Horror logo

Mount Rakutak beautiful Indonesia

Category: True Stories

By RizkiPublished 15 days ago 7 min read
Like

Mount Rakutak, beautiful with its mystical stories Archives Indonesia

Category: True StoriesN

ow I will tell you about my experience when I was at the top of Mount Rakutak with a height of 1954 meters above sea level. This mountain is not very famous, but in my opinion it is better because it will maintain the authenticity and beauty of the mountain. Even though its name is not as resounding as Gede-Pangrango, Ciremai, or Semeru, this mountain has a route whose name makes anyone shudder, namely the Sirotol Mustakim route. People will definitely ask why it is named that way, this route was deliberately given that name because the danger is really real.

A path that was only 40-50cm wide with ravines hundreds of meters deep on either side, I was afraid when I passed it, but a feeling of surrender and wanting to enjoy His creation pushed me along it. This mountain also holds the dark history of the DI/TII rebellion because it was used as a base. Next I will start the story, please listen. The climbing plan that was threatened with failure has finally come true.

There were 5 climbers gathered including me. Our destination is one of the mountains located south of Bandung city, namely Mount Rakutak. A mountain that is rarely climbed by most climbers. How do I know this mountain? I found out when I was still in elementary school. At that time my grandmother had a house at the foot of Mount Wayang, and to reach it you would have to pass Mount Rakutak, it had to be in the distance but very visible. My interest in nature, especially mountains, began to show at that time, until now my interest has not died out. On the day we gathered at our unofficial Basecamp, Mr Ano's residence.

He has a shop that specializes in providing equipment and equipment specifically for mountain climbing. No doubt we often visit just to ask questions or look for things. At 9 pm, the five of us had gathered and the goods had been distributed to our respective carriers. Our preparations seem to be complete and we just have to leave. Our first destination was to transit at my grandmother's house in the Majalaya area to wait for the morning to come. We got there around 11pm. We were welcomed by Uncle Asep, my father's younger brother. He, who knew that we were hungry, immediately prepared dinner. My friends and I, who are still boarding school students, are of course very happy.

Of course it's embarrassing too. After dinner was finished, my 4 friends were like house cats who were so full that they immediately went to sleep. I don't care. Uncle Asep, who had already gone home to his house nearby, left me alone in the living room. The same living room where when I was little my father's younger siblings often scared me, they scared me with scary stories. But now I'm the one who often scares them with my real experiences,

which are different from the stories they make up. Grandma's house is old, people should be afraid. I remember the first time I saw a beautiful woman in the kitchen watching me, she had very clean and white skin with a sharp nose like a Persian princess. Apart from that, there is also a figure with a long neck who likes to stick his head from the roof to under the dining table. Maybe if the rest of my family could see it they would be really scared, but luckily they weren't. They only know from my stories.

In the middle of my daydream I didn't realize that my grandmother had woken up, she came over to me and treated me like I was 7 years old. I'm a little embarrassed for my 4 friends. But that's the love he poured out for his grandson, I finally accepted it. Reasoning that I was tired, I asked him permission to go to bed.

I was lying around and without realizing it I fell asleep. At 5.30 in the morning I woke up to the sound of my cellphone alarm which was said to be scary. I immediately woke them up so that we wouldn't start climbing too late in the morning. After that I took a shower and prayed the morning prayer, not forgetting to pray for safety on my journey this time.

After everyone finished showering and praying, we ate the breakfast that had been provided. My grandmother was holding us back so we could leave a little later in the day. I struggled to explain that I was afraid of being late in the forest too late in the day, thank God he finally understood and allowed it. We set off for Sukarame village which is located right at the foot of Mount Rakutak.

We launched at 7.30 am We arrived at the Sukarame village gate at 9.30 am. After almost 2 hours of traveling in the public transportation, we were finally able to stand up again. It's not a very long time, but while in public transportation we have to support the weight of the carrier, which on average weighs up to 20kg, which is really torturous.

From the village gate we walked along the rice fields and plantations owned by residents until we reached the start of the climb. No joke, it turns out the distance from the village gate to here is a 2 hour drive. Unfortunately, it turns out we got lost and didn't find the forest door. We went here and there trying to find which direction to go, but to no avail.

Finally we decided to rest near a spring which is said to never stop flowing no matter how dry the weather is. While we were resting we were met by a local farmer and asked for directions.

He showed us the direction we should go, but unfortunately we still got lost. Luckily the farmer was kind enough to take us to the ridge we were supposed to go to. After finding the forest door, we encountered no problems. We just had to walk along the track. The track presented can be said to be semi-climbing because of its very steep slope. Even if you just follow the track, it's still difficult because the track is still there. Hopeless? In fact, we are even more enthusiastic. At around 14.30 we arrived at peak 1.

It turned out that the journey from the forest gate to the peak only took approximately 4 hours. We didn't waste time dividing up the tasks. Me and 2 other people built a tent and the rest cooked lunch. While building a tent on top of peak 1, which is only about 3-4 in diameter, I couldn't stop giving thanks for being allowed to see the beautiful nature of Indonesia.

The tent was built facing directly towards the Sirotol Mustakim route, to avoid the wind blowing from the north, I thought. But it seems my decision was wrong, because it led to another experience. After many other activities that didn't feel like we needed to be discussed had passed, as usual we divided our time for night vigils. I got the first time from 11.30 to 1.30 at night.

I stood guard on the terrace of the two tents. While we were having fun chatting, my H rang. Oh, it turned out to be an SMS from Uncle Asep asking if there was anything strange, because he said people were often slaughtered in the past. Unfortunately, I forgot the fact that this mountain was once a silent witness to the massacre of local residents by DI/TII soldiers.

The night was getting late and I started to smell something wrong from the front of the tent, precisely in the Mustakim sirotol route. I started to look up outside the tent terrace with a worried look. My friends who understood my attitude were afraid and chose to stay in the tent. So I'm the only one standing guard. To warm up the atmosphere, I still invite them to chat. But for some reason, while chatting, I always wanted to look in that direction. I don't care. Until finally the corner of my eye caught something. What is that I thought curiously.

I looked and there was nothing. We continued chatting, until suddenly I fell silent because the corner of my eye once again caught something on the path. Like a human figure. Yes, humans with long hair. I'm not sure if the girl or the guy is longish.

It was hard to see in the dark, and I didn't dare shine a flashlight. Even so, the shape can still be seen. I remember very well that the shape of his head was not asymmetrical. His right head seemed to have been cut off by a quarter. I, who had been talking a lot, was now just silent and staring in one direction. Everyone fell silent as if they understood.

I surrendered, they also surrendered if the creature came, because there was nowhere for us to run. Luckily the sighting only lasted a short time. Not long after, my time on guard was up, I went into the tent and three of my friends reluctantly took turns on guard. I assured them it was nothing, even though I knew it was a creature from another realm. After taking turns on duty, I immediately entered my red sleeping bag and went straight to sleep.

I don't really know what happened once I fell asleep. Until I woke up because I heard two people chatting on the right side of the tent. The position of the sound is parallel to the tent. This was impossible because to the right of our tent was a very deep ravine. Waking up because of this, I found it difficult to fall asleep again. Unlucky indeed because I would be a witness to the next disturbance.

Yes, it's still there. The back of our tent kicked really hard. There's nothing I can do except pray that this ends quickly. The north wind that has been blowing since midnight seems to provide space for these creatures to carry out their mischief. By dawn the disturbance subsided and I was finally able to go back to sleep, even for a moment. In the morning I told them about the sound of chatting and kicking, it turned out they heard it too. Just too scared to get up.

urban legendvintagearttravelsupernaturalmonsterfootage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.