Horror logo

Paranormal Horror Stories

Dealing with the supernatural.

By Manuel SanzPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Paranormal

On a road trip from New Hampshire to Florida, I had to stop at a hotel to sleep overnight when I was about halfway there. The hotel was an old and somewhat dilapidated establishment that rested off the highway on a quiet road. There were only two cars in the parking lot, indicating that there were not many guests. The lady at the front desk was very robotic and seemed bored with her job, fitting the atmosphere of the hotel perfectly. The lobby was full of tacky chairs and tables that one would expect to find put out on the curb.

The wallpapers were all dated and equally tacky. However, I was not staying there for luxury, just for the night and for the convenience. It was late when I checked in, so when I got to the room, all I did was take out my toothbrush and brush my teeth before jumping into the hotel bed. I turned out the lamp next to the bed and tried to go to sleep, not looking forward to the long day of driving I had ahead of me the next day.

Suddenly, there was a knock at the door. I looked at the bedside clock to be sure that it was almost midnight. I went to the door and looked through the peephole. Apparently, the peephole didn't work, though, because I couldn't see out into the hallway through it. All I saw was black. I looked down at the crack under the door but didn't see any outlines of feet blocking the light. So, I opened the door just a little bit to peek into the hallway. I didn't see anyone standing in front of the door. I opened it fully and then peeked down both sides of the hallway. It was clear, so I suddenly questioned if someone in this relatively vacant hotel was pranking me. I shut the door, locked it with the bolt this time, went to lay back down in the bed, but then it happened again - a knock at the door.

This time, I jumped out of the bed, ran to the door, and checked the peephole again. Shockingly, all I saw was the empty hallway outside. But it hit me this time - I could actually see through the peephole. I bolted the door and opened it. No one was there. I looked down both sides of the hallway again, and there was no one.

This is where I drew the line. I proceeded to retrieve the key to my room and approached the lady at the front desk. I politely informed her that someone had been repeatedly knocking on my door and requested her assistance in identifying the culprit by checking the surveillance cameras. To my disappointment, she calmly informed me that there were no cameras in the hallways. Her reaction did not align with my expectations, as she appeared unconcerned with my situation. In a composed manner, she mentioned that there was only one other guest in the entire building and then simply stared at me blankly.

I found her response inadequate in acknowledging my concern and was unsure of what she expected me to say. It was evident that she would be of no assistance, so I left her and returned to my room. Once inside, I securely locked the door with the bolt and decided to drown out any potential disturbances by putting on my headphones and playing a ten-hour sleep relaxation video from YouTube. This not only aided in my sleep but also blocked out any future sounds from the individual who was causing me trouble. I managed to work for a while, but eventually, I shifted from lying on my side to lying on my back. As I glanced around the room, my gaze froze upon the corner.

I attempted to get a closer look at what I believed I was seeing. Astonishingly, it appeared to be a colossal humanoid figure, approximately ten feet tall, standing in the corner with its head reaching the ceiling. The moment this image registered in my mind, a sudden wave of horror surged through my body. I swiftly leaped across the bed to switch on the lamp, but when the room illuminated, there was nothing present in that corner. I sat there, my heart pounding at an alarming rate of approximately 200 beats per minute. After giving myself a few minutes to calm down, I turned off the light and lay back down.

I still had the headphones in my ears, playing the relaxation video. It provided some degree of calmness, albeit temporary. However, I couldn't resist the urge to sit back up and examine the room once more. To my astonishment, there appeared to be a humanoid figure in the corner, standing at a height of approximately ten feet. Intrigued, I cautiously crawled towards the edge of the bed to obtain a closer look. Suddenly, a wave of fear washed over me as I observed what seemed to be a long arm moving at its side. In a panic, I swiftly lunged to switch on the lamp, only to find the corner empty once again. Without hesitation, I swiftly gathered my belongings and promptly departed the room. Handing the key to the woman at the front desk, I informed her of my early check-out without receiving any response. Storming out of the hotel's front door, I continued driving until I stumbled upon another hotel where I finally managed to fall into a deep sleep, undisturbed by any supernatural occurrences.

supernatural

About the Creator

Manuel Sanz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Manuel SanzWritten by Manuel Sanz

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.