Horror logo

Magical, But Make It Chill

A quarantine-friendly take on my favorite Halloween costume.

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
8
Magical, But Make It Chill
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

I’ve always loved that Halloween is so much easier than most of the other big holidays.

There’s no strict, standard routine that everyone’s expected to follow. It’s not about impressing anyone or making everything look picture perfect. And it doesn’t involve spending a small fortune.

It’s one of those holidays that can be whatever you want it to be. Plus, it involves candy and dressing up in costumes! Who doesn’t love that?

Lately, with the pandemic putting normal life on hold, I’ve been thinking a lot about last year’s Halloween. Not only was it the most fun Halloween I’ve had in a long time, but it also involved my best costume to date.

I went to two different parties; one at a friend’s apartment, and another at my mom’s friend’s house. I dressed up as a unicorn for both, and it’s by far the best costume I’ve ever worn.

This was probably the most effort I’ve ever put into a costume. I had the unicorn suit itself, which had a hood and a long tail on it, along with some thigh high socks and a rainbow wig, and I even put a whole bunch of glitter all over my body.

And. It. Was. Magical!!

It was so good that, despite the awful lighting in my house, I got one of my best selfies in it!

This costume looked awesome, but wearing it was a trying yet hilarious adventure.

I stayed inside as much as I could because I was cold (this is the price you pay for wearing sexy costumes during the cold months in the northeast *sigh*).

I pretty much left a trail of glitter everywhere I went (I’m still finding loose glitter in my room now, a year later).

My tail got caught in a few doors and may or may not have knocked some things over, but thankfully it wasn’t long enough for anyone to step on or I probably would’ve gotten knocked on my butt a few times.

I was carrying a lot of weight on my head between the hood and the wig; my neck hurt, I couldn’t turn my head properly, and it actually blocked my peripheral vision.

And the hood and tail took up a lot of space; trying to stuff myself into my car and drive was no easy feat. I sorta felt like those brides on My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding when they try to sit in a car in their massive wedding gowns. It was actually comical.

And imagine my surprise when I walked into these parties and realized I had the most extra as f*ck costume there.

But everyone loved it! And it was definitely a hit. If there had been any costume contests, I feel like I would’ve been a great contender.

I looked great, felt great, and I had fun. And all those little mishaps just made it all the more memorable and unforgettable.

This year, I’m not planning on doing anything besides sitting at home and eating a bunch of candy. I might even do some baking. And I’m okay with that. But I’ve been kinda sad about not being able to do anything since I had so much fun last year.

So since I won’t be going anywhere, I was thinking about just wearing this costume around the house, just to get in the spirit of Halloween. But I didn’t feel like carrying it around again since it’s so heavy and bulky. Then I found out about these “lounge costumes”, including this unicorn onesie!

Suddenly I felt like I could actually dress up for Halloween in a way that actually worked for sitting around the house! I immediately bought this onesie as soon as I saw it, and I even got a sparkly face mask to go with it, just to play on the whole quarantine theme.

And I couldn’t be happier with it!

This one doesn’t have a tail, and the hood is super light. I can turn my head in it. I have my full peripheral vision and no neck pain. I don’t have to worry about getting it caught in doors, or being cold.

It’s so comfy and cute! And in its own way, it gives me all the magical vibes!

So yeah, that's basically how I’ll be spending this Halloween: sitting on the couch buried under some blankets, watching TV, eating candy, and looking magical in my cozy unicorn onesie.

The best part? I could easily do this all the time. And I’m totally down for it, especially now after this roller coaster of a year we’ve had.

I had some real good memories in last year's costume, so it only makes sense to bring it back, even if it’s a more lowkey version of it. I’m glad that I can do something chill for Halloween and still find a way to bring back my favorite costume, and bring a little much needed magic into this tough year.

*P.S.: I got both of these costumes at Yandy.com! If you’re looking for some quarantine-friendly costume inspo, I 10/10 recommend these!

halloween
8

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.