Horror logo

Hunt 1... the Kansan creature

My first paranormal hunt since getting my doctorate and it’s a well known creature

By Jack Windsor Published 4 years ago 5 min read

Me having aspergris I was always the butt of jokes, and always underestimated, always put in with other people with more strong disorders and labeled the same, always thought to be the R word, but the other day I recently got my PhD in metaphysics (and I’m only 21 years old)

so I told my brother Justin that I planned to hunt the humanoid down and he gave me his favorite six-shooter, and a tranquilizer gun, and a hospital grade medical kit “for safety bro” he said to me “thanks” I replied back. Ok so later on I asked a friend of mine named David helweg to accompany me on a paranormal hunt to a local apartment, it was a abandon project supposedly that is haunted by a constant sightings of a humanoid creature known as The Rake. Now it was originally that creature came from a creepypasta forum, much like the other cryptid known as slenderman. But there is a phenomenon in the field of parapsychology which states that if enough people believe in a creature that produces psychic energy which actually brings that creature to life, and there have been numerous Rake sightings all across the USA in the last few years.

David wasn’t exactly enthralled by the idea of encountering this creature “I don’t think so doc I mean I kinda like my life, I have a good job, as a piano tuner, I have a ok apartment, A nice gal, I have a cat I love it” to this I walked over to his bar and made myself a White Russian and then looked at him “you owe me man, I got you that girl, plus gals love a guy with courage” and after a moment of thinking it over he caved in looking at me he said “ok.. ok, ok fine, doc I’ll go with you”. this made me smile and I offered to make him a White Russian to but he declined that and got up to get a light beer from the mini fridge he keeps by the couch instead. Later on that night I got dressed in my typical wine red suit and a tucked in t-shirt with a cartoon version of Jason vorhees on it looking at a calendar, a jaded belt with black dress shoes with black dress socks. And I met up with David who had on black shorts, black socks, and a white Nora Jones t-shirt.

“So Are you ready” I asked him and he nodded although I could tell he was nervous but I didn’t call him on it cause then he would leave due to the embarrassment it would cause him (David has a big ego and is very old style). So with that I picked the lock on the door to the old apartment complex “why the heck is there still a door?” David asked me “not sure guess the government doesn’t want adventure seekers looking for this thing” I replied “then doctor I’m not sure that we should be...” but I cut David off by pinning him to the wall “this is for parascience man, it is worth the risk don’t you back out on me now or I will tell the girl what you did!!!!!” (David cheated on his girlfriend during his birthday and I willingly took the fall for him saying it was my idea to keep the two together and loosing her friendship even tho her and I had been friends since 2nd grade). And it was that to this David raised his hands up “ok, ok, ok, ok” he said as I let him go and we then headed onwards. The building was very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very overly dilapidated on the inside much in contrast to its outside appearance, it smelled of mold and dead rats with live ones running the floors and water dripping from exposed pipes in every room. David and I began hunting for the rake there, it was a full 50 minutes into and we didn’t get anything and David himself was getting impatient “ok that’s it!!, Doctor look this may have been for the parascience I know you wanna make a name for yourself. you are devoted to your job, but this is stupid there is no such thing as the rake it was just some story someone made up it’s not possible for some psychic ability to project it into reali.....” however before he could finish this a loud screeching was heard startling both of us and David let out a stream of curse words to but me realizing what it was I was intrigued.

David wanted to leave at that moment “no your not Wimping out on me” I said but to this David looked at me “doctor you may make more money than me, you may be better than me at just everything IQ wise in this alley but you are done telling me what to do!!” He then punched me in the face and this started a brief brawl which ended with David getting tackled over a 9ft railing, both of us landing onto the floor below, although my fall was cushioned alittle as I had hit 3 exposed beams before hitting the floor while David simply slammed down the onto the ground incapacitating himself and breaking both his legs to where the bones was actually exposed rendering him unable to walk. Me after a brief 4 minutes of incapacitation and the screeching getting closer I was able to regain my ability to move and I actually saw something move in the shadows, and then all of a sudden I saw this thing sitting on one of the above banisters once I pointed a flashlight on it, and it was the appearance of what looked exactly like the popular known photo of the rake. It let out a screech and crawled closer, this actually startled me and in a mixture of fear and parascientific curioisity, I shot it with tranquilizer bullets hoping it would go down and I could take it and use the creature to make a name for myself with it or to sell it to the government to there research purposes, but it did no use to it but seemingly hurt it momentarily but just mainly it seemed to only VERY VERY VERY extremely anger the creature so as it ran at me and right Before it got to me I actually grabbed a still incapacitated David at the creature and ran up the stairs.

As the creature started clawing at David’s body which he had pure pain in his eyes I tore off a plank of wood from the decrepit wall making sure it had a sharp point and I speared it downwards. the wooden plank actually did spear into the creature who let out a loud screech and I shot the creature with a real gun I had which caused it to scurry off. I then ran down to David and using the medical kit I personally cleaned David’s wounds and stitched them up and created a splint for his legs, and then I proceeded to call 911 and then taking out a can of spray paint I drew a sigil around the still very much incapacitated David “this will protect you if the creature comes back”. I told him right before he passed out from the pain of his injuries finally overtaking him, and with that I then fled the apartments leaving David there for the ambulances and others to find.

monster

About the Creator

Jack Windsor

I have a doctorate (PhD) in metaphysics and am an avid paranormal investigator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jack Windsor Written by Jack Windsor

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.