Horror logo

Nightmares that are induced by sound and feeling cold

Strange dream triggered by what is going on in my bedroom have baffled me for years.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
1
Nightmares that are induced by sound and feeling cold
Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

Triggered by the sound of a fan

I have been having sleep paralysis and night terrors since the age of 10 although they no longer happen as frequently as they once did. There is also a new occurrence that has taken place at least 4 times during the past 5 years which I describe as a nightmare. I know I cannot be the only person having this phenomenon because there is nothing new under the sun according to the wise King Solomon.

In 2019 the air conditioning went out and my husband and I had a big box fan we were using in our bedroom. My spouse was watching TV and I fell asleep on the bed beside him. I could hear the sound of the fan running and the voices on the television as I fell asleep. I began dreaming I was alone in a room in a house I did not recognize when I began feeling this overwhelming sense of doom and gloom.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Nowhere to run

I tried to run to the door but it shut on its own and the feeling of evil became stronger. I could sense something other world in the room with me and knew I needed to get out. I grew up in a community where we were taught in church to call on the Name of Jesus. I began saying "Get out in the Name of Jesus over and over and nothing happened then I woke up. The fan had made the room ice cold and I was on top of the cover with my arms exposed and chilled to the bone.

A second and third time I had a similar dream only it took place in a different room in nightmares 2 and 3. I saw a figure who was tall enough to reach the ceiling and in the second occurrence, it was wrapped like a mummy from head to toe in red and white bandages like a candy cane. In dream 3 the wrapping was multicolored. The being was blocking the door and glaring at me in both nightmares and I gave the same command I had in the first encounter and woke up. This time the air conditioning was really cold and again I was on the bed with no cover at all and felt this ungodly chill all over my body.

By Andrew George on Unsplash

What is the connection?

The fourth incident took place about a month ago. I was sleeping downstairs where I could hear the furnace running. Again I dreamed I was alone in a room which was different than the first 3 encounters. Again there was that overwhelming fight or flight feeling and sense of impending doom. I don't see anything this time but the door closes before I can get through it Again I began saying "Get out in the Name of Jesus" over and over.

Even though this time it was the heat on and not the air-conditioning or a fan, I could hear the furnace running as I was dreaming. When I woke up I had no cover over my shoulders which were very cold even though the bed was near the heat vent. I have no idea what the connection is between being cold and hearing a fan or furnace. Why would this cause me to have similar nightmares each time?

By Daniil Perunov on Unsplash

An answer must be somewhere out there

I have researched online and shared my encounter in support groups for sleep paralysis and night terrors but so far no one else has said they experienced anything similar. I do recall decades ago my younger brother told us that he would dream the devil was chasing him and in a tune similar to the Marine's Hymn he would sing "In the Name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth Satan I bind you" but the devil kept chasing him until he woke up. We used to laugh so hard at his tale and his funny song.

These unsettling dreams would seem to imply that our faith in good over evil is not strong but my brother and I have had situations while awake where we saw miracles. Still, I wonder why the combination of the sound, of the heater, a fan, or air conditioning while sleeping with no cover on my shoulders leads to these similar nightmares where I wake up feeling so cold.

psychological
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.