Horror logo

Out Of Place

Chapter 1: Awakening

By Alyson BainPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Not my music

A light. Bright enough to give me a headache as I slowly cracked open my eyelids. Everything hurt, and there was so much whiteness around me. White cabinets, counters, and a single white door, barely visible against the walls.

“What the hell,” I muttered, slowly sitting up and looking around. None of this made sense. Where was I? Last thing I remember I was… I was… what was I doing?

“CODE BLUE: SUBJECT 48 HAS WOKEN. I REPEAT, SUBJECT 48 HAS WOKEN.”

“Subject 48?” I whispered, disturbed. I was a subject? For experiments? How long had I been here?

A click from the door alerted me to the presence of guards. Backing up, my eyes darted around frantically, searching for any other option, a weapon, a way out, anything. But I found none as the guards entered the room and saw me against the wall.

“Sir, we’re going to need you to calm down. I know this seems scary, but…” The guard continued. I blocked out his voice, watching his hands as he slowly reached behind himself. The second guard was edging toward me from the side, not realizing that I could see him. Who were they? Who was I?

The first guard was now holding what looked like a… a dart gun? I had to squint to see, everything was so blurry. The whiteness was making my head hurt.

“W-where am I?”

“Somewhere safe, I can assure you.”

“If I’m safe, why is he getting closer and why do you have a gun?” My question made the second guard stop moving and stand straight. He knows I can see him now. The first guard just smiled.

“So, you can see him this time? How clearly?” He seemed… excited? Should I not have been able to see him?

I straightened up, glancing between the two of them. “Who are you?”

The first guard smiled again. “Dodging the question? That’s ok. We can play.”

“Jay, you’re going to get in trouble again.” The second guard finally spoke. His voice was slightly gravely, like he didn’t talk often and just making noise was hurting his vocal cords. “You know the boss doesn’t like it when you do this. We’re just supposed to calm the patients and go back to standing guard until the Doctor gets here.”

“Doctor? Doctor who?” I need out. I need to get out of here.

“Nevermind that.” I turned back to the first guard, mind set on getting out, even if it meant fighting. My chances were slim, and I knew that, but I didn’t know what kind of alternative I had. They had guns, or at least dart guns. I couldn’t see any other weapons on either man, but they could have them hidden. “All that you need to know is that you are safe, and not in any dang-“

“Mr. Ulire, that is enough. Mr. Lance, so nice to see you’ve finally woken up.” A female entered this time, directing her last question towards me. My last name is Lance?

“I want to leave.” I could barely speak the words, but they finally emerged. The person I could only assume to be the Doctor nodded and smiled gently, but it didn’t match her. She wasn’t safe, none of this was. I felt like I was losing my mind and I didn’t know what was the right move.

“I know you’re confused. From the way you’re reacting, I’m going to assume your memories aren’t making themselves known, and you have no clue who we are or where you are. Am I correct?” I nodded. It’s not like she didn’t know already.

My headache was slowly fading away, and details were coming easier. I could see that the men were armed, and that my chances of escaping had just fallen to zero. My hands were shaking, just enough to make me look scared. And I was, but it was justifiable. I think.

“Why don’t you sit back down, Mr. Lance, and we’ll talk. I’m sure you want this to go quickly so we’ll be out of your hair.” The Doctor motioned towards the bed as she spoke, an attempt to persuade me to cooperate.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.