Horror logo

I, The Blood Sucker

Into the Sun

By Keith G JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I, The Blood Sucker

In the beginning, was the word, but the word was not God, this word was Blood Sucker and the Blood Sucker was not with God. What, it was and where from, was not known. I preyed on the human species. There were no more than I, only one. I knew how to control the needs and how to maintain a viable breeding stock of food. I never took too much and caused extinction, too many times.

Years passed before this lesson was perfected and the different species stopped fading away.

One day a group arose that was smarter, reproduced faster and they were very dangerous indeed. Those were the Homo Sapiens. In fact, they became a threat because even though they didn't drink blood they were capable of eating everything that they came across. The big mammals on every continent, the other S. Homos. The giant birds on the continents where there were no giant mammals. Homo Sapiens became dominant.

The Blood Sucker became afraid, I did not know how to deal with this threat. I did not need to feed this much, their reproduction was too great and the seeking of food could only lead to one thing, the finding of that one thing that could control this rival.

I sought ways to stymy the situation. Finally stumbling upon the method that required the sharing of my blood with a victim of feeding. Sharing was never a consideration in my behavior. There were many more humans so where was the point? It happened by accident one day. Compared to my feedstock I was super, I rarely was hurt or even cut. One day while chasing a meal through a volcano flow my arm brushed against an obsidion outcrop and was slashed. As I held the living body some of the blood from the cut on my arm blood dripped onto the face and into the mouth of my victim.

Then I finished feeding and left the corpse as had always been done. Weeks later there were signs of dead creatures that looked like they had been fed upon, but I could not remember feeding on these things. I fed on humans and not dogs or goats things like these lesser animals. These findings bothered me because as the apex I could not allow something else to encroach on my domain. I had had my way for millions of years and now this thing was here to suggest that the apex was no longer mine. Something else left blood-drained husks behind. Searching for this thing, this creature, so like myself, but it could not be found. This creature hunted the same areas, it drained blood the same way but could not be sensed or discovered.

Finally one day it was seen feeding, this creature could be seen but not sensed it appeared to be dead. It was moving and feeding but it was, dead. It was the first Vampire. A dead being that moved as if it was alive. It appeared to be human but the true life force was missing so as the Blood Sucker I moved away to contemplate this thing that may have been in competition with myself.

Slowly as it grew in it's sureness and ability the Vampires victims became the same humans that I preyed upon. This allowed me, the Blood Sucker to realize that this might become the help that it needed to control the stock of humans at a manageable level that I didn't have to fear. If this could be reproduced this effect, they would be allies that in the end would mask my existence, an enemy to sacrifice to the humans and protect myself.

The Vampire seemed to know how to reproduce members of it's tribe, the sharing of it's blood just before the death of the victim. They began to multiply. They were careful finding out that if they weren't they would be hunted down and destroyed. They had this odd factor, they seemed to care, somewhat for their offspring. I had never had offspring I never needed to care, other than if I had enough to eat as needed in the future.

Time passed and there came a time when the populations of both species exploded and they began to struggle for dominance. The Vampires, not understanding that if they became too many their food source would expire and so would they. I had no feelings what so ever, other than if the humans became extinct I would have to eat dog blood and maybe if that happened I too would not survive.

I began drinking the blood of Vampires. The spirit that infused them came from me so I did not despise their blood. It was not as satisfying as human blood. I was careful not to let any of my blood reach their lips, as I did not know if it would produce a super vampire.

I killed Vampires as I came across them, I became good at this hunt until they became scarce as had early species of humans. Soon they became rarer and later became extinct.

I am old beyond years and I feel an unknown need to rest. I have cured the sins of my existence, the extinction of earlier humans, the production of the Vampires.

Drinking the blood of the Vampires and killing them I found out that I could only hunt at night. The rays of the sun burning my flesh in ways I had never had to care about in the past.

I am tired now, tomorrow I go into the Sun. I only hope that I find the rest that I seek.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Keith G Johnson

I am just Me. and that is that. I have always been me since being a little kid, I am still Me and I resent anyone using my name.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.