Horror logo

"Ghostly Encounter: A Halloween Horror Story"

"A young couple's romantic date takes a turn for the terrifying when they are chased by a ghost in an old cemetery."

By Ashu BishtPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
"Ghostly Encounter: A Halloween Horror Story"
Photo by Sidney Pearce on Unsplash

As the sun set on the small town of Millfield, Mary and her boyfriend Jack decided to take a shortcut through the old, overgrown cemetery on their way home from a Halloween party.

"Are you sure this is a good idea, Jack?" Mary asked nervously, clinging to his arm. "I've heard some creepy stories about this place."

"Don't be such a scaredy-cat, Mary," Jack chuckled. "It's just a bunch of old tombstones. What could possibly go wrong?"

But as they made their way deeper into the cemetery, strange things started to happen. The wind picked up, rustling the leaves and causing the branches of the trees to creak and groan. And then, they heard a voice.

"Leave this place at once," it hissed. "You are not welcome here."

Mary's eyes widened in fear. "Did you hear that, Jack?" she whispered.

"It's just the wind, Mary," Jack replied, trying to reassure her. But as they turned a corner, they saw a figure standing in front of them. It was a woman, dressed in tattered black robes with long, stringy hair.

"Who are you?" Jack asked, his voice shaking.

"I am the ghost of Millfield Cemetery," the woman replied, her voice filled with anger. "And you have disturbed my rest."

"We're sorry, we didn't mean to," Mary stammered, tears welling up in her eyes.

"Too late for apologies," the ghost replied. "I will now haunt you for all eternity."

And with that, she vanished into the night.

"That was so not funny, Jack," Mary said, punching him in the arm. "I can't believe you convinced me to come here."

"I'm sorry, I didn't know it was actually haunted," Jack said, rubbing his arm. "But at least we have a good story to tell at the next party."

"I think I've had enough parties for a while," Mary said, shaking her head. "Can we please go home now?"

"Of course," Jack said, taking her hand. "But first, let's make a quick detour to the convenience store. I could really go for some ice cream to calm my nerves."

As they left the cemetery behind and made their way towards the brightly lit store, Mary couldn't help but laugh at the absurdity of the situation.

"You know, this might just be the weirdest date we've ever had," she said.

"But it's definitely the most memorable," Jack replied, grinning. "Who needs a boring old dinner and a movie when you can get chased by a ghost in a cemetery?"

As they walked hand in hand towards their future, they couldn't help but wonder what other strange and terrifying adventures awaited them. But for now, they were just grateful to be alive and in love.

The next morning, Mary and Jack couldn't stop talking about their encounter with the ghost. They told the story to all their friends, each time adding a little more detail or embellishment to make it even more suspenseful.

"I can't believe you two were actually chased by a ghost," their friend Sarah said, shaking her head. "You guys are crazy."

"I know, it was insane," Mary replied, still feeling a little shakey at the memory. "But I'm just glad we made it out alive."

"Well, I'm not convinced it was actually a ghost," Jack said, a mischievous twinkle in his eye. "I bet it was just some old lady playing a prank on us."

"You're probably right," Mary said, rolling her eyes. "But still, I don't think I'll be taking any more shortcuts through cemeteries anytime soon."

And with that, they all laughed and continued on with their day, grateful for the memories and the lessons learned.

psychologicalmonsterhalloweenfiction
Like

About the Creator

Ashu Bisht

Greetings from Ashu. Thank you for visiting my profile. I am an explorer, a lover a comedian, and also a writer. Follow me and let's have fun together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.