Horror logo

Just a myth

The Cruelty of Hunger

By ObyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
Runner-Up in the Improbable Paradise Challenge
6

I can’t remember the last time I’d eaten. It’s funny how hunger can take a hold of you, the emptiness somehow fills you, consumes you until all you can feel is your body crying out for sustenance. I lie here, naked, barely noticing the jagged rocks of the island, my island, digging into my sides and scratching my fair skin as all I can think about is my desperate need for food.

Island” is perhaps too grand a word to use for my home, as it conjures up images of a tropical paradise that are a stark contrast to the barren land around me, and yet I can think of no other word to better depict it.

Treacherous rocks erupt from the ground, with barely a grain of sand in sight. Nothing grows here, and no animals are foolish enough to make such a place their home. Even seagulls passing overhead never dare land on these brutal shores. Perhaps only a mile in size, this desolate space at least provides fresh drinking water, trickling drop by drop from the smattering of stalactites in the murky cave serving as my only shelter from violent sea storms that rage on for days.

The last storm that ravaged my home was the most vicious I have ever endured. All I could do was hide as the ferocious winds rushed around me, chilling my bones, and tearing through my long auburn hair. The fierce waves rose high above, relentless in their attempts to crush me as they charged like a herd of stallions leading a vanguard, declaring war on my very existence. My goosebump- ridden skin wrinkled from the dampness, turning pale as I contemplated whether I would survive this time.

But just as calm comes before a storm, it returns afterwards as chaos turns to order once more. And here I am, emerged from my cave and drying myself in the golden rays of the sun, embracing the blissful sensation of warmth. Hazel eyes firmly shut, I succumb to my tiredness, drifting in and out of consciousness, unaware of how much time has passed.

Awakened by another pang of pain in my stomach, I am reminded of the very real possibility that hunger could be the death of me if I didn’t eat soon. I feel weakness spreading throughout my fragile body, like a disease I’m riddled with. My mind begins to drift as I struggle to keep my focus on the horizon, praying to see a ship, praying for salvation. As the vast ocean and cloudless sky seemingly blur into one blue void, I lie defeated, longing for the suffering to end.

But wait … could it be? Squinting into the distance, I dare not raise my hopes before I can be certain - I’ve been tricked by mirages before, a cruel joke hunger likes to play on those who are truly desperate. A dark speck, no larger than a pebble, materialises right on the line where the heavens kiss the sea. My heart thuds faster and faster as I wait for the image to fade, to fizzle out of existence, but instead it doubles in size, coming into focus as it approaches.

A ship! A ship on the horizon! Despite my overwhelming exhaustion, adrenaline surges through my body, giving me newfound strength to crawl my way towards the oncoming vessel. Razor sharp rocks pierce my hands and claw at my knees, leaving a trail of scarlet blood as I force myself to reach the islands edge. Summoning the last of my remaining energy, I rise, standing where the waves smother the rocks. Soothing the deep cuts on my feet in the cool waters, all I can do is watch as my chance of survival, my last and only chance, continues its course towards my home.

Three tall grey sails catch the wind, slowly steering the weather-beaten wooden ship close enough for me to call out. Larger ships than this have crashed against these rocks in the past, sending sailors to their deaths. I could already see the tell-tale dorsal fin cutting through the waves like a knife; a great white, perhaps starving like me, awaiting his prey. But with the calm waters and gentle breeze, I’m certain this small ship could moor on my shores. Reaching down I grasp a long slender piece of flint, sharp as a dagger, just in case, as the captain hears my plea’s and commands his crew to drop anchor and lower the sails.

One of the sailors, possibly the captain, is lowered from the deck in a rowing boat. Using two sun-bleached oars, he pulls himself towards me, answering my calls. Facing away from me, I cannot be sure of his appearance, but his soothing voice reassures me that he is not a threat. As he disembarks, I lower my guard, as a handsome man no older than thirty walks towards me. His sincere smile and eyes as blue as the ocean reveal an underlying kindness and desire to help.

“Wow…”

He whispers before he can stop himself, as he stands before me, his sandy hair rippling in the wind, and I can tell by his sun-kissed skin that he has been at sea for some time. He blushes, revealing his innocence, intimidated yet mesmerised by my naked body, for he cannot look away.

“Are you an angel?”

He asks, eyes widening, rooted to the spot in awe. I have always had this effect on men, drawn to my petite breasts still perky with youth. My flaming hair cascades down my back, striking against my porcelain skin. Many men have said my beauty is incomparable to other women, that my melodic voice enchants them, and my hazel eyes see right into the depths of their soul.

But this is not what caused him to ask me such a question. No. Catching the light of the sun my wings unfurl, feathered like a bird’s, black as a moonless sky, and large enough to cloak him in their shadow. I can see why my ethereal appearance could be mistaken for such a creature, but alas I am not his saviour…. He is mine. Cupping his face with one hand, I draw him close and kiss him gently on his warm chapped lips. I lean close, and whisper in his ear.

“I’m sorry. I’m so so sorry”.

I plunge my stone dagger straight into his chest, piercing his heart. He staggers back, before falling to his knees. Shock and betrayal flash across his face as it contorts in pain, unable to scream out as blood gurgles in his throat. As the light fades from his eyes, he sees me for what I really am. Just like the hundreds of men who came before him, he calls out my name with his last dying breath.

“Siren”.

fiction
6

About the Creator

Oby

Writing from the heart, for fun. Thank you to anyone reading my work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Wow, what a great story! I love the twist ending, so well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.