Horror logo

Hunters Series - Burn Part Six

Run

By Stacey That Writer WitchPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Hunters Series - Burn Part Six
Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

I started down the hall towards the back of the house. My heart was racing and I was hoping that the cold would not last forever once we got outside.

“You can take my car, if you want.” The small man held up his hand with a couple keys hanging off. “I’ll hold them back as long as I can. There is another road in the back of the house. They probably haven’t seen it yet.”

I stared at him for a minute before I spoke. “What about you?”

“I’ll be fine. This was always how it was going to be. I’ve been lucky all of these years. Max may be able to shield you from the demons.”

“Max, the witch?”

“That’s the one. She knows all the magical barriers to keep people safe.”

“Where do we find her at?” C.J yelled as he ran up the hallway. He had both his bags and mine in his hands.

“I think she is in Nevada. Northern part. At least that was where she was the last time I knew.”

“Thanks for your help” I said taking the keys from him.

“Good luck.”

“You Too” That was the last time I would ever see him alive.

We raced out the back door and headed towards a cleared out area behind the house. The trees were twisted under our feet, but we managed to get to the clearing and saw the old rusted out car. I looked at C.J and lifted my brows.

“He said it would get us there.” He said shrugging his shoulders. I turned my gaze back to the house and knew that we didn’t have time to argue or to doubt what we were doing.

I opened the passenger side door slowly to not make any noise. C.J did the same thing and then started the car. As soon as he had fired the engine, the demons were racing towards the car. I reached back into the back seat and pulled out C.J’s shot gun. I hadn’t used a gun in a long time, but remembered what my dad had always told me when he was teaching me to fire one.

I shot at the first demon that got near the car and he fell to a pile of bloody ruble. C.J. Slammed the car into drive and hammered the pedal. We were down the dirt road and heading towards the highway like we were told.

I sat the gun back into the back seat and into his bag. The last thing we needed was a cop to pull us over and find a loaded gun in the back seat where he could see it.

“All of my stuff is in that truck. I have to go back and get it.” He was driving fast, and looked terrible.

“We can go back and get it later. Right now let’s just get to Max.” I looked at the speedo while I was talking. “You might want to keep it under 60 so we don’t have any cop issues.”

“Right.” He looked a little calmer as he lifted his foot off the gas.

“Where did he say to go?”

“Nevada, remember. She is supposed to be there. God only knows what she is doing there.”

“Why is that?”

“She’s a witch that uses her magic mojo for other people. She doesn’t stand by the good or the bad, just whoever has the most money.”

“Great” I said under my breath.

fiction

About the Creator

Stacey That Writer Witch

I’m a writer, a mom and a Witch. I love writing strong female characters as well as informing people about magick and Witchcraft.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Stacey That Writer WitchWritten by Stacey That Writer Witch

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.