Horror logo

Entity

Eligance

By Eliman JengPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

As I drifted off to sleep, I shifted my body to search comfort one last time. The darkness of the room swallowed my fading silhouette that was cast by the lonely moon. Slits of light illuminated pieces of the bed in which I lay. A sizzling noise arose suddenly. My body lied still, but my ears perked up. The sizzling noise grew more urgent as a different darkness shrouded my vision. A cold, bitter wind struck my face like an upexpected uppercut. My frightened eyes abruptly opened. Dark trees surrounded me like a large orchestra of intimidating vocalists. The sky was painted an ominous purple and black. Moving my sore feet around, pebbles scratched the bottom of them. Crickets emitted their night call. Where was I? My eyes surveyed the area. Placing my hands in front of me, I could hardly see them. Water slushed around somewhere nearby. I waded slowly across the rough ground, pain swelling at my feet. The bitter cold continuously blew wet kisses off of an unseen water. My breath seemed to push out a cloud of smoke like a smoker on his lunch break. A raspy, incoherent whisper claimed my ears. "Who's there?" My voice came out as a timid, flem-filled response. No answer. As I continued my blind movement, the trees whispered with ominous notions as if teaming up with the bitter wind to warn me of upcoming danger. Besides the current sounds, the silence was horrifying. Almost deafening. "Who's there?" My voice sounded a little more confident. A strong grip landed on my shoulder, pulling me backward. Losing balance, my back landed hard on the gravel. My breath was instantly knocked out. As I struggled to get back to my feet, the dark figure's goal was to keep me on the ground. I tried to glimpse his/her face as my perspective was from an upside down lens from my glasses. This mysterious entity was strong. Other worldly strong. The wind picked up as I continued to flail my arms helplessly. I managed to grab at what felt like a wrist. The figure ripped their hand away vehemently. My balance slipped and I slammed hard on my face, biting my upper lip. The unfamiliar taste of blood permeated throughout my mouth. The wind halted as if holding its breath. Dizzyness rode the escalator inside my head, ascending to a dangerous pinnacle. Nausea flooded my interior as the figure pulled back his fist and sent a viscious jab towards my face. Dizzyness showed two jabs as I tried to avoid one of them and got hit with the other. My heart felt like it was exploding and the after effects were catching up with the rest of my organs. I swung aimlessly, with a desperate response. It connected with what felt like the figure's jaw. The entity let out a deep yelp. I stood up with unsure balance and attempted my speed on sphagetti legs. I ran towards nowhere, gravel slowing me down like quicksand. The bitter wind pushed me back as if it wanted to see the fight resumed. Trees loomed menacingly on either side as I ran. My feet hit the water suddenly. The froth of the dark blue water lapped up to my thighs as I ran. Was the figure behind me? I tried to slip a anxious glance behind and tumbled face first into the water. The sting of inhaled water burned my nose as the figure yanked me up by my neck. I caught a glimpse of his face for the very first time. Him. His face was horribly disfigured. Scars etched every where on his face as if he practiced carving on himself for a hobby. His teeth were jagged like a shark, eyes piercing bright like mini flashlights. He glared into my soul as if trying to obliterate my genesis. His hands were fully wrapped around my neck, squeezing. A gutteral sound escaped my throat, a sound unrecognized. My feet dangled out of the dark blue water which slushed around at the figure's feet. The crescent moon was what divulged his face, emitting his true identity. As my breath continued to dissipitate, a thought entered my mind as I began to fade: the figure was never a human being in the first place. But how did I draw this conclusion? Thoughts swirled in my head as my eyes shrunk lower, vision decreasing. I thought about the bed in which I fell asleep in. Was this reality or nightmare? The wind howled as if concluding my thoughts. Blackness transitioned into nothingness as any leftover light was snuffed out.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Eliman Jeng

Father, poet. Much more than the keys can type.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.