Horror logo

Into the Unknown

What was the noise that announced itself from downstairs?

By Lucy RobinsonPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

I remember the day so vividly, it brings back so much anger and hurt.

My Father had been cooped up in bed, suffering from a serious illness, with no one other than me to try and ease the pain. I was by his side constantly, every beck and call was answered with immediacy - the thought that if I didn't do all he asked would only make me think that he would die thanks to me, so I had to be vigilant.

I had carried out my last request from my Father for the evening..

I bid my Father goodnight then, treading lightly upon the landing so as not to further keep him from slumber, I made my way to my room. After entering, I noticed my bedside candlelight had been re-lit and my night clothes were just being placed out neatly on my elegant four-poster bed, by our housekeeper, Mary. "Thank you, Mary. I am going to change into those immediately, and then see if any repose may fall to me when I lay down - this illness of Father's seems to give myself less slumber than he!", I joked, though no humour seemed to reveal itself upon my face. It may not be befitting to be joking about such things, but sometimes a little lightheartedness eases the troublesome worries from our minds, if only for a little while. Mary gave a polite smile, responding, "As you wish, Princess, I bid you goodnight", and swept out of the room with elegance that could surely match my own. After dressing into my bed clothes, I softly blew out the candlelight and eased my way underneath the bed covers. Though I thought sleep would come most slowly, if after all, did not. But cruelly, however long I may have been dormant, I did not wake up to find it was morning. A sudden disturbing noise startled me in the night, and continued for a few seconds after I was awakened.

I hurriedly got out of bed and ran to my Father's room, thinking that something might've happened to him. I carefully pushed open the door to find, upon inspection, nothing out of the ordinary. All I could hear from the room was the gentle rise and fall of his breath as he continued to sleep. I gave a sigh of relief, before realising that if the noise wasn't from him, then where had it come from? I stepped out of the doorway, bringing the door to a close, softly, before moving nervously toward the top of the stairs. I listened most carefully, hoping that the sound would not ring out again. I stood there for a few seconds, hearing nothing but the grandfather clock ticking away further down the landing. Satisfied that it had been nothing, that it could've merely been the wind knocking branches against the windows, I turned away and felt glad that I could continue my rest. But as I began to make my way to my room, that very noise that I had heard clambered its way up the stairs and clashed against my eardrums. I jumped, managing somehow to keep from squealing out in fear, before returning to the floor in a heap. The noise had so surprised and startled me that it had made my limbs feel feeble, every hair that protruded from my body was stood to attention. I lay there for a minute or two, praying for my heartbeat to slow down, for the sweat trickling down my back to halt, so that I could muster up the courage to get back up and inspect downstairs. Taking a deep breath, I forced myself onto my knees and then onto my feet, wobbling my way to the banister that followed the stairs downwards. After taking a further breath and straightening my back, I knew I could face whatever or whomever was lurking below, for my Father's sake. I hadn't gone more than a step before Mary appeared on the landing.

"Oh, its you, Princess. I thought we were under attack!", she said with laboured breath, wiping the sweat from her forehead. "Of course we're not under attack!", I exclaimed quietly, "We would know if we were, Mary. But, that noise was not me.. it came from downstairs", Mary followed the direction of my finger as I pointed down below. She gasped, stared at me with wild eyes, before running forward and gripping my arm like a vice, "It wasn't? You're going to go down there? I beg of you please, Princess, do not make such a reckless decision! We don't know what is down there, it could be a thief who could take anything - even your life!", she cried out with a fervour. I grabbed Mary's hand, trying to ease her fingers off my arm as I said quietly through gritted teeth, "I know you are worried, Mary, but for the love of God would you not be so loud. It would be most helpful if you spoke softly or kept your mouth shut, or do you want whatever is down there to discover us?". Immediately Mary realised the trouble she may have caused by blurting out so noisily, and loosened her grip on my arm, giving me power to remove them easily. She gave a downcast look, so I clasped her hand, reassuring her, "Father cannot well protect either of us in his state, and having just checked and seen that he is still sound asleep, it would not be fair to wake him up. It would only worry him, which would make him even worse. So it is up to me. You are welcome to assist", I whispered. Mary pondered upon my words, then responded in a hushed tone, "I will assist you, Princess. But I feel you will need something to further protect you. I have something that may help". She let go of my hand and scurried off to her bedchambers. After a moment or two, she reappeared, revealing to me what she had been referring to - a small dagger. I didn't have time to ask questions, so I thanked her and received it most gratefully. She nodded in acknowledgement of my thanks and took my hand shakily, "I feel it would be wise if we stayed close together, Princess.. f..f..f..for courage", she announced sheepishly. I gazed at her in surprise, "Mary, do not feel ashamed. There is nothing wrong with being afraid, I am scared, too. I will gladly hold your hand. Not just for courage, but as a way of letting you know I feel most honoured to have you by my side in this worrying time. I consider you my friend, and friends stick together", I whispered with a smile, gripping her hand tighter. Mary gave me a grateful smile before eyeballing the stairs, I followed her line of sight and pulled back my shoulders. "Right, lets do this", we uttered in unison.

Whatever life throws your way, know that friends are always there to support you.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story, any feedback would be appreciated. And, if possible, a small donation would be, too! :)

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Robinson

22, nanny to three kids, lover of reading, gaming, anime, camping, walking, climbing and generally just being outdoors

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.