Horror logo

My Favorite Two-Sentence Horror Stories

The best compilation of 30 mini stories to read in the dark.

By Najah MuhammadPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

“It’s safe to come out now sweetie,” Dad said reassuringly, his green eyes shining at me through the gap in the door. He’s been saying that for hours, but that doesn’t change the fact that my father’s eyes are brown.

-

“We found your daughter,” the officer said as he drew an ‘X’ on the map. Then he drew another, and another, and another, and another.

-

I think I might be the most successful serial killer in history. The best part is telling their loved ones we did everything we could.

-

My baby screamed as the water he was dunked in made his skin burn and peel. “That’s never happened before,” the priest said, horrified.

-

“Okay, children, close your eyes and count to ten!” I didn’t want them to see the mushroom clouds in the distance.

-

My daughter won't stop crying and screaming in the middle of the night. I visit her grave, and ask her to stop, but it doesn’t help.

-

The nice man in the van with a puppy, and the candy seemed so excited to give me a ride home when I told him my little brother was there alone waiting for me. I felt bad for lying to him, but my family told me to bring home dinner, and those types of people are so easy to catch.

-

During dinner, she told me she knew my deep, dark secret. As she took a bite of her burger, I knew she was bluffing.

-

Growing up with cats and dogs, I’d gotten used to the sounds of scratching at my door while I slept. Now that I live alone, it’s become much more unsettling.

-

The grinning face stared at me from the darkness beyond my bedroom window. I live on the 14th floor.

-

I slid my hand through the damp hole in the wall. I needed to stroke her hair again before adding the last brick.

-

Working the night shift alone tonight. There is a face in the cellar staring at the security camera.

-

I looked in my rear-view mirror and saw my best friend sitting in the back seat. She passed away seven years ago in a car crash.

-

I sobbed as my daughter begged me not to pull the trigger. It gets harder and harder to kill her each time she returns.

-

I told the genie that for my third and final wish, I wanted my family to be happy. Then I started fading.

-

All my life, my parents have told me not to open the basement door, but I got curious, and disobeyed them. What is that glowing ball in the sky, and why does it hurt my eyes?

-

My wife woke me up to tell me that there was an intruder in the house. My wife was murdered by an intruder 2 years ago.

-

When I finally grabbed her in the darkness, I swam to the surface. It never occurred to me how fast the ice could freeze over.

-

My family moved a lot when I was younger. Every time we saw a picture of me on a telephone pole, we would pack up.

-

I burned the dolls even though my children cried. They didn’t understand my fear, because they assumed I moved the dolls into their beds every night.

-

When we bought the house, I assumed the scratches on the inside of the basement door were from a dog, but the neighbors say the previous owner didn’t have one. This morning, the scratches had multiplied.

-

I spent some time at my wife’s grave today. This woman still thinks I’m digging a pool.

-

I love listening to my wife’s sweet lullabies over the baby monitor. Until I see my wife pull into the driveway.

-

A woman found me in the well, my voice now gone from calling. I thought she came to save me, but she laughed, and came down crawling.

-

“Please put him back,” I whimpered to my husband. “I know you’re struggling, but you can’t keep tucking him into his cot, so please go an rebury him.”

-

I must admit, lucid dreaming really is as amazing as people say. But after two years, I’d like to wake up again.

-

As I closed my eyes and held out my tongue, I heard the priest whisper, “Body of Christ.” I gagged at the taste of blood.

-

It’s been almost a decade since I last saw my mother. And she still reminds me everyday that if I misbehave again, she’ll take my hearing too.

-

As I woke up in the middle of the night, I heard Alexa speak. “OK, the security alarms have been disabled.”

-

Yesterday, I figured out how my curse worked. Only people in danger could see what I wrote.

Part 2 coming soon.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Najah Muhammad

I am currently artist. I used to be a writer, but lost touch with that side of me. I'm using this chance to get that back.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.