Horror logo

Death Valley Road

Conquer the Serpent

By Kings LoyaltyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

It all started on a hot summer day. I’m so lost; they say take the road less traveled but that leads to a dead end, down a lonely dark cold road with no outlet. I turn around but my vision is blocked by a blinding light; if I go back the way I came, I would have to feel my way as the light is so blinding. Stuck in a heart drenching situation staying on this road with no outlet, or turning around to the blinding light that was not there when I traveled down the road less traveled. No phone service to call for help, tears begin to roll down my eyes; I feel my fate for taking this road less traveled. No signs of human existence or even a ounce of water. I began to yell at the top of my lungs until I can't yell anymore; I drop to the ground in disbelief, or maybe delusion; to my eyes, appear a serpent.

The serpent begins to speak, "What are you doing on Death Valley Road?”

I speak what you can talk; with my eyes bucking like a raging bull.

"I thought it would be a good idea to take the road less traveled!” I say.

The serpent begins to hiss then says, “I can show you the way out for a price; you smell of baby milk; you would have to sacrifice the baby that the milk belong to, to me!”

“Mr. Serpent, I surely couldn’t do that!”

“Well, your fate is sealed. I told you this was Death Valley Road, and now it time you die!”

Before I knew it, I grab a brick and hit the serpent head with it, he twitches then lay there lifeless. The sun begins to shine and I can see all around me, in relief I run toward a house and a old lady opens the door.

The old lady says, “Who are you? How did you find me? Why is the sun shining? Where is my son? He was turned to a snake and vowed to protect me from intruders! I’m in disbelief, is this a dream or reality?"

I say to the lady, “Ma’am, I had to kill your son to escape a deadly fate.”

“Do you know what you’ve done, at midnight you will become a serpent and need a baby sacrifice to be human a again!”

I’m thinking this can’t be, but how!

“Once you entered Death Valley Road, that’s the only way out. A baby sacrifice," the old lady says.

I began to slouch down and tears began to fall the sun already set and time had passed; I began to feel funny; I was lowered to the ground and I could see my tongues flicker; I say to myself, the old lady was right. I just hope this is a dream and I wake up from it and just laugh. I would wish this on my worst enemy, or would I. It has been a day and I trapped in this slimy, slinky-like body; longing to go home to my family, and still hoping that this is a dream. I wonder do they miss me; have they been looking for me? I hope they don’t give up on their search for me. I can’t take this, I see why the serpent wanted the sacrifice to go back to being normal. I wonder how long will I be trapped here. Or will I die here? Only time will tell. Goodbye for now, I have to shed my skin. Haha haha, until next time, we will meet again, on Death Valley Road.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kings Loyalty

Hello,

I’m a very outgoing open minded person, not here to judge but to listen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.