Horror logo

“It was past midnight, I was alone at my house when suddenly the lights went out”

Horror story

By Hassan JawadPublished about a year ago 3 min read

It was past midnight, and I was alone at my house, sitting on the couch and watching a movie. The night was quiet, and the only sound I could hear was the soft hum of the air conditioning. Suddenly, the lights went out.

At first, I thought it was just a power outage, but then I realized that the streetlights were still on, which meant that the problem was with my house. I got up from the couch and walked to the window to see if any of my neighbors had also lost power, but everything outside looked normal.

I tried turning on the lights, but they didn't come on. I felt a sense of unease creeping up on me, and I didn't know what to do. I was alone in the house, and the darkness was starting to feel suffocating.

I decided to check the circuit breaker to see if any of the fuses had blown, but as I walked towards the basement, I heard a strange noise coming from upstairs. It sounded like footsteps, but I knew I was alone in the house.

I froze for a moment, not sure what to do. My heart was pounding in my chest, and I felt a cold sweat breaking out on my forehead. I slowly made my way upstairs, trying to make as little noise as possible.

As I reached the top of the stairs, I heard the noise again, and this time, it was louder. It sounded like someone was walking around in one of the bedrooms. I summoned all my courage and walked towards the room, my heart racing.

When I reached the door, I hesitated for a moment, not sure if I should open it. But then, I heard the noise again, and this time, it was unmistakable. Someone was definitely in the room.

I took a deep breath and opened the door. The room was empty, but I could feel a cold breeze blowing in from the open window. I walked towards the window and saw that the screen had been cut open.

My heart was pounding in my chest, and I knew I had to act fast. I ran downstairs to get my phone and call the police. As I dialed 911, I heard the noise again, and this time, it was coming from the basement.

I didn't know what to do. Should I stay put and wait for the police, or should I investigate the noise myself? I knew I couldn't just sit there and do nothing, so I decided to go to the basement and see what was going on.

As I walked towards the basement, I could hear the noise getting louder and louder. It sounded like someone was moving furniture around, and I could hear heavy breathing.

I cautiously walked down the stairs, trying to make as little noise as possible. When I reached the bottom of the stairs, I saw a figure moving in the darkness.

I flipped on the light switch, and the room was flooded with light. There, in front of me, was a man, wearing a black hoodie and gloves. He was busy trying to pry open the door to the safe that I kept in the basement.

I was terrified, but I knew I had to act fast. I lunged towards the man, trying to knock him down. We struggled for a few moments, but I managed to overpower him and pin him to the ground.

The police arrived a few minutes later, and they arrested the man. They told me that he was a known burglar

fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HJWritten by Hassan Jawad

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.