cold air nipped at my skin, the bed flying out. Black plastic rose up and down one time, or was I just imagining it. PTSD was real, in fact I kept seeing her everywhere. A lump formed in my throat, the zipper sliding down with ease. Fear filled my eyes, seeing Misty laying there decomposed for about two months. No teeth sat in her mouth, worsening my disgust. Sulfur wafted up my nose, nauseating my stomach. A hand touched my shoulder, nearly jumping out of my skin.

“Still hoppy there Britt.” Todd teased, holding a mop in his hand. “She is just a dead body now.” Slumping forward, my arms wrapped around his neck. My body was trembling with fear, searching for the nearest escape. The lights started to flicker, causing me to slam the body into its little cubby. Pulling him upstairs, I locked the door behind us. My shoes crashed against the floor to the office where my phone was sitting. No service flashed back at me, deepening my inner worry. Frantically, I tried the landline only to get nothing. Great, the phone lines were down. Lightning filled the black wallpapered room, thunder crashing around me. Heavy raindrops pattered against the metal roof, playing a solemn melody. The lights powered down around me, bathing me in total darkness. My heart pounded out of my chest, seeing my breath in front of me.

“Todd!” I called, turning on the flashlight on my phone. “Where are you?” His long arms wrapped around my waist, making me punch his nose. Blood dripped onto his black band t-shirt, guilt rising up in me. Anger burned in his eyes, softening to concern. Using my one beam of light, I tossed him a pile of paper towels. Bangs erupted around us, alerting us to someone else being with us.

“You alright dear.” My mother’s soft voice called out in the darkness. “This is a doozy of a storm.” She approached my light in her black business suit, wrapping her arms around us. A floral scent floated into my nose, relaxing my body. Slowly the floral scent melted into a rotten smell. Black eyes shimmered back at me instead of my mother’s copper eyes. My heart stopped beating, a maniacal grin curling on her lips. Leaping out of her arms, we watched in horror as she rose up in the air.

“Give me my mother back!” I shouted, looking for a weapon. “What was wrong with Misty’s body?” Evil cackling exploded from her twisted grin, raising her wrinkled hand. Her white hair was flying all around her, moths fluttered from her lips. Tiny wings whispered in my ears, a chair flying in my direction nearly hitting me.

“Her body was worn out.” A deep voice boomed out of her thin lips. “This one is more fun. She has a business where I can put demons in freshly dead bodies.” My mind flickered on how one can get rid of a demon. Another piece of wooden furniture whacked me in the head drawing a spot of blood on my forehead. Sticky blood clumped up in my hair, grossing me out. Raw fright pumped through my veins, freezing my body in its place.

“Let’s go!” Todd yelled, pulling me out into the storm. Rain pounded onto our heads soaking us to our bones. Our clothes clung to our bodies, lightning nearly striking us. Thunder shook the wet grass beneath our shoes. The large wooden door blew open, my mother floating mid-air, holding a bloody machete in her hand. Red stained her white dress shirt, shaking me to my core. We rushed over to his jeep only to realize that the battery was broken into pieces next to it. Damn it! An unnatural howl echoed around us, skeletal hands grabbing our ankles.

“Do you know how to hot wire a car?” I questioned urgently, kicking the hands off of our ankles. “Maybe we can steal one of the home’s vehicles.” Five batteries smashed down next to us, scratching that option. Despair washed over my face, dimming my eyes. He slouched forward in defeat, holding his hands in his palms.

“We need to run.” He spat out, looking for a way out. “We need to go now.” Panic darkened his exhausted face, passing on his energy over to me. His fingers intertwined around my trembling fingers. Our hearts beating faster, she rushed at us. Stopping in front of us, a loud crack echoed around us, her neck snapping in two. Tears welled up in my eyes, watching her head bob around like a broken doll.

“Do you still want mommy?” She teased coldly. “Mommy didn’t want you. She never did. Did you know she put your daddy in his pine box?” Shaking my head, fat salty tears flooded from my frightful eyes. Sorrow twitched at my pinched lips, praying for a way out of this mess. As if God was listening a black salt box appeared next to me. Opening it, my eyes slammed shut, feeling a burst of energy all around us. Howls exploded from her lips, a black smoke separating from her body. Winds gusted all around me, pulling it into the little black box. The lid slammed shut, disappearing into thin air. The storm cleared up, lights flickered on in the house. My mother’s body landed on the ground in a loud thud. Sobs wracked my exhausted body, a light energy wrapping itself around me. My faded version mother stood in front of me with a soft gentle smile, her eyes glistening happily.

“I love you Britt.” She mused, grabbing my hands. “Your father was going to kill us when you were two. I had to kill him to protect us. It was almost as if he was possessed or something. Please forgive me.” Red and blue lights flashed down the street. Waving good-bye, she walked into a bright light. My father wrapped his arms around her waist, and smiled back at me. My body trembled with disbelief and despair. The light was gone, leaving us alone waiting for the cops to show.

“Are you okay, ma’am?” A dark haired officer inquired sincerely. “The neighbors saw her attacking you, and then a man behind her.” Crumbling to the wet ground, Todd held me close to his chest. He rocked me back and forth, patting the top of my head.

“My mmmoommm.” I stuttered numbly. “I don’t know what happened.” Brown eyes looked into my eyes, a light flashing into them. We all stopped as the funeral home crumbled to the ground into a pile of rubble. Shock broke me into stunned silence, my jaw falling to the ground. A scream exploded from my lips. The world spun around me, darkness enveloping me in a chilly hug.

Bright sunlight flooded into my white hospital room, blinding my aching eyes. Todd sat snoring in a cheap hospital chair next to me. The same dark haired officer walked in. Her eyes filled with concern at the sight of me.

“The fingerprints on your mother were your brother’s.” She exclaimed oddly. “I just came by to see if you were alright. We are searching for him at this very moment.” Shock froze my face, pondering if I had just heard her right. I never had a brother, even though I desired one.

“What brother?” I questioned, looking out the window. “I don’t have one.” Confusion twisted her face at my statement, almost like she didn’t believe me. Smiling warmly, she patted me on the shoulder, and left the room awkwardly. Yawning, my bare feet padded against the sterile hospital to the old window. A tall brown haired man with copper eyes stood outside on the lush grass, holding a machete. Red liquid dripped on the ground.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.