Horror logo

Buried

This is the first of many in this series.

By giovani serranoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

As thought seem to escape my mind as I plummet to my certain death. My back towards the what ever lies beneath me as my view of the sun is darkened by the raging storm above. I have no clue how I ended up in this predicament yet that matter not no longer as death is but a moment away.

The pouring rain making it impossible to keep my eyes open, the roar emitted by the thunder began to deafen me. My eyes shut and all I could see through my eyelids is the light from the continuous lightning strikes.

Nothing could save me short of divine intervention. Just when that came to mind I could feel the piercing burn of the lightning as it did passed through me. Death had it’s grip on me and was waiting to collect the soul owed to him.

No longer had I been able to feel as my senses had all grown numb. The vibration that radiated throughout my body, as I had made contact with my watery graveyard, was not enough to knock me out. I began to sink deeper then humanly possible. The deeper I went the heavier my body had felt. I was sure even if the sun had no obstacle blocking it’s path, it would not be able to reach these eyes.

Almost like a six sense I could tell no life had began in this ocean of despair I had fallen into. Was this some purgatory where I would suffer endless misery?

No clue how long it has been with only my own thoughts to pass the time I could feel my sanity begin to slip with each passing second. At times I would not be able to understand my own thoughts, if that could make sense. Worst part is I would never fully lose my mind, this whole ordeal would of been better off if I could simply forget logic.

My name, age before the fall, height, and everything else about my self had been forgotten by myself.

I felt the slimy substance graze my arm. If I could shout I would of in excitement. A fish, life had finally began to swim my way. I would not be entirely alone no more. I may not be able to communicate with them, but I can feel them graze me ever so often. I would play a game where I imagined how they looked by what they felt like.

I got pricked by one before and imagined a hedgehog underwater I decided to name the species water hog since I was the first to discover them.

The joy had died down as more time passed between each encounter with a new species. Then I felt it. The fishes that grazed me had done so by simply not acknowledging my presence. They did not see me as anything alive or other wise. Yet this creature was fascinated by me.

I could not view it even if my eyes could open. It had not touched me, but the creatures presence felt misplaced. It did not belong here, not just under the ocean, but it should not exist. I wanted now more then ever to die by the pressure of the ocean or drown. Yet I could do nothing as it crept ever closer to my defenseless body. It resembled a human more then it did a fish. I could feel the over sized hands of the creature grab a hold of me and began to drag me far away in speed that is not possible under these circumstances. Yet as my body began to feel lighter with each minute that passed, a mixed feeling emerged from with in me. Scared of what was to come and also a relief that this might all end soon.

The creature vanished instantly and I was left alone once more. “Help me!” A voice echoed! I was out the water! I was freed!

fiction

About the Creator

giovani serrano

trying to work on my style before publishing on kindle. Hope to make a career off my writings, since I enjoy it so much.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    giovani serranoWritten by giovani serrano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.