Horror logo

In That Sleep of Death, What Dreams May Come

Intrusive Thoughts of a Psychopath - Part 4

By Paul StewartPublished 4 months ago โ€ข Updated 4 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
7
In That Sleep of Death, What Dreams May Come
Photo by Hassan Rafhaan on Unsplash

Author's Notes: This is the fourth part in my ongoing series, that started with Intrusive Thoughts of a Psychopath? - you can find all the other parts below:

"Without leaps of imagination, or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning." - Gloria Steinem

*

I gasped as I felt the knife pierce into his skin, through the gaps between the buttons of his white cotton shirt. It was a lot easier than I thought and although I was still in shock, I couldn't help feel a little glimmer of something else, something darker and primal taking over me. I had had fun on the dancefloor earlier that evening, I was primed, but this was different.

He was quieter than I had hoped for, and although it took a bit of effort to remove the knife, I did so slowly and carefully. Not for any other reason than to prolong the moment...to savour the goosebumps and delirious levels of inner joy that were building inside me. I licked and bit at my cerise-pink stained lips and gasped again with a slight moan standing back as my victim slowly leaned back and quietly bled out before me. I closed my eyes and savoured the moment and drifted in the darkness.

I woke suddenly in a hot sweat, panting but smiling. I caught a glimpse of my face, coated in sweat, my lips wet and full of need and hot desire and my hair looking a little wild. Is this true happiness, I had to wonder.

This was the fourth time this week. The fourth time I had felt that intense pleasure.

"Again, Janine?" Bryan asked as he rolled over to face me and stroked my arm.

"Yeah" I said licking and biting my lips, as I remembered the heat I felt in the dream. The heat that was simmering in my body and mind. My soul ached with joy. That same heat was growing again, as I lay back down, looking up to the stationary ceiling fan, as Bryan stroked my face and neck.

I groaned wantonly, but the unnerving thing, was that it wasn't for Bryan's sensual touches on my skin, even as his hand explored me beneath my vest and as he tickled at my pale flesh. I wanted...no needed the same release my subconscious created for me.

"Stop." I said and pushed his hand away.

"Babe..." he tried to push, but gave up as he knew better when I got this way.

I rolled over with my back to Bryan and tried to quickly recapture the picture in my head. I knew I was playing with fire...but it was burning bright and bringing me heat I rarely felt until I had the dreams.

Closing my eyes, I gasped again and felt that power that I felt in the dream, the power I had over him, the power that was draining from his body, into the ether and somehow into my body as I sucked on the cool air. I could feel every inch of my body on fire with desire. Desire for something I should and could never have. Could I?

*

Thanks for reading!

slasherpsychologicalCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schรคfer4 months ago

    I AM SO INVESTED RIGHT NOW

  • And so it grows.

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    Part 4??? ๐Ÿ‘€ Brb, gotta go find 1, 2, & 3!!!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    That second quote! ๐Ÿ˜… This is starting to creep into my brain. Thanks Paul!! ;0) These are virtually micros and you are leaving us on tender hooks!..

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    You really captured that sense of need.

  • Celia in Underland4 months ago

    ๐Ÿค So psycho has a soul mate! Yeah can see why this one took a while ๐Ÿ˜ Brilliantly written. Hate/love

  • Like finallyyyyyy it's here! So Janine, she has dark desires as well. That's like soooo cool. But I'm a little confused. Bryan and Janine, I don't think you've mentioned them before but I may be wrong. Are they the couple that the psychopath thought he killed?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.