Horror logo

Give It A Break

Halloween Kills was not as bad as everyone made it out to be

By Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Halloween Kills had so many mixed reviews that I myself as a diehard horror fan was nervous. To say I was disappointed is an understatement, but it wasn’t from the film, but from the horror fans that critiqued it so hard. Halloween Kills got a lot of hate from who Michael was killing to there being too much killing in the film. I know, who would complain about a slasher film having too much killing? Trust me, I’ve seen it all. I’m here to reassure the horror fan that was nervous like me to go see it anyways. See it in theaters and take all your friends and family with you. It’s a fun horror film that highlights Michael’s strengths and shows that through it all there’s no taking him down, no matter what you plan or try to do.

The first complaint which I can actually totally get behind is the entire hospital scene. It was pure chaos and totally not needed for the storyline to progress. Everyone was running around and screaming their heads off left and right. Just watching it gave me a headache. It didn’t give anything to the film or storyline and I truly do understand why no one was a complete fan of the hospital scenes.

The second complaint was that Michael actually ran in this film. I just have to say that it was very minimal and from the complaints I was expecting him to be full on sprinting during the entire film which did not happen. I was almost disappointed that I didn’t catch the running a marathon like everyone else claimed happened. Is he infamous for his slow long strides? Yes, however, he wasn’t jogging the entire film like a lot of people were over exaggerating about.

The third complaint was about the ending of the film. I will not spoil it for you, but the film had to end the way it did due to there being another film coming out next year. For those of you who don’t know, this is a trilogy. So, no they couldn’t kill of Michael in the second film. Was the ending stupid? Yes, it was dragged out and very dramatic. However, the fact that Michael is not human but evil was proven in the last few minutes of the film.

The fourth and final complaint was who exactly Michael was killing. People ranted on and on about him either killing first responders or gay people. Michael has no mercy towards anyone. He doesn’t care what you do, look like, or who you love. He’s not a biased killer and never has been. That’s the whole point behind his story, he’s pure evil. He cannot only withstand the brutal beatings and attempted kills. But he also doesn’t care or discriminate when it comes to his victims.

As far as what I did like about the film the kills were great and it was nice to see the past victims come together and try to defeat Michael. I say try because they of course fail, its Michael Myers for crying out loud. The kills made me giggle with delight. Some were classic kills while some were a little different and creative. The music was great. Along with the lighting and camera work for the film. The special effects were great as well.

If you haven’t seen Halloween Kills yet, I wouldn’t write it off. Give it a chance and go into it with an open mind. Were there some scenes that were a little dull or silly? Yes, but that’s horror for you especially when it comes to the slasher genre. I am a personally fan of Michael Myers and the Halloween franchise. And I always will be regardless of what they do to the story or films in the future. Let’s just say I’m excited for the final film that’s set to come out next year. If you’ve seen Halloween Kills let me know what you think in the comment section down below. And if you haven't seen it yet, give it a try.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"

After founding her production company ItsFearHerself, solely writing, producing, and directing horror films. She’s made a wave in reviewing horror films, books, and TV as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.