Horror logo

Ghosts come back for children

I am a police officer

By Sweet HoldemanPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
2
Ghosts come back for children
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I am a police officer. Once, I went to a small town in the middle of nowhere to work on a case, and when things were done, it was already dark. And in this remote town, traffic is also closed, and once dark, there is no car out, I had to find a hostel in the town to stay for the night.

I walked along the empty street, almost to the head, only to see a neon light on the hostel: Fangfei Inn. The light was not too bright, but it was a dark red, dark red, and warm. So I walked over to it.

There are a few steps in front of the main entrance, and on both sides of the steps are two pink pillars, the walls are also pink, and the decoration looks quite exquisite. There is a small office to the left of the doorway, and the old lady in her sixties sitting inside should be the landlord. At this moment she is staring at the small TV on the table. When she saw me coming, she turned her head and asked, "Accommodation?"

I nodded and asked her, "Is there any room left?"

She replied lazily, "Yes!".

"There is a 5 room, only 3 people are staying there, you can just take that room." I was disappointed to hear her say that, I thought it was a good room, but it turned out that I had to squeeze into a room with others, and most importantly, I was carrying a gun and important documents, so I could not share a room with others.

"Is there no single room? I want a single room."

She glanced at me: "This is my own house, do you think you can have any room you want? That 5 rooms, a bed is only 25 yuan, it's cheap!"

"Not for these reasons, I have important documents on my body, and it's too unsafe to stay in the same room with others, in case I lose them, it's a big problem!" I insisted: "If you have a single room, give it to me, and I will add money, add until you are satisfied!"

After hearing me say this, she did not pay much attention to me, but also did not shake her head that there is no single room. With my police observation skills, I think she should still have a single room, so I simply gave her the bottom: "Old lady, I really can not live with others in a room, I am a police officer, you see this is my ID. The documents I have on me are very serious in case something goes wrong! You name a price, I am willing to pay whatever is acceptable."

The old lady still had no expression on her face, but had gotten up and was looking for something. She pulled out an almanac from the pile of newspapers, flipped through it, counted on her fingers, and suddenly smiled and looked up to me and said, "Okay, there is a single room, that person is not coming tonight, for you to live!"

I heard a mouth full of promise and followed her into one of the rooms. Once the door was opened, a fragrance came to my face, and then look at the big bed inside, pink sheets and covers, are also more elegant. A large rabbit doll was placed on the sofa, adding a bit of warmth. It's worth the money!

The most attractive thing is that a ray of silvery white moonlight spilled in from the window, spreading half of the room, simply like entering a fairy tale world.

Before the old lady left the room, she seriously urged me: "This window must not be closed! Never, never!!!"

I nodded to send her out, she a foot out of the room, and then turn back to explain to me: "If you hear any noise in the middle of the night, ignore it, as a dream! Remember!!!" I said and glared at me.

"Okay, okay, okay." I couldn't wait for her to leave, I was so tired, I wanted to lie down and go to sleep.

The old lady finally left. Close the door, check the papers and pistol on your body, they are still there. And look at the window, although very nice, the window is too low and too big, open to sleep, it seems not very safe. So I closed the window, crawled into bed, and fell asleep ......

Sleeping, faintly heard a thin sound of a woman crying, get up and look, only to see the end of the room, a woman in a white dress, is sitting on a chair wiping tears. Seeing her shoulders tremble as she cries, something must have happened. I went over to her and asked, "This lady, what's wrong with you?"

She raised her teary eyes and looked at me. Although she was haggard, I could see that she was a very good-looking woman, around 30 years old. She was heartbroken and said, "Xiang Xiang is gone ...... my child ...... is gone"

"Gone? What happened to your child? See if I can help you?"

She shook her head and chanted to herself, "My child ...... my fragrance ...... is gone ...... will never come back ......" said, surprisingly, from the corners of her eyes, nostrils, mouth, and even ears, blood flowed!!! The blood kept flowing non-stop, flowing on the face, flowing on the body ......

In a panic, I came to my senses, my whole body was drenched in a cold sweat. In addition to the chair in front of you, there is no white dress woman. Is it a dream? But I was standing by the chair ah!

Before I knew what was going on, I heard the sound of a child crying from the window again. It's so late, why is there a child outside? I poked my head out and saw a little boy walking and crying in the middle of the road not far from the window, he was at most four or five years old, wearing a small light green T-shirt.

It's dangerous to walk in the middle of the road. So I leaped out of the window and went over to him and called out, "What are you crying about, little one? Where's mommy and daddy?"

He was crying and sobbing: "I'm afraid to go home, mommy beats me."

"Where is your home? Let me take you back."

"My home is over there." He reached out and pointed in the direction behind me, and I turned around, wasn't that my room?

It was too late to pull him to the curb, but suddenly a big truck came speeding by, the blinding lights and the ear-splitting sound of the horn made my head spin, and I came back to my senses with a giant leap to hug the little boy, but I jumped in the air and fell to the curb. I heard a scream, followed by an ear-splitting emergency braking sound "squeak-"

The little boy has been hit by the car, the rear wheels of the truck from his body ran over, immediately, blood splattered, brains spurting out, he has become a pile of mush!

I was just about to run up and call the driver, only to see him poking his head out and looking back, I was stunned: this man, big round face, bald, inverted eight eyebrows, is not exactly two months ago, by my hand shot the criminal Jackson? How could he be here? How is he still alive?

By the time I came back to my senses, he had already retracted his head and stepped on the gas.

"Stop! Don't run!!!" I shouted, but he didn't hear me, started the car and sped away. I pulled out my pistol and fired a few shots at the wheel, but missed.

See chase is not to catch up, I turned back to see the little boy on the ground, but found nothing on the ground! I do not believe, to look around, indeed nothing.

At this point, I was a little scared, and then look around, quiet, no one, what just happened so loud, especially the few shots I fired, it is impossible that a person was not woken up ah! The thing is not encountered, right?

When the police, especially when I have personally shot the prisoners of the police, are very taboo that thing: the execution of the prisoner's ghost, back to find us to settle accounts ......

When I think of these, I suddenly numb my scalp, and three or two steps to the hostel to run. Just to leap in through the window, suddenly remembered that the room is so warmly decorated, and scented, and a large doll, obviously a women and children live in the room ah!

I did not dare to go back, fled as if straight to the station, where I stayed until dawn departure, and rushed to leave the town.

A few days later, I pulled the relevant information from the police station and investigated some people, it turns out that one night a few years ago, a little boy was slapped by his mother, and he ran out on his own, crying in the middle of the road, unexpectedly hit by a speeding truck and died. The driver of the car was the fugitive murderer Jackson, that night he stole a big truck to escape, and because of an anxious heart, all the way to speed unexpectedly hit the little boy to death again. That day was the 20th day of the 8th month of the lunar calendar.

Of course, within half a month, Jackson was arrested and shot by my hand.

After the boy's death, his mother, the woman I saw in the room that night, was so distraught that she committed suicide by taking poison and bleeding to death.

The room where the mother and son lived was the room I rented that night. The landlady was her mother-in-law.

After the death of the woman, every year on the 20th day of the 8th month of the lunar calendar, her ghost will come back to look for the child. But if the window is closed, she will come every night.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Sweet Holdeman

I do not ask the heavens to be pleased with my beauty, but I hope that I will always be at liberty to do so.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lazare Hurst2 years ago

    Fantastic! Thank you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.