Horror logo

Dreamcatcher could have been fixed

It's one that people can't quite forget despite the outer space screw up.

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

This is one of those Stephen King movies that was made with no hope from the start that it would be an impactful part of cinema or even King's career. Heck of all the weird stories he's written, this is the one that he's disregarded. It's a movie based off the book where aliens come out of people's butts. It defiantly sounds like it wasn't gunning for a excellence with a plot like that.

When I first saw a snippet about Dreamcatcher when I was a kid, it was advertised on the channel AMC that played Stephen King nights during October. I at first thought it was a movie where aliens were entering camper's dreams hence the title. Only to find out years later the name came from an item of the all the characters childhoods.

I watched this movie with my friends for a Stephen King night. Started with The Shining and decided to take a chance on Dreamcatcher when it was on Netflix. We were all very baffled by the turnout of the movie. It was lackluster for another attempt at a alien story from Stephen King. There were some moments that were enjoyed that did make it neutral, nothing special, but not entirely terrible.

I decided to revisit the movie for the heck of it, see if I missed anything vital on the second chance, I watched it again on Netflix then I ended up purchasing the book and the DVD from my local shop. I had a chance to compare and contrast the movie. I will have to admit that the movie has grown on me after starting the book. The missing gaps I read, made the movie make a little bit of sense. It's still a lost cause, but it's a tolerable and enjoyable lost cause after knowing not to expect greatness and enjoy it as a great bad movie.

There have been some people that have come out to say how neutral they are about Dreamcatcher, I'll be stating the parts that could have made the movie better and the moments that I will praise.

If these parts of the book were included in the scenes of the movie, it could have benefited the story a bit better and the tone would have been a bit more serious for the fates of these characters.

Pete's Death

in the book is gruesome, in the movie he dies from being eaten by Mr. Grey (Ok, weird but its' a weird movie, of course it would take that weird route). The way he suffered slowly to help Mr. Grey, it pulled on the heartstrings since Pete was likeable average Joe. In most horror shows or movies, there needs to be a reason as to why we feel bad for their demise. That sympathy for the demise wasn't present in the movie.

The Childhood flashback

In Chapter 15 ,where a young Beaver runs out of the house crying from a nightmare, relieving a terrible experience, that could have given a bit more depth then the first two childhood flashbacks.

Beaver's failed marriage

The book starts out with Beaver's start in the prologue. Talking about his failed marriage from thirteen years ago. I felt that would have given a little bit more seriousness to Beaver, then the media references and weird catchphrases.

Henry's depression

Henry comes off as a cardboard character who is supposed to be our titular protagonist that we follow throughout the story. He is the cliched psychic like in every Stephen King book. But the way he explains his depression in his own definition, it was the first time I read depression in a different way. Even the way Pete keeps quiet to leave Henry to his thoughts. He's had a crumbling marriage, constant problems, unsatisfied with his job. He's composed but barely hanging on. I'd go on about that part, but I'll expand on that on a personal note later on in this piece.

Expanded backstory for Owen

Owen had a specific backstory, a very weird one about urinating on antiques. In the movie, Henry and Owen's reluctant partnership was bland and rushed. When Henry reveals what he knows about Owen, revealing a personal piece of information. It becomes shockingly clear he needs to trust Henry. Owen may not be a memorable character, but there could have been some needed expansion.

The IT reference

On page 358 of the book, there is a part where Jonsey finds a pedestal from The Losers Club in regards to the families of the victims of Pennywise and underneath that plaque says, "Pennywise Lives". Nice touch to have a reference like a Marvel movie. It could have been a promising idea for the future movies to reference one of his most successful.

Even if these parts were included to expand some less-than stellar scenes. It still wouldn't have been bit better due to the bizarre premise that this oxycotin induced story has been told.

I defend this movie and the book for this reason, the book would go on to inspire me to continue writing. I hold in a sentimental regard because it came at a hard time in my life and helped me with my mental health. I stated earlier about Henry's mental health.

When I got to the part where he says, "I don't believe in the cure." I collapsed into tears. It was the first time I read something that I could relate to from how much I was suffering from my own sorrows at the time. Reading that passage, it stayed with me that I finally had a way to explain what depression was. I never thought I would ever say that I found comfort in a book about aliens coming out of asses and bizarre cartoon references. When I was in the process of writing my first book, I dived into sharing my depression through my own characters. I found my own definition to explain and convey the mental health problems just like in Dreamcatcher. If it wasn't for that book, if it wasn't for that section, I wouldn't have had that inspiration to continue writing about a vital, important, and personal topic. Not many would say that an awkward alien plot with bizarre cartoon references would go on to inspire to continue writing.

When I read the book to see that Henry's character was different then I imagined, that section about his depression should have been included in the movie. That depth should have been there for him so he wouldn't have fallen into obscurity and then made ridiculous.

Despite the fact that this adaptation was doomed to be displayed. The performances of the four titular characters are stellar. The chemistry is there, watching all the characters being re-created. The interactions with Thomas Jane, Damian Lewis, Timothy Olyphant, and Jason Lee; they make you believe they are all tight knit best friends. It's really the only highlight in any of the moments early on to the film. It may not be a memorable performance for the four actors, but it was convincing.

Seeing how much they care for each other in the demise of another or getting a premonition of what happened. How it effected was conveyed very well in this movie that had a bad turnout like Morgan Freeman's eyebrows.

As a piece of trivia, it was Thomas Jane's first appearance in a Stephen King film, he would eventually go on to star in The Mist and 1922 (1922 is the best performance he gave in all three, but that's just my opinion).

Even some of the reviews state that it isn't entirely bad, but not the best Stephen King work/best horror movie. It is worth a watch, just not with major expectations. The book is worth a read and has some redeeming qualities with a campy style.

Thank you for reading this review

movie review
1

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.