Horror logo

My Real Ghost Stories

Spooky Story Time

By NivariPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
My Real Ghost Stories
Photo by Lan Gao on Unsplash

Do you believe in ghosts?

I have always been fascinated by ghost stories ever since I was a child.

My grandparents told me many of them, but I was never sure if they were real or made-up just to scare me. My friends also told me many thrilling ghost stories that later turned out to be based on horror movies’ plot.

I liked to search for ghost pictures on the Internet and “ghosts caught on tape” kind of videos on YouTube. Also, me and my friends would to go to abandoned haunted old houses and try to communicate with spirits using a pendulum, then run into drunkards instead of ghosts. It was scary and fun.

It’s all fun and games till you really get scared by a ghost.

I don’t believe in ghosts, however I had spooky things happen to me and my friends, or to my family members, that I’m unable to explain to this day.

By Erik Müller on Unsplash

It happened on July 21, 2012.

Me and my friends attended an anime convention, an event for people that like Japanese animation and culture. We were supposed to participate in a Cosplay contest and perform on a stage that day.

I was in a restroom with my sister and two friends, getting ready for the contest: having rehearsals, putting on our costumes and doing make up.

We were nervous and unprepared because we didn’t practice our choreography long enough, and hesitating whether to perform or not.

On top of that, one friend’s costume started falling apart.

None of us wanted to embarrass ourselves on stage in front of thousands of people, but we also didn’t want to disappoint the event hosts.

Suddenly, corridors became quiet and empty, everyone left to see the Cosplay contest or to participate in other activities. We could hear music playing off in the distance and the first contestants were getting on stage.

The tension was increasing with each minute.

The restroom was divided into two rooms. In the first room were two bathroom sinks and a small mirror above them. In the second, tiny room was one toilet and a big window overlooking a graveyard and a church.

Image created by AI tool Leonardo.Ai — the author has the provenance and copyright.

“Should we perform?” We kept asking each other.

Clock was ticking.

The four of us were in the tiny room, but left the door open. The friend, whose costume was breaking, sat on top of the toilet seat and was sewing, while we were all brainstorming.

It was almost our turn to perform.

I was leaning my back against the window, facing the opened door and the room with sinks. Behind my back was the graveyard, my two friends were to my right, and in front of me stood my sister.

We had to decide quick.

“Maybe we shouldn’t — ” One friend started, but didn’t finish.

That’s when I noticed something bouncing off the sink, falling to the ground at high speed and shattering. All of us became still and silent.

Chills ran down my spine.

It was the mirror.

It was hanging on a thick screw hook. I paid attention to it because not long before the mirror smashed itself on the ground I was doing my makeup. There’s no way it could have fallen off the screw hook on its own.

By Umberto on Unsplash

It must have lifted itself off the hook and plummeted to the ground.

We were truly freaked out and took it as a sign to not perform. My sister quickly notified the event hosts that we weren’t able to perform and apoligised.

We cleaned up the mirror and were still shook. We couldn’t comprehend how it could have happened. It seemed unreal, but the four of us experienced it, so we didn’t make it up.

To ease the stress we went to a restaurant and ordered a pizza. However, the sight of the mirror shattering itself was still playing back in my mind.

. . .

One year earlier, in September 2011, a few days before my uncle died, I was sitting in the kitchen and having a meal. I could see from the kitchen into my room. My sister was there, while my mom was with my grandma in her room.

It was a sunny and warm day. Almost all the windows in the house were opened. A gentle breeze was blowing.

I looked in the direction of my room and noticed the door to it was closing itself slowly. I thought that maybe the wind was pushing it. I saw it happen many times. The door would normally close slowly and quietly.

However, suddenly the door shut itself with a bang right in front of my eyes and a big glass window in it shattered into tiny crystals and flew in all directions. Some pieces landed under my feet in the kitchen.

Everyone in the house was shocked.

The wind was blowing, but it wasn’t strong enough to shut the door hard enough to make the whole glass shatter.

By Jilbert Ebrahimi on Unsplash

Has anything like this ever happened to you?

Or maybe…

You saw a ghost?

Feel free to share your story in the comments!

Disclaimer: This poem was originally written by me on Medium.com Here's the LINK

halloweensupernatural

About the Creator

Nivari

I'm a gamer from Poland that writes sometimes. I wrote fanfiction on AO3 in the past.

Likes: Sunsets, travels, sour candy and self-care

Dislikes: Mean people

Subscribe to get notified whenever I post something :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NivariWritten by Nivari

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.