Horror logo

~Dirty Harry, Dirty Who?~

A query, or small script to a movie story idea to bring Clint Eastwood back to the screen as Dirty Harry one more time! Very proud of this opener and so I thought I'd share it with all of you! :-)

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
~Dirty Harry, Dirty Who?~
Photo by Radu Florin on Unsplash

Oct 16/10

(For you Clint Eastwood, in memory of the character)

Dirty Harry, Dirty who??

From unlocking his jaw like that; during his attempt to break my fingers, he screamed and howled like a wild creature caught painfully in a trap, the crazy beast that he was. These kinds of killers don’t recognize emotions, but they can recognize pain on the odd occasion…

Dirty Harry

“I wonder, does he recognize this as pain?” I said to him directly as his release on me let go,

“I guess I got my answer!”

I flipped open my phone and sent for an ambulance giving my I.D. and location away. The creature or human as some would call him had backed away from me far enough, fairly quickly overwhelmed with his current dilemma of discomfort that I am sure he didn’t hear me say my name. Wouldn’t want him coming after me now would I; if the institution of Law should be so brazen as to release him from the asylum after this, should a loophole be found? They are good at finding those loopholes I'm sad to say, guess that’s why I’m still not out of a job!

The creature has obviously never had a victim fight back, never mind win, ah but there’s always a first time for everything. Guess that’s why all his dead victims are female, he has to make things fair for himself now doesn’t he, the coward that he is? Wouldn’t want anyone to give him a struggle now and again, not even to add to his fun.

I’m paid to catch the guy, so I caught the guy but somehow it always comes back to fall on me, don’t know what else to say about the law. They sure do make it difficult for a good detective like me to do my job. Makes me wonder if they actually want anyone caught? They say it takes all kinds of people to make this world but I don’t think this one counts! Someone actually gave birth to this, sad really that he (the creature too me) is someone’s son. Wonder what he’d do if I were to succeed with contact and then proceed to visit his Mother?”

Dirty Harry!

Update: Continuation of Dirty Harry, Dirty Who?

The rain in Montreal was a downpour, a monsoon, the detective thought “It’s a wonder I got to work without having an accident on the road coming in today!” The phone rang, she answered it, “Detective Herzing here how can I help you?” The silence only lasted seconds; it was her boss on the phone an older chap, a man whose hair has obviously been grey for awhile. He spoke saying… “Are you seated Detective? I have some news for you!” “What Boss?” He replied, “You are being sent to San Francisco to work on a case for awhile.” Herzing said, “What?” “That’s what I said.” “But I have so much work here already to do. You can’t do this to me.”

Her Sergeant said, “Well I didn’t, I’m just the bearer of bad news: because you are the detective who is closest to the suspect, the one that knows the case the best, I’m afraid the boys above me all agreed that the case should remain in your hands.” The detective asked, “Which case is it you are talking about?” Her sergeant said, “Dirty Harry!” She replied, “Dirty Who?” Herzing replied. “Oh that’s right you don’t know the whole story do you? Well it has to do with your psych ward patient from the U.S!” She said, “That crazy dude? I hate visiting him, I always lose sleep for two days when I come home from those visits, but what does the psych board’s decision on releasing him after 30 years of his life being essentially incarcerated for not having actually broken any laws have to do with me?”

“EVERYTHING!" Her sergeant said, "I think it would be better if you came to my office so we can review the file and I can let you in on some of the details that matter about why you are being sent to the U.S." “Yes I’d say we definitely need to talk Sergeant. I mean I haven’t done much during the 10 years he’s been in our Canadian system. I’ve pretty much only gone to visit him as though to be his only friend or relative, if it’s possible for that guy to call anyone a friend with his permanent state of mind?” "It has essentially been a part of my duty since I'm the detective his case was assigned to when he was transferred here. But I'm not sure how that can be of much help to anything in regards to ancient history in San Francisco?"

Her sergeant spoke saying, “Well the man who knew his father is pretty famous in his parts, he has done a lot of good cop work; but he’s in his 70’s now. Basically he’s in retirement, only his love for the job keeps him coming back to work now and again but his force really doesn’t want him DYING over the SON of a man he almost died trying to catch in the first place! That man was as crazy as they got back in his day. Oh boy how do I say this over the phone? There’s an important piece of information his bosses never told him.” The Sergeant broke into a small silence. Then he continued “And with his reputation if he finds out, he might find it necessary to take matters into his own hands, which is exactly what they DON'T want.”

Detective Herzing understanding that last piece of information then spoke... “Oh let me take a wild guess here Sergeant, if I didn’t know about Harry until now... Then I'm guessing Harry doesn’t know his favorite case as you’ve pointed out, a man he almost died to catch, is a man that left a son behind, before he left this world?” She started laughing lightly…

“What’s so funny?” Her sergeant replied, before going on to say without waiting for an answer. “His bosses and the Canadian Dr’s and those above me who were initially contacted and informed of the son coming to our facilities all agreed that for the safety of everyone involved; that the less Harry knew the better.” Herzing said, “Oh I get it, so I wouldn’t have any questions of importance to ask him during my visits over the last 10 years, since his case was assigned to me.”

The sergeant said, “Yes and no, I mean you were told about his parents, specifically that his Mother was a prostitute when she was young around the time his father was killing women at will and trying to divorce Harry as he’s famous for being. It was to help his son push you for more information should he be suspicious you knew anything, he might want to know.” “O.k. O.k. I think I get it! I need to come to your office because there is too much to say over the phone. Well hold your thoughts boss, I’ll be up there in a few minutes you can explain the rest when I’m there!”

“Yes, please and thank-you her sergeant said. “It would be much easier that way.” After the phone call ended, Herzing turned to the mess in front of her and proceeded to close the file folders and put them safely away, so no one could peek at what she was working on before the phone call came. After locking the drawer, she got up from her seat and pushed in her chair and walked away from her desk.

Moments later after travelling up a few floors, she found herself standing in from of her Sergeants door. She read his name on the door and took a sigh of reluctance, brought her hand up to the door in front of her, made a fist and knocked on his door!

Next Scene: Back in San Francisco!

"A semi-retired Dirty Harry was also called into the station house and his bosses office too!

To be continued...

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.