Horror logo

One More Time Through the Looking Glass

Stand Perfectly Still

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished about a year ago 8 min read
19

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

Or was it? To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure. The whole room was tilting the way everything seems to spin when you’re dizzy. A hollow warmth began to enfold me & a brushing tingle swept around both sides of my face, alerting me to the fact that I was close to passing out.

The mirror was my focal point. As long as I could remain fixed on it, there was a chance I could endure.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m accustomed to this sort of thing. Ever since I was a child, I’ve had these “standing blackouts.” Something happens. My hand gets stuck in a car door. I sprain my ankle. I donate blood & get up too soon. Usually, it’s something as simple as rising, whether from a seated or crouching position. The warmth softly creeps around me, I feel that tingle, & my vision slowly fades from my peripherals inward until I can’t see a thing. But I’m still awake & aware of where I am—

…as long as I remain perfectly still.

If I turn or move in any way that stirs the fluid in those eustachian tubes, I’m gone & commence to falling. At first, as my vision returns, it's as though I’m looking through a lens that turns everything sort of wonky, sharper & brighter than things should be, forcing me to squint in order to focus through the light.

Oh, & I’ve been told that my face goes extremely pale, as though all the blood has been drained from it. That was the afternoon I sprained my ankle playing tennis. But the blackout didn’t occur until evening when I was standing at a pay phone outside my dorm room talking with my parents. As my vision returned, I made my way back to the room where a bunch of friends were gathered. When I got to the doorway, they took one look & decided I was going to the emergency room.

It still took a couple of decades to learn I had orthostatic hypotension. For those unfamiliar with the term, it’s a condition where the muscles in the legs don’t always respond in a timely fashion to keep blood flowing to the brain. It’s not uncommon, though the two nurses in charge of my tilt table test said they’d never personally witnessed a positive reaction. (Somehow it feels good knowing that I was “their first.”) It can be serious. My doctor told me that they’d had to resuscitate a teenager just the week before. In my case, they only needed to lay me down, get me rehydrated, & wait for me to wake up. It’s fairly manageable.

Still, it’s important to be aware of when it’s coming on. It’s never happened to me while driving, at least not completely, though there have been a few times when I’ve kept my foot poised over the brake. Remember, should it happen: Brake. Pull to the shoulder or even ditch. Stop & wait for it to pass.

Fortunately, & as previously mentioned, I’ve never had to do that. Still, it’s best to have a strategy.

In other circumstances, I’ve developed a short list of rules for me to follow:

If seated, remain seated.

If lying down, just let it wash over. If necessary, sleep through it.

If standing, remain perfectly still until the blackout passes. You’re still awake. You know where you are. You can hear whatever is going on around you. You just can’t see at the moment. Wait. Be patient. It’ll come back.

Of course, if you’re moving or turning around at the time, forget it. You’re going down, at least part way. (Usually, the very fact that my head is falling allows the blood to return to the brain & I’m able to catch myself. Only rarely have I actually hit the floor beyond going down to my knees.)

So, I wasn’t too concerned when the room went wonky, the mirror began to twist, & everything became so bright it was hard to see. It had happened before. It would happen again. Just hold onto the sink, focus on the mirror, stay perfectly still, & wait.

The only thing that struck me as odd was that my vision never faded. Oh well, maybe I was getting better at this.

There was also the growing realization that this didn’t seem to want to pass. Each time I thought it was subsiding, another wave would drag me under.

That had happened before as well, but it meant additional precautions had to be taken. At such times, my mind does not function well. Things seem perfectly logical that in reality make no sense whatsoever. I forget what I am doing or even thinking. My mind goes blank & I simply stare off into space for a period of time without a single thought in my head.

In such a condition, one additional rule should be followed, an addendum to the counsel “stay perfectly still”:

Beware of trying to do anything. Even sitting down, taking your time, checking yourself & every action you make repeatedly, chances are you’re going to have to do at least part of it over. And always remember, some mistakes are irreversible.

That’s where I was. Standing in the bathroom. Holding onto the sink. Focusing on the mirror while it & everything else spun oozily around me. Existing in a space where everything & nothing—whether sound, sense or sight—made sense, all at the same time.

If my reflection was there, I could no longer find it. What I did hear, see & feel were more like impressions than anything else. Memories, sodden with guilt & regret. Times when I had been cruel. Instances where I had failed both others & myself. Opportunities missed. Relationships forgotten, broken & lost. People & situations I had misunderstood to ill effect. All of them flying through the mirror & swirling around me.

And then I saw her, more in mind than with my eyes. Furious with my older brother, screaming wildly through the house, threatening every sort of curse & damnation upon him one could imagine, all because our oldest brother had shown her the magazines the other possessed.

It seemed that nothing, neither family nor brother, nor house, nor any one of us would survive that apocalyptic night as she ran from floor to floor, room after room, magazines in hand & threatening every consequence she could conjure, all at the top of her lungs.

The words of Dante Alighieri seemed ideally suited for the night. “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here.” The world was collapsing all around us. There was no future, no tomorrow I could see.

And then, magazines still in hand, she turned her eyes upon me. From some space between the mirror & my mind, she began to accuse me. Every magazine, picture or poster I ever secreted away. Everything I ever purchased in the middle of the night or away from home, praying that no one would see. Every site I had visited on my computer, every scene I’d downloaded. All of it vomited out before me, rushing through, tearing at the very fabric of my soul.

J’Accuse…!

Stand perfectly still. Just hold onto the sink & stand still. It will pass.

A tightness gripped my chest as my breathing grew shallow & rapid. I clenched my jaw & willed myself to remain upright, focused on the mirror & all that came with it. My grip on the sink was so rigid I thought it might break. My left arm went numb. My right ached with a pain radiating from fingertips all the way through my back. Sweat dripped into my eyes, stinging like a flagellum’s stripes scraping through iris, pupil & white.

Stand. Just keep on standing.

My mother’s accusations, now turned to condemnation, continued ripping through me as the room shifted, tilting fitfully until my body was parallel with the floor, the swimming depths of the mirror directly overhead.

No! I was still standing! I hadn’t fallen! I knew where I was. It was the room that moved, not me! Not me!

The rippling surface of the mirror grazed my hair, then eased over scalp, forehead, eyes, ears & nose, continuing its descent until it contained me whole.

The pain began to subside. I could not tell whether my eyes had cleared or not. Everything was dark. I no longer knew whether I was standing, seated, or lying down. I had no frame of reference by which to tell.

I waited for the light to appear, you know, the one at the end of the tunnel we were told to expect. It never came.

And then the darkness began to fade, from my peripherals inward, until even it was gone.

supernaturalpsychological
19

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Great story! Holy moly, so good. I’m not familiar with this condition so I was riveted. The open ending is intriguing, too. You could definitely continue this in a longer piece.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Awesome storytelling!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Kelley Stead12 months ago

    Wow, this was gripping. Loved the imagery throughout. And “jaccuse!” I’m a huge fan of those little snippets inserted from a conscious thought. Wish there was a little more at the end. Was it death? Or just a medical blackout?

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    Lord, I hope I'm never that scary as a mother!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Well, I thoroughly enjoyed that one too. This line was clever and unique: 'Sweat dripped into my eyes, stinging like a flagellum’s stripes scraping through iris, pupil & white.' That's a great metaphor very unlike anything I've ever encountered, and I also like the alliteration you slipped in on top of it! Using the hypotension was also a new way to approach the mirror challenge from an outside angle (pun unintended, but I'll take it anyway)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great story. Well done. Also, I've never heard of that condition, but pretty sure I might have it. lol. I broke my toe one time. It hurt like hell until I passed out. Jammed my hand in a car door - you guess it, passed out.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great intense story!

  • Furqanabout a year ago

    Well written.

  • Whoaaa, I've never heard of orthostatic hypotension before. Your story was very suspenseful and gripping. I loved it!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Well done psychological inner monologue with a decidedly creepy ending. Nice job!- Pernoste

  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    Dear Randy, I just read your article "One More Time Through the Looking Glass" and it left me feeling impressed by your ability to convey your experience with orthostatic hypotension so vividly. Your description of standing blackouts and the way your body reacts to them is both interesting and informative. I appreciate how you have shared your personal strategies to manage the condition, particularly your rule to remain perfectly still until the blackout passes. It's also a good reminder to always have a strategy in place in case it happens while driving. Thank you for sharing your story and providing valuable insights into a condition that many of us may not be aware of. Your writing style is engaging and kept me interested until the very end. I look forward to reading more of your work.

  • Nice storytelling ✨❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.