Horror logo

Dark secret

The dark has not fallen.

By giovani serranoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

“Do you hate me? Is it anger that fuels your obsession with me? What drove you to this point? Even my power could not break a man this much.”

The scene was described on the news as Bloodied Halls. No matter which corner you turn towards the halls was littered in mutilated corpse as if something had torn into it. One of the few survivors had heard him cry out in agony calling out for his master.

“Yes Mr. F. He rushed through killing everybody that approached him with the knife he had stolen during lunch. I saw it, I did. He looked at me and his eyes widen almost unnaturally, I thought him a lizard man. I decided to mind my business and wait for him to break. I peeked through the door when I heard the screaming. He had opened all the doors rushing in each room calling out to his master. If any one talked or accidental stood in his path he would lash out killing them mercilessly. I heard the others unfortunate souls cry out in pain.”

“What do you expect to happen to those deemed mentally unstable. The man killed his own child. You thought strangers would be any more safe. Take a life you should die, simple. Still here we are with a madman on the loose yelling into corners crying as if he was the victim in this whole scenario.” “Relax Alex thanks to people like him we get to keep our job.” Alex pushed me to the side walking past me. “I can’t stand the way you view or job Jason. If we didn’t have to keep working this job that would be a blessing. Hell even if we did it would be nice to be able to relax do to low crime rates.”

Freddy was last spotted at his old home probably looking for his master. We rushed there knowing that he was there. However our gut feeling was off. Sadly his break out had been made public do to some random reporter who had survived that day and made a blog. So everyone knew of his escape and those who were close to him knew where he would be at. By time my partner entered the building after me his wife had shot him dead. “When I heard about his escape I was angry. How could a mad man run amok, but then a spark fire off in my thought. This was my chance to avenge my child.”

Breaking down in tears she held the gun to herself however the clip had been emptied on her now deceased husband. Her cry resonated with me as she utter the one phrase that would tear the heart of any man or women with a heart. “He was right I heard it talk! The Red eyes pierced through me from the shadow.” Was the family cursed to go insane or was there something truly in the corner of these walls? As Jason handcuffed the wife I stood there in awe as the shadow seem to grow. “I’ll leave you if you do not hurry Alex.”

“My husband was not wrong. It taunted me as it declared how my son desperately...” she could not finish her sentence. This was a case closed scenario. He was not facing her and had no weapons at the time of the shooting. This was a execution, punishment for this man sins.

“Hey Jason. When we were leaving the house I could of sworn the shadows began to move.” He looked at me then laughed. “Rookie learn one thing from me. In a world where anything is possible never rule out the impossible. However remember the impossible can never dictate our lives for the worst or humanity could fall.” “You make it sound as if the creature in the stories are true.” “You saw the shadow correct. Then let me ask you, why are the creatures in the book not real?” “Because it is impossible.” He smiled as he walked off.

He had to been fooling with me. When I got home I looked at the mail I had received. It was in a red envelope with the word hush in white ink. I opened it to see what was inside.

“The truth is not for everyone. The time is not yet. Your work has shown a truth you, yourself was not ready for. If this is revealed then the world will fall to chaos. Do not speak. Hush.”

Just then I loud bang from the wall startled me. It had been my apartment neighbor, or so I thought. The banging became louder and when I asked them to keep it down they had just woken up from their sleep. When I return to my room the banging lower in volume, but increased in frequency. “Who is it?” “Are you going to let me in Alex? I can tell you what happened to the family.” That is when I saw the percing red eyes that the wife mentioned.

I drove all the way to Jason’s house wanting to ask him questions directly, also I was terrified. “Why are you banging on the door so late at night?” “Jason who was half naked stood there with the stench of alcohol in his words. “I saw the red eyes!” He looked annoyed as if I had been lying. “I told you the impossible is reality, but who benefits from the truth. Not you, not me. Let it be and live with it. Before he closed the door I could see the many red eyes piercing through the shadows staring at me.

fiction

About the Creator

giovani serrano

trying to work on my style before publishing on kindle. Hope to make a career off my writings, since I enjoy it so much.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    giovani serranoWritten by giovani serrano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.