Horror logo

My Mom wasn't making it up after all. ...

Horror

By Shamshath BegamPublished about a month ago 3 min read
2

So a while back my Mom lived in this house on Brindley Mountain (Alabama). The landlord to the place was super anal about making sure they did no remodeling or repairs...he wanted NOTHING changed. It was odd to say the least.

PAfter a while my mom and her BF started saying they thought the place was haunted by the ghost of a small girl. They said sometimes they would see the shadow of a girl walk from room to room. Or hear playing in the back when nobody was back there.

And sometimes it sounded like a small child was sobbing but couldn't tell where it was from.

Me being an atheist at the time, I kinda blew it off. I was like "yeah...right...haha"

So anyway. This was towards the end of me and Ex's relationship. When we split up, I started living with my mom until I got on my feet. We shared custody of our daughter, Alexis, 50/50.

So one week she'd stay with me until Friday, and then she'd go to my Ex's until the following Friday, and then she'd come back with me. She was about 2 going on 3 at the time.

It was Saturday night and I was on the computer. It's probably like 2 in the morning. I'm just surfing music.

The computer desk was in the kitchen facing a wall, and on that same wall was the doorway that led to the den and the bedrooms, so if anyone came out of bed to get something from the kitchen then they would walk right past me.

Alexis was always getting up in the night and getting into trouble. She'd raid the fridge or knock something over while climbing up on something. She liked to get up in the night and raid the kitchen because she knew everyone was asleep and she could get away with it. So as I said before, tonight I happened to be up at 2 am on the computer.

I see Alexis sneak into the kitchen with my peripheral vision and she froze when she saw me. And just stood there. I didn't look at her or pay her attention.

I figured she had seen me...she knows she's caught....hopefully she will go back to bed and go to sleep without me having to make a big deal of it.

So she stands there for about 3 minutes, and I can see her the whole time but I make a point not to look at her so she will just go back to bed. She eventually turns and walks back towards the bedroom. It

was dark in the room...but I could still see her turn and leave.

Everything was dead silent after that. So after about 15 minutes, I got that feeling in my gut that I

need to check on her because she's probably up to no good...in 15 minutes I should have heard her climb back in bed or rustle through toys. Hearing absolutely nothing normally meant she was trying to be quiet for a reason.

Every parent gets that sick feeling in their stomach when their kid is up to no good, and I got that feeling so I got up to check on her. I stood up and walked into the next room that led to the bedrooms. And it was pitch black...couldn't see a thing. And that's when it hit me...

Alexis was with my Ex that night, not with me. I had been used to her being there all week and it just slipped my mind. So the girl I saw, wasn't her...

Thank for reading

More than like and comment i will create new story engraged

psychologicalslashermonsterfiction
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohamed Nasrudeen7 days ago

    Like it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.