Horror logo

Nuckalevee, Demon of hell

Through the mirror to evil

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago ā€¢ Updated 11 months ago ā€¢ 6 min read
6
Nuckalevee

Within the mirror I beheld a reflection that wasn't my own. I knew what the hellish terrible vision standing in front of me, staring back from the darkness of the mirror represented. It was the demon inside of me that wanted to scourge the earth.

It was a Nuckalevee.

A unique and solitary creature possessing extensive evil powers, it can influence events throughout the world. It's breath was toxic and could wither crops, cause a drought and inflict disease and plague upon humans and livestock. The smell of burning seaweed infuriates him, driving him into a fit of rage, and the only person who can stop him is the Mither O'the Sea.

It is strongly built and stands nearly 6 feet tall at the horsehead, and about 9 feet at the humanoid head. It has a weight of about 2000 pounds. It resembles a horse whose legs are part fin, like a fish, and has a single giant eye which burns with a red flame. A human with a large head is merged along the back of the horse's body, like a large centaur.

I had progressed into the depths of witchcraft and sorcery to conjure this hellish creature. Now I will use it to exact revenge, to reclaim the power and wealth stolen from me years ago. They will pay. I turned from the mirror of the handsomely well kept bathroom, the thing galloped down unto the floor, walking awkwardly by my side. I stepped briskly, the deed had to be done quickly.

The hired guards drew their pitiful guns. Nuckalevee, I will say Nucka, saves me time, grabbed the two guards and ripped them in two, drinking their blood as he flings their worthless carcass aside. Three more come dashing down the stairs, I hear their bones crack as they scream in agony. Clients are running everywhere, they die as they open their mouths to scream. I don't look back as screams echo and blood stain my immaculate clothing. Some try to escape. I beckon to the security guard on duty to press the lockdown button, he dies as he does so, no second thoughts to be entertained of opening the doors again. No one escapes tonight. Nucka is having the time of his life. He hates humans.

Nucka opens his mouth and breathes the most putrid breath ever breathed and plagues, diseases and mayhem ensued. Boils, evil smelling pus and gangrenous blood dripped from the bodies of anyone in his presence. I was immune since I had summoned him, and technically I was an extension of him and myself.

In my hand was the burning scent of seaweed which infuriates the beast and drives him to even higher states of madness than he was known to be capable. People writhed upon the floor where they had fallen in agony. He stepped upon and over their suffering forms in his rush to inflict suffering and pain.

We mowed down everyone in our path, my main targets were cowering in their offices. The ones who had stolen that which I had worked so hard to build. The company was mine, all twenty three floors of success, wealth and power, Mine.

By Andrea De Santis on Unsplash

Nucka lit into the door of Brandon, the Biggest thief of them all.

"Please, for God's sake Marianna, what are you doing. What is that thing. What do you want"? Really, imbecilic questions to which he already knew the answer. I gestured and Nucka struck.

"I want my company back, you 'expletive' thieves. I will have it all since by name is still on the list of partners, I may not have any voting powers now, thanks to you all, but once you are all dead, I will be all that is left". I now could summon the powers of hell to make it happen.

The horse's head bit Brandon's head clean off, blood squirted onto the windows of the 23rd floor. He chewed the hands and feet, spitting out the bones, dropped the rest of him onto the floor and followed me out.

By Alexandre Boucey on Unsplash

"Good Nucka". I said, patting the blood soaked body of the horse/man-thing.

Jason, George and Clark had hidden in the executive bathroom of the 23rd floor. They cringed, cried and begged as the double doors splintered and Nucka galloped in, severing arteries and ripping off heads from their bodies.

Oh, the amounts of blood covering the walls. I was now sated, my enemies were dead

"Go Nucka, finish everyone off". I could hear the police sirens screaming, sounding far away as my brain adjusted to reality and the present.

Nucka summoned demons from the mirror, so many I could not count. They drank the blood and ate the souls and bodies of the dead and dying. Barely anything human was traceable or visible when the police arrived.

When the lawmen finally pulled up out front, and the sirens stopped, we were long inside the mirror again.

Nuckalevee had returned to hell after I thanked him profusely. The demons were quite excited and did not go back willingly. Nucka threatened them with punishment of human weakness if they ticked him off. They gladly returned home.

I had washed and changed in one of the bathrooms. I had planned for every eventuality you see.

I came running through the crowd, crying and bemoaning my unfortunate colleagues. What happened, is anyone alive, who could have done this terrible thing? I was most sincere in asking the authorities to find who had done the horrendous deed. They promised to do all that they could to bring the perpetrators to justice. Please do, I asked as tears rolled down my cheeks. They covered me with a comforting blanket.

All the cameras had been disabled or ripped out as we went about our murderous rampage. Even if computer or social media images had been sent, no one would have seen me. Only a few could see both Nucka and I at the same time.

On the radio I heard reports of a few tidal waves, tsunamis and hail in August. The far reaching repercussions of the creature's power had spread farther than I had expected. I wonder if more people had died.

That is when I saw Marsha Blakely staggering out of the building covered in blood. She looked directly at me. Marsha always did have the gift of second sight. I ran to her hugging her.

"You can either be a very rich woman, or a very dead woman. You choose".

She stared from me to the cops, from the cops back to me a few times, I wonder which she will choose.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

...............................................................................................................

Orkney folklore is a tangled web of interconnected threads, combining elements of Norse, Scottish and Celtic mythology. There is absolutely no doubt that the impact of the Norse arrival on the islands was considerable. Their folklore fused with the indigenous folklore of the time, creating the Orcadian tales and lore we know today; folklore with a distinctive Celtic/Pictic base unto which many strong Norse elements were grafted. The Nuckelavee or Nuckalevee is a horse-like demon from Orcadian folklore that combines human and equine elements. It is the most malevolent of the demons, without any redeeming characteristics. In summer months it was restrained in the depths of the ocean by the deity known as 'The Mither O'the Sea'.

urban legend
6

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    I'm a big fan of the nuckelavee. Such a creepy and horrifying monster that I wish to not be on the wrong side of. Yet, sadly I am human, so I already am. Oh well, c'est la vie. I'm assuming that this was for the mirror challenge that Vocal had a while back. Nicely done. Though how come when I read "nucka" I'm hearing Stinkmeaner from the Boondocks yell it at me like it's another n-word. I swear, You did that on purpose Novel. "You can either be a very rich woman, or a very dead woman. You choose". I'm thinking, well, even if Marianna gets locked behind bars she'll probably get someway to go through the mirrors again and hide away until she can live a lavish life of luxury again. Though, it's not like she'll have that forever. That Orcadian Horseman will probably be her chauffer to hell, whether she likes it or not. Besides, hell's made for monsters. There are few humans that do become monsters, but those wish for death like a child whining to be comforted by a parent. Besides, if Marianna does let Marsha live, who's to say that Marsha wouldn't channel the Mither O'the Sea. Then not just two chairwomen would be fighting, but so would two supernatural beings, one a deity and one a demon. My only gripe with this is the thumbnail. I knew that it looked familiar. Even if it were copyright free, You still have to properly source the artwork. If You were to Google Image the term "Nuckelavee" You get that picture that pops up with a link to the Myth and Folklore Wiki. Upon seeing the watermark You end up finding that it's by the artist ULDERiCO FiORETTi on a place called blogspot dot com. One more Google search and we find the artist's blog post, and a scroll down to 2007 shows their artwork of the Nuckelavee. Even if it's impossible to get the permission of the artist at least try to provide some form of source reference for the imagery. No, I'm not targeting You. I do this to any piece of work that I read that has work that's not properly sourced.

  • I need a Nuckalevee! Please teach me how to summon him! He will be the answer to everything. I wanna be like Marianna in your story. It's just so nice!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Fantastic horror. Very well done.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Iā€™m simply blown away by your creativity! You did an amazing job setting the scene from the beginning and really pulling the reader into the story! It was thrilling, engaging and hypnotic in a way that I felt compelled to read every word! This was bone chilling and a terror filled read. I love the concept that this creature is like a pet a to the narrator but also more than just a pet, a well trained weapon. Something like an extremely aggressive and terrifying dog. Your descriptive language in this piece is inspiring! You do such a great job to really play on the sense of the reader and immerse them within your story!

  • Erika Ravnsborgabout a year ago

    Wow! Very descriptive! I don't think I want to look in a mirror now.

  • Pamela Walsh-Holteabout a year ago

    OMG I will have nightmares! Excellent horror story! Good Job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.