Horror logo

Inner Demons

Fighting Myself

By Mogomotsi MoremiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It was a dark and stormy night, and I was lying in bed, tossing and turning as I battled with my emotions. On one side, there was "Me," the rational and logical side of myself, trying to keep everything under control. On the other side, there was "I," the emotional and impulsive side of myself, driving me to the brink of insanity.

I tried to focus on my breathing, taking deep and slow breaths, hoping to calm myself down. But every time I closed my eyes, I felt "I" creeping up on me, threatening to take over.

I felt like I was losing the battle, and I knew I needed to do something before it was too late. I decided to get up and take a walk, hoping that the fresh air would clear my mind.

As I stepped outside, I felt the wind howling and the rain pouring down on me. It was as if the weather was reflecting my inner turmoil, and I shuddered at the thought.

As I walked through the deserted streets, I could hear the sound of my own footsteps echoing in the darkness. I felt like I was alone in the world, with no one to turn to for help.

Suddenly, I heard a voice calling out to me. It was a faint whisper, barely audible, but it was enough to send shivers down my spine.

"Who's there?" I called out, my voice trembling.

There was no response, and I felt a sudden surge of fear wash over me. I knew I had to get out of there, but my legs wouldn't move. It was as if I was rooted to the spot, unable to escape.

Then, I heard the voice again, louder this time. It was coming from behind me, and I could feel my heart pounding in my chest.

I turned around slowly, and what I saw made my blood run cold. Standing before me was a dark figure, its eyes glowing with an otherworldly light.

"I am I," it said in a voice that was both chilling and seductive. "And I have come to claim what is mine."

I tried to run, but my legs wouldn't move. The figure approached me slowly, its hand outstretched, and I felt a sudden urge to reach out and touch it.

As I touched the figure, I felt a jolt of electricity run through my body. I could feel "I" taking over, and I knew that I was lost.

For what seemed like an eternity, I battled with "Me" for control of my body and soul. But "I" was too strong, and in the end, it emerged victorious.

I was no longer in control of my own mind and body, and I felt a sense of despair wash over me. I knew that I would never be able to regain control, and that "I" would be with me for the rest of my life.

As I stood there, helpless and defeated, I felt the figure begin to fade away. It was as if it had accomplished what it had set out to do, and no longer needed me.

I was alone again, with nothing but the sound of my own breathing and the rain falling on the pavement. But I knew that I was no longer the same person that I had been before.

The battle between "Me" and "I" had left me scarred and broken, and I knew that I would never be able to recover. I had lost the battle, and I knew that I would be haunted by "I" for the rest of my life.

psychologicalfiction
Like

About the Creator

Mogomotsi Moremi

Author and Web developer

Telling stories, one word at a time. Bringing worlds to life through my books and articles. #WriterLife #NeverGiveUp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.