Horror logo

Hide and Seek

My Story with a Shadow Man

By Eleny MaciasPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I should start off by saying that this is 100 percent real, and it happened at my grandmother’s house. I have always been afraid of my grandma’s house. Weird things always would happen. You would hear footsteps coming up the stairs while everyone was asleep, doors would creek open when all of the windows were closed, lights would go out even if you just replaced them, things would fall off counters, and the weirdest thing was, you would sometimes hear whispers in your ear. Everyone was terrified of this house, except for my grandma who said that she had “just gotten used to it.” She would tell us stories of people who died there and how old the house was. She (at the time) lived with her husband who has since passed. Since he died, my grandma and my older cousin swear to see him on “his couch” every once in a while. There was also a demon there at one point, but that’s a whole other story.

Also, I am terrible at hide and seek. When I hear the person coming near me, I start to laugh hysterically because I am so nervous they will find me.

So this started as any game of hide and seek with my cousins. We were at my grandma’s house and it was late at night. (At least for a kid, it was probably 9:30). I was first to count and I found everyone fairly easily because the house was pretty open. So there were really no good hiding spots other than the shower, under the bed, and laid under the table on chairs. However, there was this secret room under the stairs that my grandma had told me about so I could win. So when I found everyone, I got to hide, I knew exactly where to go. So when my cousin started counting, I sprinted to the stairs and got into the room.

This is kind of what it looked like.

This was the part of the house that was the most open, so there was no good place to hide so there was no reason to check there. It had been a while since I heard “Ready or not, here I come!” And my cousins had started screaming “We already found everyone, you win Ellie!” But I wanted to see how long it would take them to find me. So I stayed put in my dark room with little light coming in because I didn’t want anybody to see the light.

Minutes went by before I heard footsteps outside the entryway. I started to giggle, and I saw the shadow of the person stop in front of the entryway. I closed my eyes and put my hands over my ears so that I could pretend they weren’t there so I could relax. When I opened my eyes again, the door was open so I thought I was found, but I didn’t hear anything. So I looked around looking for my cousins and in the tallest part of the room, I saw a tall, shadowy figure. I didn’t see a face yet, it still had an expression. I knew it wasn’t one of my cousins because we were all under five feet tall, and this thing looked about seven feet tall. I screamed as loud as I could to alert the others and I ran out of the room. I looked back and I could see it start to sit down and just watch me with its blank head. I shut the entryway behind me and ran to my nana. I told her and she told me not to say anything to any of my cousins because she didn’t want to scare them. I occasionally walk past the stairs and just get chills. If there is one thing that is for sure, it’s that I am not going to sleep in my grandma’s house anytime soon.

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.