Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 5

Chapter 5

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Immortal || Chapter 5
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

(Flashback 1800)

We arrived at the house in due time and we were greeted by our maid, Rachael. Father stepped out of the coach first and Rachael took his briefcase. Another household staff member helped me out the coach and bowed slightly.

"Welcome home, sir," Rachael said with a slight bow. Also acknowledging me.

I slightly nodded. Jacob scared me lifeless, I might add. Being as he's a vampire, that didn't help at all. Not only that but our house was full of vampires who lived in the cellar. The thought of the threat wouldn't leave my mind. We all knew what he was capable of if he oh so desired and I didn't want to see it happen.

"Son, meet me in my study room at 7 o'clock p.m. sharp. I want to go over a few things with you concerning our meeting this afternoon," father stated as he went up the flight of stairs.

"Of course, father," I replied and made my way into the parlor.

Leaning against the fireplace frame, I stared into the flames. Everything was happening all so suddenly. I just couldn't get the threat out of my head. What would he do if he was desperate enough? I really didn't want to think about it.

I turned and was startled by the very man I feared.

"Hello, Johnathan," he said with a slight nod. "I just wanted to see how you were. I knew I gave you quite a fright back there."

"All is well," I assured him with a lie.

He chuckled and entertained himself with a picture that was sitting on a side table near the chair. "Your mother was quite lovely, hmm?"

I stared him down as he looked at the picture and carefully put it down. He looked up at me. Before I knew it, he was in front of me. In my face. His shape teeth were barring, and he growled.

"Listen closely, Johnathan," he sneered. "Whatever your father's counsel is planning, he better not be a part of."

"I assure you, Mr. Jacob," I began, a quiver in my voice. "My father is gathering up a plan to help you and your people. He is a man of his word. You of all people should know this."

"Hmm, bright young lad you are," he said then quickly grabbed my throat.

I could feel my heart racing as I tried catching my breath.

"If your father doesn't pull through with his promise, I'll dispose of your father... And you. Do I make myself clear?"

I nodded, and he released me. As I grabbed my throat and coughed, he was gone. Sometimes, I hated vampires. But there was nothing I could do at this point, except warn my father.

Seven o'clock rolled around fast. And just as told, I was in my father's study.

I was on edge after my encounter with Jacob. I took in a deep breath and exhaled. My father was staring out the window with his hands behind his back.

"Son, as you know the council wants the vampire’s dead. But I have a plan to move them to a saver location," he began.

I sighed in relief. Good, he had a plan.

"It will have to be stealth otherwise the counsel will find out. We must sneak them out into the woods. There is an underground place there that is secluded and safe for every vampire."

"Father, when will this fall into place? Mr. Chandler is already wanting to take matters into his own hands," I said standing up.

He nodded with a sigh. "It will have to be tonight. We must gather everyone and have them in the main hall. Alert Jacob."

I nodded. Just when I was about to, there was a commotion coming from outside in the front lawn. I joined my father and saw an angry mob with torches.

"Father..."

"Go! Get the vampires out of here!" He instructed.

I quickly ran out of the study and made my way down the stairs and to the cellar. The door made a loud noise causing everyone to stare at me.

I had to face my fear and save them. Even if I didn't like vampires, my father had a promise to keep.

"Quick, everyone out! You are all in danger! Out the back door now," I instructed.

They all stared at me and went back to what they were doing. what is this... Suddenly something smashed through a window upstairs. I left the door open in case they finally listened. When I entered the main hall, the curtains over the windows were a blaze.

"Fire!" The maid, Rachael yelled.

I stopped her and instructed her to get everyone out before it was too late. I could hear people outside speaking loudly and knocking in the door. Rachael quickly ran to get everyone out. I could hear the other household maids screaming in fear upstairs. Smoke was starting to engulf the entire house.

"Knock down that door! Kill all the vampires!" I hear the familiar voice of Mr. Chandler.

My anger grew and I heard the wood of the door crack. I jumped when I felt a hand on my shoulder.

Turning, I saw it was my father. "We must leave! They have entered through the kitchen and have already killed most of the vampires."

All the screaming from pain and torture... I was frozen in fear for five minutes. My father shook me.

"We must..." My father paused and blood trickled down his chin.

I look down and see a wooden stake in his chest.

"Father!" I yelled in horror as he fell to the floor. "Father no!"

I look to see it was Jacob who had done this. I grabbed the stake out of my father's chest and threw myself at Jacob.

"You killed him! He was helping!" I yelled but was cut short as I felt cold as death.

I looked down and saw I had a knife in my stomach. I choked and fell to the floor. Seeing everyone running about in fear, the flames taking over the house. Then darkness.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.