Geeks logo

The Fate: Winx Saga An Honest Netflix Review **SPOILERS**

An Honest Review **SPOILERS**

By Jan JasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Warning: Spoilers of the show as you continue reading. I warned you please beware.

In all honesty I was extremely skeptical about watching this show. I am a lover to the original Winx Club the colors and the story line and the proven message of girl power. I also knew I had to give this new show a chance even though my expectations are so high when it comes to the original Winx Club. Even though Netflix did well on choosing Bloom and Stella for their appearances. Flora from the original was my absolute favorite and they replaced her with outcast Terra who I thought was good to add a bit of diversity but instead of having the mature and loving personality of Flora she was to be a bit too perky but definitley strong.

Musa in the show I did not fully understand her and did not like her because she is an empath and can feel the emotions of others but then things at the end were explained. Sadly due to being an empath, she feels all emotions including death of others which she felt when her mother died she explains this at the end of the show to Terra on the last episode. Aisha the water fairy I liked her though I feel that she took over the friendship that Bloom and Stella should have had from the original cartoon. She is very much a teacher's pet she only wants to impress everyone even if that does mean to betray her friends which she did near the last few episodes of the show but admitted to her mistakes later on before the battle. Stella they destroyed her they made her the rich spoiled brat that no one should see at all.

As the show continues we see that she has issues with her mother which is why she acts the way that she does. Bloom is an outsider in her own family she doesn't get along with her mom who would rather see her daughter be a stuck up cheerleading bitch then a loner. Yes those were actually lines from the tv show, Blooms parents believed that she was going to a private international school at the Swiss alps they don't realize she's a fairy until she tells them at the end of the show. Huge Spoiler they are not actually her parents Bloom's parents were fairies she was kidnapped by blood witches (burners) and Rosalind hid her in the human world to keep her safe for her own use as a weapon. Throughout the show Bloom is trying to figure out herself and find out her true past and why everyone is lying to protect her including Rosalin who lied and manipulated her from the beginning to release Rosalind from a prison under the school.

Episodes 1,2, were interesting 3, and 4 kinda boring, and 5,and 6 were filled with more action and drama which I liked more. Sadly overall what I hated was to see that the main characters of the original winx club were not fighting all together. We mainly see Aisha, Stella, and Bloom fighting. Terra and Musa were more like outsiders whose powers are not strong enough yet. Which I hate because in all honesty Terra could be as strong as Bloom, Stella, and Aisha in regards to earth powers but because she's been babied all her life she's not the strongest. Beatrix one of the supposed characters that was supposed to be apart of the trix (from the cartoon) I hated her from the beginning it was obvious she was an antagonist I honestly am shocked that it took several episodes for them to realize that this student is manipulating everyone including Riven and Dane.

Riven in all honesty was a great character with Sky I wish his hair was bright red to show him as not the only guy with brown hair in the school they portrayed him more as a nerd before he began training he isn't as hot tempered as I expected him to be. Dane was a weak character that Riven took under his wing to turn into a jerk. Sky from the beginning I liked how they made sure he looked like his cartoon character but instead of Brandon being Stella's love interest it saw Sky who was her ex boyfriend causing drama between her and Bloom which made their relationship as I said before fighting over a guy instead of being best friends from the beginning. Overall I liked the enemies portrayed in the show they were mysterious but they were eh they could have been better. I wanted to see more of the blood witches in the show but I'm assuming that we will see more if there is a season 2.

I didn't like Queen Luna her character is manipulative and bad she's more of the real enemy next to Rosalind. Rosalind was the mentor of Farah Dowling the headmistress of Alfea in replacement of Faragonda. Rosalind next to Queen Luna is the antagonist she manipulated Bloom and sent her away to Earth to ensure her safety so she could set Rosalind free at the second to last episode and use Bloom as a weapon. In the very last episode, Rosalind kills Farah, and Queen Luna places her as headmistress of the school Alfea to keep control. The show is a solid 6.5/10 and that's being nice because of the graphics of the show except for the end when we see Blooms wings which was a crappy reputation of computer-generated image.

If a season 2 did come out I would want to see it and I hope to see more of the girls transform and actually give Terra and Musa more of the spotlight in fighting scenes. The wings at the end sucked on bloom. It could have been better I wish we saw more of the girls working together and fighting together as fairies. They mainly showed bloom fighting and all that stuff. But it wasn’t bad. In the last episode the graphics of the fire was eh it wasn’t as good as the rest of the show but the storyline was intriguing including the blood witches. Maybe actually have the girls turn into fairies just like in the cartoon. Overall 6.5 is the best I can give the show it was okay it wasn't the best it did impress me in some points but not all. I have a feeling this show will be canceled because it destroys what the Original Winx Club cartoon stands for. I would rather see all the original episodes of the cartoon on Netflix then watch this live-action tv show ever again.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Jan Jas

Hello! I am Jan Jas! I'm a currently a MSW student at UNLV. I have a year and a half left in my masters of social work program and writing allows me to decompress and calm my anxiety. It also allows me to be able to go back to writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.