Horror logo

Lake Sanguine

The Monster Hiding Within

By Brandon LaurenzPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2

...Another body in the water.

Just a few weeks since the last body was found, I stumble across another article in the newspaper this morning:

"Body Found in Lake Sanguine, Third Body in Two Months"

Autumnvale is such a peaceful town... Was a peaceful town. I've been living here as long as I can remember, and the most dramatic headlines in the paper were things like "Particularly cold week ahead compared to last year" and "Gas prices have been on the rise". Murder isn't really a thing in this town, and yet the Lake keeps adding up bodies... 

Maybe that's why I've been so sleepless lately. 

This time, just like last time, the victim was someone from my neighborhood. Someone who rarely left their house... Last time, I had nightmares for a week. Hopefully it won't be as bad this time.

...I don't like the idea of getting used to this, but at this rate, I might have no choice.

"So, you knew the victim?" 

The detective was investigating the locals around here in hopes of getting some clues, but he seems frustrated. Apparently whoever the killer is has been particularly good at evading detection, leaving no trace.

"No. Well... not really, but I have seen them from time to time. After the first two bodies were found, I've been a little worried about those living alone around here... Even a dog, maybe some camera systems would've changed everything. It's terrible what happened to the lady. She always seemed so nice..."

I remember seeing her out on her porch on occasion, smiling and waving at people passing by. The detective seemed particularly interested in my answer, his eyes shifting away from his notepad, meeting mine with a raised eyebrow and a piercing gaze. 

"... So you've seen her out lately? When is the last time you remember seeing her?"

"Oh, a few days ago I think. Maybe.. Monday."

He went back to his notepad, scribbling a few notes, before putting it in his pocket, placing his hand on his hips and letting out a deep sigh.

"Detective, has anyone been able to find a motive?"

I've been wondering what these people even had in common, and if I should be worried if I match the killer's list of 'qualifications'.

"You know, I really shouldn't be sharing any facts from the case with you."

Well, I suppose that makes sense. If he just shared insights about the killings with everyone, whoever the killer is could just use them to pick up on the investigation and avoid detection.

"I understand. I just... wish I could help in some way."

After clenching his jaws and looking me up and down a couple of times, I saw him loosen up a little.

"...All we have right now is that everyone in this area should be extra safe. Don't be out too late, don't walk around by yourself, keep your doors locked, basic safety precautions... Don't worry, I'll catch this killer soon."

I suddenly felt something inside me reaching out, something making me act on this case. A sense of justice, maybe?

"Thank you, sir. I don't know if anyone has mentioned this, but... I did see what looked like evidence of some kind of struggle near the lake recently. Did you know about the path to the lake from the back of this neighborhood? It's a short trail through the trees that leads to an isolated part of the lake... I've been thinking, that seems like it would've been an ideal path for the killer to take, given that it's got no lights or anything at night, and even in the day it's got so many trees on each side of the path that you can't really see down it unless you're on it."

After another long look at me, the detective responded, "...No, I wasn't aware of any path to the lake that didn't take the main road. You're actually the first person to mention it. And you said you saw evidence of what looked to be a struggle? Hmm... Would you happen to have enough time to show me this path? Maybe the evidence is still there. Why didn't you report it already?"

It's not like I hadn't wanted to. There was just a part of me that felt like getting involved might not have been the best idea.

"Well, sir... I just didn't know at the time if it was worth reporting. After all, I'm no professional, and if it DID turn out to be worthwhile, that would've meant being wrapped up in the investigation, and that comes with it's own stresses, and..."

"Hey, hey, it's fine. I get it. But yes, I would be very thankful if you could take me over there and show me what you found."

Strangely, I started feeling excited at the idea of taking the detective to the spot. I don't even like watching detective shows or crime dramas on TV, but I felt an odd pull toward it here. Maybe... I can make a difference, make an actual impact on this case. I can help this detective. "Lead the way," he says to me, and I start walking him to the end of the neighborhood, where the tree line starts.

"I think I see something up ahead... a little part in the trees. Is that where the path starts?" 

He has a good eye! Most people around here have no idea this path exists, but he has already spotted it. "Yep! It's right up ahead." As we get closer, I start to duck under a branch that is hanging a few feet above a small trail, stamped down by game animals and the occasional hiker. He ducks down and follows me through.

"Yeah, you're right... this trail is very well hidden." I see his eyes darting around, picking up any physical evidence he can see. "Hmm. I see... a few sets of footprints here. Two of them look pretty recent... But they aren't side by side. They 're both new, but they are stepping in some of the same spots. Almost like one was following the other..."

Yeah, he's good. 

"...Wow, I have no idea how you picked all that up so easily. And up ahead, just a little bit, there was what looked like a big branch with a dark brown stain on it, and the leaves are kicked around a bit."

The detective turned back to me, jaws clenching again. "I see. So that's further in on this trail? Around the curve up ahead? And.. when again did you say you were on this trail to find this evidence?"

The way the detective looked at me, questioned me... Their stance, the sharpness of their words... I felt something inside me.. wake up.

"Just a little further up ahead, detective. I'll show you what I found."

"Another Body Found in Lake Sanguine - Residents on Lockdown"

A fourth body? And a missing detective? Autumnvale really isn't safe anymore. I don't know what the city's response will be for this, but I wish there was.... something... anything... I could do... to help

slasher
2

About the Creator

Brandon Laurenz

A fledgling writer with a passion for captivating stories who is just getting started on their journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.