Horror logo

Nightmare in the Hills: Encounter with the Unseen

Horror

By Shamshath BegamPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1

I live in a pretty secluded area in my town; my house is on a narrow, winding, hilly road where the houses are all pushed back from the street and creep into the woods beyond. My house sits at the bottom of an gradually sloping hilly area covered in trees, in which I would always embark make-believe adventures as a kid.

If there's one thing I'll remember about home it's the gorgeous sunsets and early evenings that could be viewed from way up in the hills in the early autumn. But the beauty only lasts so long until the dark starts to fill in the edges of the landscape and that natural fear starts to set in. So we would hurry back to the house just as dinner was being served.

One evening in late October me and my sister were watching a blood-red sun descending especially quickly beyond the horizon, and the day birds had just stopped singing, which you don't notice when it's there, but the silence becomes strong when it's gone.

I feel a little nervous but I don't know why. I feel really far from home.

"Come on we gotta go."

"Ok, what's the matter?"

"I don't know, let's just hurry."

We start stumbling down the hill, breaking branches and rustling leaves, and everything already starts getting dark. I knew something was wrong, and I just focused on pushing myself in a straight line down the hill. I could hear my sister's breathing become more rapid as we came into a

clearing. Then I froze in place. Below our quick breath I heard a sustained high-pitched wheeze that slowly started oscillating, as if it was laughter. The sound was coming from the other end of the clearing, and it took all of my will to focus my eyes to see some unimaginable horror that lay ahead, but all I could see was a large tree with a lot of branches. I was relieved for a second, but then I shifted my gaze upward, and there, gripping the canopy of the trees like a monkey was suspended a huge black stallion horse with white eyes. It was able to stay in the tree because it had giant sinewy human-like hands and feet, with long fingers that made it seem almost alien. It was smiling at me, wheezing, and it slowly rose in volume. I started screaming and grabbed my sister's hand, pulling her in another direction, hoping that if I just kept going down I could find my way back to the house. Behind me I heard a huge thump and then a rapid, rhythmic, fleshy slapping on the ground, which I could only assume was the horse running after us. I heard trees breaking and looked back to see him like a

track runner sprinting after us with red veins now pulsing in his white eyes

and a smile that revealed a mouth missing teeth, with flecks of blood on

them.

Good thing we were already near the house when we saw him, because he

could've easily caught up with us. I didn't know if being in our house with

my parents would actually save us, but I picked up my pace when I saw the

kitchen light through the window and burst through the front door, still

gripping my sister's hand. I slammed the door shut and ran to my mom
screaming.

"Honey, it's okay, what's the matter are you hurt?"

"Mom there's some weird thing out there, mom, mom, please believe me,

it's gonna come in. Call the police or something!"

"What are you talking about? Did you see a deer? Or god forbid a bear?"

Thank you reading my stories

Then more like, comment and share more than story create to helpful

travelslasherpsychologicalmonster
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohamed Nasrudeen6 days ago

    Super

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.