Horror logo

My Top Ten Horror Movies

My favorite movie genre is horror, so here are MY top ten movies!

By Bunny Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

10. Sinister. This movie sort of threw me off at first. It stars Ethan Hawke, who I wasn’t used to seeing in Horror, but I was interested in seeing what he could do. I knew he was a good actor, so why the hell not? The movie has him as a true crime writer, and he moves his family from place to place for his writing. Honestly, I feel connected to him as a character because I would totally do what he does. Move into the murder house to write a story about it? Hell yes. It nearly lost me part way through as it dragged part of the plot, but it picked back up quick enough. Honestly, it’s a twisty roller coaster of a ride and I loved it. Too bad the second one didn’t make such a big splash; this would have been a great franchise.

9. Orphan. When you talk about horror movie top ten lists, I can’t find a one that doesn’t include this movie. It’s got the perfect villain in it and the perfect plot. Everything about it from start to finish is just horror movie gold. The little innocent girl, isn’t so innocent? I’m so down. I will watch this movie every single time it’s mentioned, or on TV. It will never get old and it’s a great starter movie if you’re just getting into the genre.

8. Hush. Home invasion story with a twist. I love seeing this step in horror where they don’t use the norms to define a character. We have a main character who is deaf, and a man who comes to her home to kill her because he thinks she heard him murder her neighbors. The whole movie is a classic in the making (or is it already a classic, I’m not sure how they market classic horror movies). Also, the woman who mains in this? Yeah, she totally plays in Haunting of Hill House, and that show is also bomb.

7. The Conjuring. The movie that started the Ed and Lorraine Warren franchise of movies. I remember watching the trailer for this movie when it first came out. I was convinced the trailer, like most horror movie trailers, showed the scary parts of the movie so there would be no point in going to see it in the theater. I’m glad that I had decided against that idea and went to the theater anyways. The movie’s trailer did nothing for the movie itself. I knew the story before the movie, having seen it in various ghost story shows for years. But seeing it like that? Oh boy. While the rest of the franchise might be lack luster, this movie is well worth it’s spot on MY list.

6. Child’s Play. Don’t laugh. Yes, I know Chucky is a doll, and he shouldn’t be scary. He isn’t. He’s hilarious, and it’s humorous that he’s been around since the 80s. They even gave this little doll his own TV show (which was amazing by the way). But nothing comes close to that first scene in this movie. Child’s Play was what made me really fall for the genre (even though Hellraiser made me fear it). So, what if he’s a doll, that doll is gonna gut every single person that comes across his past, and show no remorse when doing it.

Nearly made the list, but not quite. These few horror movies still get a nod because, let’s face it folks: I love them too.

Host. This little 90-minute Shudder exclusive at first didn’t seem like much. It’s made so you’re watching a bunch of people through their webcams. I can see right off the bat, that yeah, you’re wondering why this is a rewatch movie for me. Well because the spooks keep you on your toes. They come out of nowhere and honestly, just try to find it if you can. Shudder itself is full of good stuff and it’s worth the price of a subscription. Even if you just do it for Halloween (when they do all their greatest stuff).

Hell House LLC and Paranormal Activity Franchise. The “found footage” genre of horror movie is hit or miss with me, but these two franchises for some reason keep me entertained. Especially Hell House. It’s a little trilogy of horror movies set around a haunted house. Not really anything big, but you really have to watch all three movies to get the whole plot. That’s what makes it special. With the PA franchise, you can maybe watch one or two and be done with it. But you’ll still get some fun out of these. If you can remember back to the Blair Witch days, found footage has come a very long way since then.

Finally, the last runner up, and honestly this should have been number ten but I couldn’t do it. Hellraiser. You see this is the movie that got me into horror, and to this day I can’t watch this movie without having nightmares. There’s just something about Pinhead and his minions that just give me the chills. That’s the greatest thing about the movie though, the villain isn’t someone you can just brush off. It’s literal hell watching it, and I’m sort of glad he’s made it into the mainstream with his playable character status in Dead by Daylight now.

5. Session 9. I first came upon this movie in another Top Ten list. I wasn’t sure if I’d like it, but I thought I’d give it a shot. It’s up on Netflix, and if you have access, go and watch it for yourself. It’s about a group of guys who are cleaning up an old asylum for their town. Don't sound scary right? But boy does it get deep. It’s a mental ride to hell for the group of them, and for the watcher. You’re always trying to figure out which way is up, and I think I like that the most about it.

4. As Above So Below. This movie reminds me of The Da Vinci Code, and I think that’s why I was drawn to it. It’s about a young woman looking to continue her father’s research into the Philosopher’s stone. It’s a fun little trip as they go into the Paris Catacombs to try to follow these notes. If you’ve ever heard of Dante’s Inferno and seem to like that line of horror, this is the movie for you. The movie has all the lines that run through hell itself without bringing in demons or ghosts. It’s all about the people around and what they experience in their mind. Sure, some things happen along the way, but it’s mostly because they are in tunnels that are hundreds of years old. Seriously if you love anything alchemy and horror, watch this movie. You won’t be disappointed.

3. Scream. Ah, the first movie that my parents forbid me from watching. Now remember my father showed me Hellraiser when I was little, but this movie had my mother so scared that she refused to allow me to watch it. Luckily for me, my aunt didn’t see the problem with it and let me stay up late one night and watch it. I’m so glad that she did. As a horror movie geek, this movie is a gem. It sets up some basics of the horror movie genre and breaks that little wall that we’ve all thought about but never seen put into movies (Thank You Randy). The horror movie rules are now a big part of the horror community and it’s because of movies like Scream that showcased them. Okay, so I might also like it because one of the main actors in it is Mathew Lillard (who was also in another good horror movie 13 Ghost – Go watch that if you haven’t yet).

2. It. Talk about classics. Now the one that I’m really going to list is the two-part MOVIE remake, NOT the TV mini-series. Not to knock the mini-series or anything but Bill Skarsgård as Pennywise was amazing and I just can’t see anyone else playing the clown prince of terror anymore. I have seen both movies in theaters, multiple times. Sure, they differ from the book (which is also amazing if you have the time to read it), but what horror movie doesn’t at this point? The visual effects in the second movie blow me away, and then you have the whole first part and the kids… Honestly these movies just blew me away. I actually cried at how good I thought they were.

1. The Babadook. I’d like to start by saying that unless it’s Japanese, I’m not normally one for watching foreign horror. Japanese horror just hits different because they take it way more seriously. I’m not sure how Australia takes horror as a whole, but this movie… I know it didn’t make any money over there and that honestly shocks me. But the movie I seen… I fell in love. I know a lot of people rank this movie in their top ten, and it looks like I’m following the trend but honestly, it just fits. We never get a good look at the monster, which is the best part, and it’s left to your imagination what it really looks like. The mother and son have this relationship that makes you hate it and love it at the same time, and you’re with them for this ride. It’s all mental torture and it’s the best kind. Once you see this movie… You honestly can’t get rid of the Babadook.

Enjoying my lists, reviews, and stories? Check out the rest of my work, share it with your friends, or maybe leave me a small tip. Every little bit helps!

Thanks for reading!

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Bunny

Hello everyone! My name is Bunny (well nickname is anyways - pay no attention to the name behind the curtain). I go by she/her, and am a panromantic asexual. I have a great love for everything comics, horror, and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.