Horror logo

Flight of the Blue Jay: Hunting for the Killer

Can the Blue Jay get her mark?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Flight of the Blue Jay: Hunting for the Killer
Photo by Ruben Ortega on Unsplash

A few years have passed, black pants, and blue blouse hugging my hourglass figure. My hair was pulled into a severe bun, my lips painted. The morning sun illuminated my degrees, mainly in forensic psychology. My real life experience made me want to stop another person from doing that again. My office looked bare, white walls and a beat desk in front of me. A knock woke me up out of my trance, a handsome detective walking in. His dark hair was slicked back, gray stubble dotted his chin. His blue suit clung to his body, a yellow file in his hands.

“Hi, I am Detective Sammy Declan, lead detective on a special case.” He introduced himself, sitting in one of my worn black leather office chairs. “I heard you are one of the best in your field.” My eyebrow cocked slightly, his hand sliding me the yellow folder. Shock widened my eyes at the sight of a body cut cleanly in half. A strange symbol was cut into the chest, this case intriguing me.

“I’m in.” I affirmed firmly, tossing the folder back at him. “I am assuming you want a profile.” Glancing over all of the photos, different body parts were missing. All of them were women, cut in half and drained. A scowl formed on my lips when a blue jay was carved into a brown haired woman’s chest. This was a challenge to me, my face growing pale.

“Are you okay?” Sammy asked with a concerned look. “You look a little pale.” Clearing my throat, his green eyes met mine. Closing the folder, my hands started to tremble a little bit. Sliding it across the table, I stood on my black boots.

“This is a surgeon, an officer of some sort, or a hunter.” I explained, grabbing my gray wool coat. “I have to go somewhere for lunch.” He stood up in front of me, a crooked grin dancing across his face. My heart skipped a beat, his face inches from mine. Coffee and light cologne drifted up my nose, a sigh pouring from my lips. Awkwardly, I crept around him, looking back at him.

“Wait, take this with you.” He called out, passing me the folder. Nodding in his direction, I walked through the bustling office with ringing phones and keyboard keys clicking away. Cold air nipped at my skin, the empty parking lot feeling eerie. Scanning the gray concrete, I spotted my black sedan. Rocks fell above my head, trickling through the cracks. Sprinting to the car, the door squealed open. My eyes scanned the back seeing no one, a black masked lanky man in all black sprinted towards me. Locking my door, the engine roared to life. My heart pounded out of my chest as I peeled out of the parking garage. Breathing a sigh of relief, my foot eased off the pedal. Trees flashed by my window until I pulled up to Clayton’s Mental Hospital. Flashing my badge, they guided me through many sterile smelling hallways to the basement door. The young brown haired guard handed me a red button.

“Press the button when you are done.” He explained, shaking his head. “This one should be left alone.” Gripping the folder tighter in my hands, they trembled. A loud beep rang out around us, the door sliding open. A lump formed in my throat, my fingers gripping the rusting metal railing. Each step felt heavier, the closer I got to a thick glass cage lined with a steel cage. My heart stopped beating, my ex-husband standing there with his arms crossed. He looked the same, just a little older. A smug sneer formed on his lips, his setting a chair inches from the steel bars.

“Well hello, my little blue jay.” He mused, sitting down in his seat. “What brings you here?” Smoothing his orange jumpsuit, a sly grin darkened my mood. Clearing my throat, my body collapsed numbly into a provided metal chair. A pregnant pause hung heavily between us, no one saying anything for a while. Breathing deeply, I calmed my nerves.

“Why was there a blue jay on someone’s chest?” I questioned angrily. “Who do you know?” Shrugging, he zipped his lips. Groaning out loud, fury boiled in my veins as he giggled childishly. Standing to my feet, I turned to leave just praying that it would trigger him.

“Would it be totally impossible that I have a fan?” He taunted, rubbing the back of his neck. “Everything is not about you, my little blue jay.” Ice formed in my veins at that horrid nickname, my fingers hovering over the button. A snarl curled on my lips, a growl coming from deep inside of me.

“I wasn’t saying that, you jackass!” I shouted, watching joy illuminate his eyes. “Besides all I want to know is if anyone else has visited you.” Shifting uncomfortably, my mind gauging his nonchalant manners.

“Why can’t you just ask them?” He chided furiously, rubbing his hands together. “Please don’t waste my time.” Gritting my teeth, he grinned widely at me. What a creepy fellow, I noted to myself.

“You know as well as I do, that I can’t legally do that.” I grumbled, sauntering towards his special cage. “I would have to get warrants, or be next of kin.” His white teeth glistened in the yellow light of his lamp, chains rattling as he stood to face me. Fear paralyzed my body, my free hand clenching into a fist. Small trails of blood dripped onto the chilly concrete floor.

“If you didn’t divorce me, then you would have your answer.” He joked, licking his lips. “No one has come here. Come back next time with real questions.” Ripping out the photo with the blue jay on someone’s chest to the glass. Curiosity brightened his eyes, a soft sigh pouring through his grin.

“That is some nice work.” He commented, sickening me lightly. “It is definitely a taunt towards you. I am done.” He turned his back on me, putting on a pair of black headphones. My body shivered slightly as I ran up the stairs, my hand hitting the button rapidly.

“I am coming.” An older guard groaned, the door sliding open. My boots clicked down the hallway to the front door. Waving goodbye to the staff, the ancient door squealed open. Looking back, a large brick building loomed in front of me. Sighing deeply, my boots pounded against the pavement to my car. My heart fell into my stomach, a note lay on my car. The yellow lined paper fluttered in the soft fall breeze. Looking around, I saw no one. Placing some gloves on my shaking fingers, the paper rustled in my palms.

Dear Blue Jay,

You are on the wrong track. He has nothing to do with me. Here is a hint, look into your past. That is if you can.

Sincerely,

Your next puzzle.

Pulling a bag from the back of my car, I slid it into it gingerly. With how precise this person was, many doubts rained down in my head that any DNA would be found. Plopping my tired rear end in my front car seat, my body relaxed. A crazy red haired woman popped up behind me, a knife glittering in her hands. My muscles tensed up, my hand ripping out the handgun from my glove box.

“Don’t go after him.” She urged, her green eyes widening. “He will kill you before you figure him out.” The gun floated in her face, her body trembled like a leaf. Her knife waving around wildly, she finally tossed it out the window. Setting my gun down on my seat, tears exploded from her eyes, her red curls bouncing around her face.

“Which victim is your family member?” I queried, looking to see if she had any more weapons on her. Wiping her eyes, she passed me a picture of another red haired woman. Flipping through the file, I stopped at a Susie Orvie. My heart shattered, she was my age. A blue jay was carved on her chest. Putting my gun away, I motioned for her to sit next to me. She lumbered awkwardly next to me.

“Coffee.” She offered, staring blankly out of the windshield. Nodding, the engine roared to life. My tires squealed, my car peeling towards the local coffee shop. She might just shed some light.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.