Horror logo

It's the Graveyard Smash!

A Halloween Playlist for any time in October including a party!

By Jan JasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Halloween is one of my all-time favorite holidays and as we get closer to Halloween, I think to myself what the music is I want to hear it’s not just a music that will make it seem like Halloween but also put me in that mindset of spookiness. As I thought of this challenge it made me think of the classic Halloween music and then the newer versions of those classics. The first thing that popped into my head when thinking of Halloween music is planning a Halloween party. I don’t know about you but when it comes to Halloween, I have a specific playlist that I can dance with and enjoy at a Halloween party and outside of it. So shall we begin at any Halloween party I want you to begin entering the venue as if it was a haunted house of some sort.

I stood in the kitchen waiting for my guests to arrive for my iconic Halloween party. I was dressed in an emerald, green witch's costume like Winnifred Sanderson’s. I turn on the small fog machine and check to see if the flying banshee truly flies on a timer every two minutes. I watch the security system as I see guests beginning to arrive, I leave a sign on the door that says come in if you dare. I place some dry ice into a cauldron and begin to stir it as the front door opens my magical music plays. I hear the scream of some of my friends who have had an encounter with a devious clown that pops out of his secret hiding spot at the front door as the Addams family theme song plays.

Next, they follow a path lighted by pumpkin twinkle lights down the hallway they cannot escape the cobwebs and spiders held by a clear string. As they reach the end of the hall the fog begins to appear as they walk into the living room the iconic psycho song begins to play as my banshee flies past them her dress lightly hovering over their heads. I only laugh because they didn’t expect her to fly back and forth unless they manage to escape her. Whether they choose to take off their shoes is up to them as they hear Come Little Children begins to play as I say. “Sisters! A virgin has lit the black flame candle!” I say as I pointed to one of my lucky friends just to get some laughs and point to the black flame candle that was lit.

After a few minutes of greetings, I begin to pour out alcoholic drinks that resemble a type of wicked potion. This time more friends are beginning to be alive as we hear the iconic This is Halloween song begins as we hear more screams from our dear friends encountering more scary tricks. The party begins with iconic old music such as Michael Jacksons Thriller, Monster Mash, Ghost Busters, Kidnap the Sandy Claws, The Purple People Eater, Spooky, Scary Skeletons, What’s this?, 999 Happy Haunts, and Ghostly Music Box. And so much more but as the activities begin that is where the music becomes spookier like the themes from Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, and so much more. As the night ends, we hear more mellow Halloween music such as The Nightmare Before Christmas Music, Corpse Bride, and the orchestra versions of Hocus Pocus. The playlist I have for the entire night is around seven hours long and I listen to it more on repeat because it gives that Halloween spirit that we all need and love. So, watch out everyone you never know when something creepy and sneaky is going to happen. Have a happy and safe Halloween and always remember that not all witches are bad some can be very good it all depends on which Witch and Monster that you meet during this most spooky and creepy time of year.

halloween
1

About the Creator

Jan Jas

Hello! I am Jan Jas! I'm a currently a MSW student at UNLV. I have a year and a half left in my masters of social work program and writing allows me to decompress and calm my anxiety. It also allows me to be able to go back to writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.