Horror logo

Haunted House on South Main

"It chased us away."

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I don't remember "all of" this happening as I was only eleven years old, thirty years ago. This story is what my parents have told me about what happened and they would never ever lie to me. Even to this day, both in their 70's, they still talk about it from time to time.

I, my mom, and dad were living in a small house in Jellico, South Main Street. The house was very old and to my mom's knowledge, nobody had ever died in the house although obviously many people had lived in it prior to us. The house is no longer standing (or so I've been told), it was torn down years ago. I left Jellico many years ago, but I have been told that the house is gone. Below is a photo of the house, there is supposedly only an empty lot there now.

My mom had had many strange experiences in the house, things disappearing and then reappearing weeks sometimes months later, cold spots, feelings of being watched, doors opening and closing shut on their own with all windows and doors closed in the house so there was no breeze running through the house to cause this to happen. The bathroom was in the back of the house, the door would open and shut all through the night. I can very clearly remember that happening.

That big tree in the front yard, I was afraid to go anywhere near it. I just always felt really odd and creeped out by it. My mom said that on rainy nights there was a shadow figure of a man that would stand beneath that tree. It never tried to hurt anyone and it never really even tried to scare us because it stayed beneath the tree, and it only showed up when it was dark and raining. I never saw the shadow figure but after I was well-grown up my mom would talk about it.

She would put me to bed and every night without fail I would come running back to the living room in an irritated and upset state, saying to her that the boy that lives under my bed won't let me go to sleep and he's scaring me. My mom would calm me down and tell me to make him go away and eventually she would get me back to sleep. Sometimes both she and my dad would have to come into my room and stay with me until I went to sleep.

I was terrified in that house and I stayed sick all of the time with blinding headaches and fatigue. It wasn't until I was a grown-up that I learned that my parents were also afraid in that house, which is why we eventually moved away.

My dad was at work most of the time and had never experienced anything out of the ordinary. And being a skeptic towards anything remotely paranormal he wouldn't believe anything that my mom and I told him about our experiences in the house. He just thought that my mom was stressed and over-tired looking after me all day and night. But soon my dad was going to get the shock of his life that would change his entire perspective of the world as he knew it.

One night my dad was off work and was in bed trying to catch up on some sleep. My mom had put me to bed and the usual had happened and I had gone back to the living room because the little boy was scaring me again.

My dad was woken up by sounds coming from my bedroom and got out of bed to tell me to stop messing around and go back to sleep. He said he went into my bedroom and saw a little boy underneath my bed, just laying there starring at him. Still being half asleep he thought that it was me messing about under the bed, he shouted at the little boy and told him to get back in bed and go to sleep. He then went into the other room to see my mom, opened the door and sees me sitting there on my mom's lap asleep!

My mom said his face just went pure white and he just stood there for a minute or so looking at us with a look of confusion and shock on his face. That very night he nailed my bedroom door shut and told me that I was never to go back into that room again.

It took him three days to finally tell my mom what had shook him up so much that night. Needless to say, he is now a believer. After my dad actually saw the little boy, more things began to happen. I personally cannot remember, but my parents said that they become afraid that the little boy ghost was going to hurt me so we moved out of the house as soon as we could. My dad has told me that I'd wake up with scratches and unexplained bruises and my mother agrees.

Something grabbed my mom's foot while she was in her bed asleep one night (after my dad saw the little boy). She said that she woke up feeling something cold wrapped around her ankle and yanking. After that she slept on the couch because she was afraid.

Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.